We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Stallion Ranch

Save Saved
You added White Stallion Ranch to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White Stallion Ranch
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9251 W Twin Peaks Rd, Tucson, AZ 85743   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 127 hotels in Tucson
southampton UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Heaven on earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We have just returned from a fabulous week at the ranch (four of us) and had just the most brilliant holiday. It was our second visit. On our previous trip we visited Tombstone and Boot Hill cemetary (all well worth a visit) but this time we didn't venture away from the ranch for even a day, wishing to spend as much time there as possible. It was possible to ride as much as one wanted, even if you are an absolute beginner (like me) or more experienced. So much choice and so much fun.

The staff are all absolutely wonderful and I can't express how perfect the whole experience actually is.. you would need to visit for yourself. Do that, you won't regret it and, like us, you won't want to leave.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    471
    21
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
135
152
60
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Have just returned from our fourth visit to WSR. One of the biggest attractions for me personally is the attitude of the staff working here- the wranglers are brilliant (special thanks to Laura and James for the wonderful trail rides), front desk staff go out of their way to assist (thanks Gabe, Tom and Jodie) kitchen staff could not be more helpful (Kerrie my daughter always looks forward to seeing you!!!). My daughter has a severe nut allergy and every day Kerrie would make sure there were cookies she could eat. The horses are really well cared for, rooms are clean, food is good and abundant, riding available for every level, you will meet and make friends with people from around the world. If you ever wanted to visit a ranch you have to visit this one- book your room now- you won't regret it

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barendrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Tucson for 3 nights and rather than booking a standard hotel/motel we chose the WS Ranch (even though we don't ride). In short: this was the best choice we could have possibly made. The ranch is perfectly located next to/in the Saguaro N.P., near Tucson, but totally peacefull and quiet. The staff is great, they will help you in any possible way. Most of all, you really feel 'part of the family' here. The food is really great and we enjoyed the evening entertainment very much (roping act and lecture about desert critters). Will definitively come back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Where do I start on this amazing place??

We arrived on the Sunday afternoon (18/08/13) and were greeted at the office by the most friendly "reception" staff ever. The room we were given (#6) was beautiful and spacious and very very clean.

Food - OMG it is amazing!! If you don't put weight on here I will be amazed as the food is out of this world, and as for the girls that work here they can't do enough for you to make sure you have got everything you need from water, lemonade etc through to food.

The ranch part - if you have never ridden before like my daughter then by the time your 1st day is over you'll wonder why you've never done it before, Western riding is so different to English riding - I've done both and much prefer Western. As for the wranglers they are the nicest bunch of people that help you so much to be comfortable and confident in the saddle, and these guys work so hard but always have a smile, thanks to you all for everything :)

Gift shop - lovely stuff in there but I am never taking my purse in there again as I kept buying stuff lol, would go in most days for a chat with Cheryl who is lovely :)

There is only 1 bad thing about this place - YOU HAVE TO LEAVE :'( and yes I cried when I left.

All in all it really was the best holiday I have ever had and can't wait to go back in February.

Well done and a huge thank you to the True family and all of the staff at WSR - see you in February XXX

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burbank, ca
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was my first 'ranch' vacation and I went with a friend for a weekend getaway within driving distance of our homes. My only regret was not having booked more nights. I will be returning. The ranch is on the outskirts of Tucson but just minutes from the suburbs and shopping and yet once you are on the humongous property you are secluded from everything. There is no reason to leave the ranch once there.

Tip: if you are going on a short stay, know that there is no riding on Sunday - so plan around that.

The meals were all wonderful and there was always something to eat (even for this vegetarian). The seating is communal and so you get to meet other people, of course you can find a secluded spot to dine if you prefer being alone. The dining room staff was so friendly and eager to make everyone's meals enjoyable.

The True family and their massive staff are all amazing, kind, warm, laid back yet entirely professional. The ranch's 7 dogs were fun to watch as they are used to the comings and goings of so many guests. The horses seemed very well cared for and the facilities were clean. There is an older but big enough pool for playing and relaxing in - no pool towels, so bring your own or use a bath towel from the room. The pool is fine, but it's not a resort/sit the whole day by the pool kind of facility, in case you were wondering. A sauna and jacuzzi is attached. There is also a fitness room and movie theater on the premises but I did not use either.

The rooms were bigger than I was expecting and are not quite bungalows, but sort of, and were very private. I believe we had a basic room and it had two comfy twin beds and a seating area, refrigerator and microwave. I was told by another guest that the rooms toward the back of the property have jacuzzi tubs, can't confirm that. The rooms have no phones so for any services you want to book - massage, horse back riding, etc, reservation for dinner - you need to go to the front office. The office is in the main building where meals are served. A separate bar/lounge has a library, pool table and a social (happy) hour on the honor system - take a drink, write down your name and room number on a slip of paper so you are billed. The appetizers with social hour are complimentary and delicious. There is also some sort of nightly entertainment following dinner. Sunday night was line dancing and the instructor (Jennifer, I think?) was great.

Most of the visitors during our trip were Europeans and were not first time visitors to the ranch and all raved about it. The ranch follows strict rules on riding - which is understandable - because people could 'think' they can ride at a certain level but may not be up to snuff.So all guests must take a slow ride first, then if you want to do a fast ride, you have a test. Not everyone passes the test. But if you are there enough days you can take a riding lesson(s) for an additional very modest fee. I do not believe the ranch is trying to bilk people, but rather rides are always going to go at the speed of the least common denominator and they want to ensure that everyone is at the same skill level.

There is a lovely gift shop with run by Carol and Sharon (I think) that has all sorts of western items and very modestly priced compared to other gift shops and hotel shops in town. They do not have toiletries in the gift shop, so make sure you pack what you need though I imagine the front office could help you in need.

I've lived in the area for 10 years and have only now heard of this place which is a shame. I guess because it mostly caters to out of towners. But this is a real gem in Southern Arizona and I am sure to visit again and to recommend it to my out of town visitors.

Room Tip: I can't imagine there would be a bad room here. Choose the one that fits your budget and number...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

It was our first time on a ranch so we were a little apprehensive. We were quite late arriving from our expected time. We eventually got to the ranch late evening, tired and hungry and we humbled as they had saved use a plate of food. Its the small things that make a gret holiday and this place does it well. We arrived beginners on horse back and left able to cattle penn... We have rebooked again for next year!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was our 4th trip 3 with summer programme and 1 with winter the rides are great , the. Team work their socks off to meet everyone's needs the setting is fantastic, the food and company are to die for, so if you want a holiday where you can relax and leave the world behind where people treat you with true respect and love there home and want to share the experience with you , look no further and book .

Room Tip: We loved 39 the views to die for
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Stallion Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Stallion Ranch

Address: 9251 W Twin Peaks Rd, Tucson, AZ 85743
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 127 hotels in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Stallion Ranch 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family friendly ranch near Tucson. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your White Stallion Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Stallion Ranch Hotel Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Stallion Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.