We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, horrible customer service.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Westward Look Wyndham Grand Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Westward Look Wyndham Grand Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Westward Look Wyndham Grand Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   245 East Ina Road, Tucson, AZ 85704 (Formerly Westward Look Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #35 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
las vegas, nv
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great room, horrible customer service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

The Westward Look is a very old hotel. I learned to swim in their pool in the late 60's. We were in town for a family party and my father and I chose to stay there because of the vmclose proximity to our family living in Tucson and because of the memories we had there. The room and resort were beautiful. The customer service at the front desk was abysmal. Rude and condescending. I am disabled and at times have difficulty walking. We were given a room the farthest from parking. That pretty much ruined the weekend. When checking out, I asked for a manager. I was met with the same attitude his clerk had 2 days prior. I did email the sales rep that handled our reservation and received no reply.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    782
    565
    262
    97
    41
See reviews for
471
593
90
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Did not like being charged a $20 a night resort fee. They are starting to get just like the airline with the bogus charges. The staff was not friendly. The bar was closed for remodel and one of the restaurants was also closed. I had breakfast here and the pancakes were not done and had to send them back. From the time of ordering until we received our food took 30 minutes. I would not recommend eating at the resort.
The rooms were large as well as the bathrooms and nicely furnished. I probably would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I host a conference every year. And every year I come back to the Westward Look. The facility has breathtaking views, warm and friendly staff, and fabulous food. This is a great mini escape from the office. The staff are always very accomidating and eager to please, especially with last minute changes and requests.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DYamada, General Manager at Westward Look Wyndham Grand Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Jonna K,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts and experience from your most recent visit with us. The high marks you have awarded us are greatly appreciated and go such a long way with our team to reinforce their efforts towards creating a great experience for all of our guests.

We will all look forward to your return!

All the best and safe travels,
David

David Yamada
General Manager
Westward Look Wyndham Grand Resort &Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This was our final stay after a journey of 2001 miles, starting in San Francisco, where we picked up our Dodge Avenger and started our brilliant adventure. Having been to so many great places on the way, we had finished in Tombstone, before returning to Tucson and the Westward Look. From the start we enjoyed it, especially when the receptionist urged us to head for the bar in order not to miss the happy hour. We were not disappointed and left it reluctantly in order to unpack. Our room was superb, with distant views to Tucson. The living area was spacious, with a large bed, settee and french doors leading to a balcony. The bathroom was enormous and, had the rest of the hotel not been excellent, we would happily have stayed in the room. The next morning, after a brilliant breakfast on the restaurant patio, we went to a quiet pool in the grounds: this was such a change from driving. However, Raymondo, the head gardener had warned us that rain was on the way for the first time since November, so we really couldn't deny the Senorra Desert the rain it deserved. We later returned to the bar and met Ralph and Kim, two "snow birds" from New Jersey, who were moving down shortly: a wonderful end to a wonderful holiday in the USA.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DYamada, General Manager at Westward Look Wyndham Grand Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear FlashG123,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us and other Trip Advisor readers. I am so pleased to hear that your visit with us added a wonderful ending to your holiday here in the USA! Thank you so much for allowing us to be a part of your precious leisure time.

The high marks you have awarded us are truly appreciated and we hope Tucson and the Westward Look Wyndham Grand Resort will be on your travel agenda in the not too distant future !

Wishing you all of the very best and safe travels!

David

David Yamada
General Manager
Westward Look Wyndham Grand Resort &Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Historical charm characterize this resort. Great landscaping, well appointed room with "big" furniture." Truly comfortable in a charming setting. Fitness room small but overlooks the fabulous foothills and tennis matches! Nicely laid out, with great service, well worth the stay!

Room Tip: Rooms are in separate building scattered throughout the property. Most rooms are private and seclud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DYamada, General Manager at Westward Look Wyndham Grand Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Spolar999,

Thank you for the wonderful review of our resort and for sharing it with us and Trip Advisor readers! We were looking to put more focus on our Tennis facilities so your comments and high marks are greatly appreciated!

We will certainly look forward to making Westward Look your home away from home for any “getaways” you may be looking to take!

All the best and safe travels,

David

David Yamada
General Manager
Westward Look Wyndham Grand Resort &Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I preface this by saying previous experiences have been solid but this one has been horrid from the start. The first room my wife and I received had a HUGE roach in it. The second room had an intermittent television signal and HORRID wifi connectivity. The first person to look at the tv simply unplugged it to reset it then left saying it was fine. The night before we checked out, someone else decided the box and wires needed to be replaced. As I am writing this review not only have I not checked out, but the connection to the wifi has gone out. Alicia has been the one representative I've dealt with who has tried her hardest to improve the experience I've had. I can't say the same for the rest of the staff with the exception of the tv repairman who replaced the box. Without a doubt, the best part of the stay is the fact I get to checkout.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DYamada, General Manager at Westward Look Wyndham Grand Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Will R,

Thank you for taking the time to share the experience of your most recent visit with us. Please accept my sincerest apology, for as you noted, this was certainly not our norm. I have shared your comments with our key team members to prevent any similar missteps in our normal actions and processes.

Our desert environment being what it is, our regular pest preventative maintenance program throughout the resort, plays a critical role for us and we’ll certainly follow-up to ensure there is no interruption of applications.

A daily goal of ours is to ensure that each of our guests has a great experience, as exuded by Alicia’s actions, and we have reinforced this with our entire team.

Your feedback is greatly appreciated and helpful in our on-going journey of continuous improvement. I hope this one incident will not prevent you from enjoying future visits with us as you have in the past.


Sincerely,
David Yamada
General Manager
Westward Look Wyndham Grand Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

For those of that don't live in a desert, a walk around the Westward Look grounds is fascinating. Lots of creatures, birds, plants and flowers to be seen. All the public areas are well kept and interesting. Our junior suite with two beds was very spacious and the bathroom equally large. A skylight in the bathroom is a nice touch and there is an acre of counter space on which you can spread your toiletries. The AC system was louder than most. The in room, free wifi was not working during our stay and there was a charge to use the computers in the business centre. It must be about time to quit charging for computer use at resorts. There are 8 quality tennis courts and 3 decent sized pools as well as 3 hot tubs scattered around the property. You can walk off property for food and supplies but it's a reasonably lengthy trek.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DYamada, General Manager at Westward Look Wyndham Grand Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear protravel1,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and observations with us and other readers. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our grounds. This is an area where we try to keep and enhance the natural and desert feel throughout the resort.

We also have plans in place to enhance the WiFi coverage in all areas of the resort. We have already completed part of the project with improvements in the coverage for all of our meeting space with the remainder to follow.

Thanks for noticing our tennis facilities, of which we’re very proud. On a side note, our Junior Tennis Team (12 and under) are the proud Champions of the 2012 Regional Championships…certainly with much support and training of our Program Director and his staff of professionals.

We certainly appreciate the overall high marks and look forward to your return.

Thanks again for sharing.

All the best and safe travels...

David Yamada
General Manager
Westward Look Wyndham Grand Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Westward Look Wyndham Grand Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westward Look Wyndham Grand Resort and Spa

Address: 245 East Ina Road, Tucson, AZ 85704 (Formerly Westward Look Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#11 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#19 Business Hotel in Tucson
#26 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#31 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westward Look Wyndham Grand Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Wyndham, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Westward Look Wyndham Grand Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westward Look Hotel Tucson
Westward Look Tucson
Westward Look Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westward Look Wyndham Grand Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.