We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil and relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lodge at Ventana Canyon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lodge at Ventana Canyon to your Saves list
Lodge at Ventana Canyon
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   6200 North Clubhouse Lane, Tucson, AZ 85750   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tranquil and relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

This is a wonderful - if slightly dated - resort. The room we stayed in was large and had amazing views, and the bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom is large with a grand claw-foot tub. One suggestion - bubble bath, please! Such a great tub and I had to use shampoo for bubbles! Also, the lights are a bit harsh in the bathroom - a dimmer would have been nice.

I ordered breakfast room service late the night before and it arrived promptly and hot! The service was fantastic, but checking in seemed awkward. The man at the desk seemed unprepared for us, if not slightly annoyed.

All in all, it was a lovely stay and I would recommend it, though it seems to cater to an older clientele better.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 229. It's a corner suite with lots of windows and amazing views of the golf course...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    69
    40
    23
    11
See reviews for
79
102
11
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Temecula
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We were treated to a 4 night stay by a member. The suite was spacious clean and comfortable. Turn down service was offered at no extra charge which was a nice touch. Located in the foothills of the Catalina Mountains the surroundings were very tranquil offering a relaxing escape. As we were busy with family obligations while in town we could not take advantage of the numerous amenities. Great for a tranquil escape.

Room Tip: Try for a room on the second floor facing the Catalina Mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We found the Lodge through Priceline and we feel we got a really good price. The Lodge is a very nice place to stay. It must have been spectacular in its day; now, it's very nice. Our room is huge, has a small kitchen (with some kitchen wares), and a very good bed. The bathroom is large, but a little bit dated. The room actually has a second level, accessed by a spiral staircase, which leads to 2 other beds and another bathroom. The place needs a little TLC, but not a lot. We'd definitely stay here again. The Lodge is part of a golf community, with many older patrons. There appears to many many extended family gatherings going on here over the holiday.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

With family members coming from all around the USA I booked rooms at the Lodge so that we could all be together without a lot of driving to & fro. The accommodations were lovely,warm and homey with a sitting area that allowed for us to visit each other comfortably. The staff was helpful and professional in striving to make our stay successful. The restaurant was excellent with an impressive view of the mountains. Everyone left without a marvelous memory of our family reunion.

Room Tip: The reservations clerk helped by knowing which rooms would all be together in one corridor making it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The lodge at ventana canyon is a wonderful place to visit. The staff is some of the best staff we have ever encountered and we travel often to very nice hotels and resorts.

The rooms are very large and comfortable with beautiful views-We booked the king mountain view room. It's so nice to have a small kitchen, we used just the large mini refrigerator and the large microwave and the dishes and utensils, but it was clear we could request More cookware and dishes if we needed them.

Golfers would love this resort, the view from our room was the mountains with a beautiful portion of the golf course that is impeccably groomed. We enjoyed the large pool which does have swimming lanes, but is easy to jump in and out of and work around the lanes. I never used the spa, but the offerings sounded wonderful, just ran out of time. And they have lots of tennis courts.

The restaurants and bar area are great places to dine with very nice options, excellent service, and very good food.

We will definitely return.

Room Tip: The king mountain views are wonderful with lots of space, large bathroom, mini kitchen, living room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
92 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My husband and I visited this location for a weekend getaway. We had never stayed before. The property is amazing. Large mini apartment sized rooms. Cooking, refrigerator, and mini kitchen. Bathroom was huge with a large tiled shower. Balcony was a nice touch. Super comfortable bed and great decor. Service and staff were excellent. Highly recommend.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I booked two rooms for a three day stay because of the location, the kitchens and it being a resort. It is not a resort, though you pay a $24/day resort fee.It's a club that rents rooms that it's members didn't purchase and I think members are more a priority than guests. The pool is a good walk away and covered with floating lane markers- no splashing with kids here. Our two rooms were spacious, the beds comfortable, the staff was friendly and helpful and the location and grounds were very scenic. The "kitchen" was the first disappointment because there was nothing to cook with. We had to ask for utensils and they were brought right up: two pots and a skillet, a spatula and two plastic spoons, all old and scratched with deteriorating Teflon. There is a stove, dishwasher, coffee maker and small refrig but no toaster, knives, cutting board, pot holders, cleaning sponges or the usual things you use to actually cook with.
My wife and I in were in room 220 which was a Mountain View room with a nice view, standing bathtub and loud a/c that ran constantly. My daughter was in room 216, another "Mountain View" room except for the tree/hedge that stood three feet above the top of her balcony and blocked all views except for the sky. Her room did not have the coffee maker, iron or board and the clock was broken. As she discovered these, she called and they were quickly brought to her room. That night the lights above her balcony shined in through the large peaked windows above her bed. At sunrise, so did the sun as this is an east facing room. We were told at check in that the property was full or we would have asked to change rooms. She enjoyed a nice massage until she was charged more than the brochure in her room quoted. The friendly staff took care of that the next day, attributing the error to an old brochure and "the renovation". This room opened to a sitting area that had the same empty drink glasses sitting on a table the entire three days we were there. An exchange of emails with the Lodge brought an apology for the "view" in 216 and they said they would be purchasing new pots and pans.

Room Tip: Room 220 was large and has a nice view. Room 216 and the two adjoining rooms "views" will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Lodge at Ventana Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge at Ventana Canyon

Address: 6200 North Clubhouse Lane, Tucson, AZ 85750
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#7 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#16 Business Hotel in Tucson
#23 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodge at Ventana Canyon 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Against the dramatic backdrop of the Santa Catalina Mountains, stately ancient saguaros lift their arms to the sky, a myriad of fascinating wildlife scurries about the Sonoran desert landscape and all is right with the world. Nestled in this pristine setting is the perfect vacation destination, the Lodge at Ventana Canyon, with 50 cozy one or two bedroom guest suites. We invite you to make the Lodge your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Lodge at Ventana Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Ventana Canyon Hotel Tucson
Hotel At Ventana Canyon
Resort At Ventana Canyon
Lodge Ventana Canyon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodge at Ventana Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.