We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lodge at Ventana Canyon

Save Saved
You added Lodge at Ventana Canyon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Lodge at Ventana Canyon
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   6200 North Clubhouse Lane, Tucson, AZ 85750   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 127 hotels in Tucson
El Paso, Texas
1 review
“Thanks!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Been going to Ventana for two decades!
The staff and service has always been fantastic!
The facility needs some much needed TLC.......
Paint, minor repairs to doors, etc.
Both courses, Mountain & Canyon were in excellent shape.
Greens were a little slow for my liking, but in great shape!
The food is always good!
Overall well worth the cost!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    32
    16
    16
    9
See reviews for
36
48
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Our group of 12 guys got together for a week of golf at the Lodge for the second time in 5 years. We usually travel to different venues, but this one called for a return visit. The luxury rooms were as comfortable as they were convenient. The dining room was just downstairs, looking out on the first tee. A few steps outside after breakfast find you at the cart staging area, where the wonderful staff sets you up for a wonderful day. Mr. Chris Sabala and his crew handled all of our golf arrangements, meal requirements, and bent over backwards to make sure we had a great time. Your couldn't go wrong here with a golfing vacation. I even won a drink from Chris as he showed up on a par three and challenged us on a closest to the pin! I know for a fact that we'll be back for a return visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Agree with another person who reviewed this "resort" when they said that the Lodge doesn't feel like a real resort.
However, the rooms are fabulous!! Large, comfortable and meticulously cared for, with sitting area and full kitchen! The staff go above and beyond to try to make your stay wonderful.
The views are breathtaking! Definitely recommend!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson az
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

If you are a golfer, tennis player or serious swimmer then the Lodge at Ventana Canyon is for you, but it is not a resort. There is a strip of rooms that runs between the tennis courts and the course. The pool and other amenities are shared by members of the surrounding neighborhood.
Having said that I would like to stress that the location is beautiful and definitely the draw to this property. It is located at the foot of the Santa Catalina Mountains with incredible views. The rooms are quite large (I am told they were originally planned as apartments). They have functional kitchens, large bathrooms, bedrooms and living rooms. North facing rooms have views of the mountains. Ask for a renovated room. Ours was not and had tile issues, stained wall paper, and broken blinds. Each room has its own water heater (yay) and great air conditioning. Though there is not much open space there are small courtyards outside the rooms with tables for anyone that wants to brave the heat.

There is a $25 resort fee which takes care of tipping on the property and wi-fi. Be aware that the wi-fi is pretty much non-existant and for some reason the 4-G on our phones went to 3-G. There are hi-def TV's but the cable signal isn't so the picture is funky.

The pool is a large lap pool. It is well maintained with a large deck area with deck chairs, towels, nice bathrooms, and pool toys. (Hot tubs are inside the locker rooms.)The staff at the pool and the rest of the hotel is very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a remodeled room with a north-facing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

For the past three years we have spent the 4th of July holiday at the Lodge at Ventana Canyon. This year we missed the summer monsoons but did experience the fireworks at the neighboring Loews Hotel. The staff is wonderful and extremely helpful. My only wish would be, if the weather would be ten degrees cooler but them the price to stay at the hotel would be a lot more. Great pool area and fitness gym. The members bar is a fun place to hang out and the food is above average.

Room Tip: My only complaint was that the curtains let in too much sunlight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Our room was HUGE with a full kitchen. The staff provided excellent customer service. The location of this property is amazing. I The views are simply breathtaking and there are great hiking areas around the property and its neighborhood.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This place is GORGEOUS! The location is back at the foothills of the mountains. The views are incredible.... but even better is the friendly service from the moment you go onto the resort property. I am in agreement with some of the reviewers that this is not really a resort, but more of an upscale boutique hotel. The suit was spacious. We choose a gold course/mountain view room and could not have been happier. A full kitchen, living room, large bedroom, and gigantic bathroom! Other reviewers said the place was "outdated" and I was concerned, but the only thing that really needed attention visually was the tiled countertops in the kitchen and bathroom. Otherwise, this was beautiful. The tile did give it a more rustic charm though! The beds were very comfy and nice linens with plenty of pillows. The suite had it's own hot water heater and the A/C we could adjust to our liking.... and we kept it cold! 2 big sliding patio doors were overlooking the views.... one in the living room, and one in the bedroom. The pool was a disappointment as it had no resort feel or personality. It is made for lap swimmers, not casual pool goers. Still, I would go back in a second, because the room and service was above expectations! Good job people!

Room Tip: A mountain/golf view is private and quiet, plus... the views can't be beat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lodge at Ventana Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge at Ventana Canyon

Also Known As:
Lodge At Ventana Canyon Hotel
Lodge At Ventana Canyon Hotel Tucson
Hotel At Ventana Canyon
Resort At Ventana Canyon
Lodge Ventana Canyon
Address: 6200 North Clubhouse Lane, Tucson, AZ 85750
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#17 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodge at Ventana Canyon 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Against the dramatic backdrop of the Santa Catalina Mountains, stately ancient saguaros lift their arms to the sky, a myriad of fascinating wildlife scurries about the Sonoran desert landscape and all is right with the world. Nestled in this pristine setting is the perfect vacation destination, the Lodge at Ventana Canyon, with 50 cozy one or two bedroom guest suites. We invite you to make the Lodge your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Amex, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Lodge at Ventana Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodge at Ventana Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.