We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lodge at Ventana Canyon

Save Saved
You added Lodge at Ventana Canyon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lodge at Ventana Canyon
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   6200 North Clubhouse Lane, Tucson, AZ 85750   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 127 hotels in Tucson
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I did a bid on Priceline and this is where they put me. I was blown away by the service, everyone was extremely nice/helpful everywhere we turned. You can tell the rooms are a bit older but they were still in fine condition, couldn't hear the neighbors and they were HUGE. We were in town to rock climb and mountain bike and it made for a great launch point. Didn't golf, but the course looked amazing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    32
    17
    16
    9
See reviews for
37
49
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I had two rooms for a total of 6 nights.
My experience at the Lodge was disappointing as my early golf tee time was rained out along with 40 degree temps. The golf shop offered to reschedule, but we were unable to do so on this trip. Even though no one else was on the course, the resort would not refund any portion of the green fees. The Lodge could have gained a life time customer and brand advocate had they handled this situation better. While the golf course is great, guess I'll go back to Lowe's and play the course through their pro shop.
While this is a golf activity review, it reflects on my overall opinion of the resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City USA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This property is beautiful ...entertaining golf courses, landscaping, etc. The Lodge is due for some updating. We had a huge suite with small kitchen. Very comfortable but a bit dated. Plumbing fixtures, lamps needed replacement. Bedding was ok ish. We ate breakfast most mornings in the restaurant ...very good.
There was a $24 per day resort fee added to our agreed upon room rate. I really do not like that!!!! Way too much for this level of hotel, too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Living in the rainy Pacific NW, and after a busy tax season, this is where I daydream of going each April/early May. My husband and I can rest completely here and we spend at least 9 nights at just the Lodge itself. The grill is wonderful and the people that serve there are so incredibly nice. WE love hiking the sabino canyon and they offer a free shuttle service to and from. Honestly, the only two things I can think of that I would change about this place is that it's a little pricey (but worth every penny) and you gotta remember, it has a little kitchenette that you can cook your own and save money. The other thing would be that the pool is off limits from about 3 - 5 on weekdays for students doing swim meets. I absolutely love that lap pool. The view is incredible. Choose the room wtih a view. I can't wait until April.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The staff was increcible and helpful with suggestions to local attractions and made our check in so easy! Greeted at our car before we even entered the door. The surrounding area was beautiful and very close to the Sabino Canyon for hiking. Would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The main reasons for a weekend stay at the Lodge are basically to soak up the spectacular views and to "get out of town." So, we got the results we wanted. I booked our stay three months in advance, so was able to score the view. Check in is 4:00PM, though I had requested early check in. We were delayed, arriving at 3:40PM, and the room wasn't ready. Of course, I was reminded of their policy, but, whatever.

I would consider the property to have undergone some renovations, as our suite was updated and fully equipped. Well, the king bed was too soft, the coffee maker is cheap and I had to request two robes be brought to the room. The grounds are well maintained, the staff friendly and professional. Sunday brunch was expansive and surprisingly inexpensive. Wait staff was unobtrusive and efficient. We split a delicious rack of ribs in the Grille one evening My wife loved the gym, but now I guess I have to buy her a treadmill.

Room Tip: Book early, and request either a mountain or golf course view above the first level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Spent 4 days at The Lodge a few weeks ago on a golf trip and had a great time. The rooms, although a bit dated, were massive! Stayed in a room with a King bed, small kitchenette, large living room and giant bathroom. There was also a large balcony over-looking the golf course with a mountain view. The room was very clean and quiet.

Both golf courses (Mountain and Canyon) were first class. They are both designed by Fazio which I am a fan. Conditions were prestine, greens rolled fast and true... and the golf service staff was top notch.

Temperature was very cool overnight. We had frost delays at the golf course till 10am almost every day. But the staff were able to start everyone in a shotgun to help ensure we got the round in during the best part of the day.

Before arrival I worked out my itinerary for the afternoons with the hotels concierge service. Arlene helped with some great hiking spots to hit up within close proximity to the resort. Also took the time to see the Sonoran Desert Meseum, Saguaro National Park, and a drive up Mount Lemmon.

The food at the hotel was okay. The best meal was the Wednesday buffet dinner! I could tell this was a hit with members and guests because it was one of the only nights that the restaurant was packed. Great choice of salads and appetizers, seafood, prime rib, and about 20 different desserts.

It was the only hotel I stayed in Tucson, but I would recommend it for the golf, service, location, and proximity to hiking and outdoor adventure... if you are just going to stay at the lodge for the food, decor, spa, pool, and atmosphere... it may not be the place as those qualities are a little dated.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a mountain view. Very peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lodge at Ventana Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge at Ventana Canyon

Address: 6200 North Clubhouse Lane, Tucson, AZ 85750
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#12 Spa Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodge at Ventana Canyon 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Against the dramatic backdrop of the Santa Catalina Mountains, stately ancient saguaros lift their arms to the sky, a myriad of fascinating wildlife scurries about the Sonoran desert landscape and all is right with the world. Nestled in this pristine setting is the perfect vacation destination, the Lodge at Ventana Canyon, with 50 cozy one or two bedroom guest suites. We invite you to make the Lodge your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Amex, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Lodge at Ventana Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Ventana Canyon Hotel Tucson
Hotel At Ventana Canyon
Resort At Ventana Canyon
Lodge Ventana Canyon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodge at Ventana Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.