We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Cowgirl Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tanque Verde Ranch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Tanque Verde Ranch to your Saves list
Tanque Verde Ranch
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14301 East Speedway Road, Tucson, AZ 85748   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing Cowgirl Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

From the moment we arrived and received our bear hug from the lovely Juan we had an amazing time. Everyone we met was so friendly and we would especially like to mention Jewel, Brianne, Desiree, David, Kelly and easy on the eye Shane for all being helpful and making our holiday truly memorable. Our Casita was breath-taking, the horses incredible and the food good but could be more choice for us vegetarians.
We are two middle-aged sisters who wanted to have a cowgirl experience and we were not disappointed even though the daily riding took its toll on our ageing bodies, many a morning we woke up walking like John Wayne and we desperately needed the fabulous pool, daily, to take away our aches and pains. In the evening after dining we always retired to the 'Doghouse Saloon' to sample the local Margarita's.
Breakfast ride should not be missed and have a go at the fast draw gun shooting down at the Cottonwood Grove (ask for Buckshot!). Twice weekly cook-outs are a must and on Saturdays Jewels line dancing was great fun.
Would love to return in the future and would highly recommend this holiday to everyone.
Debbie & Penny

Room Tip: Casitas are spacious and well worth an upgrade if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    57
    26
    13
    16
See reviews for
188
95
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I used to visit Tanque Verde Ranch with my family when I was teenager, and only have the best memories of our vacations! Fast-forward 30 years, and I returned to the Ranch with three of my best girlfriends for an extended weekend. Our Casita was perfect, with tons of space to settle in with all of our stuff. We had an incredible time horseback riding, relaxing, mountain biking, eating and hanging out at the fabulous Dog House with Bree, our wonderful bartender! We decided to visit again next year, and to bring all of our kids and significant others along.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, USA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We went to Tanque Verde to prepare an event. We expected it to be a horseback riders dream. And it is. What we did not know is how the resort itself has so much for those who do not fancy playing cowboy. Great buffet, Pool and Hot tub opened 24/7, Mountain biking, Tennis, Basketball court, and so much for kids to enjoy. Rooms can be very spacious. Spend a little more and get room 68, which measures close to 1,000 sq feet.
If you think you are isolated in the desert, think again. Not only are you 20 mns from Tuscon but you also have the dog house, the on site saloon, where Lisa serves drinks while baring a colt and hunting knife around her waste. Could be more in the West !
Staff is as nice as they come and you will enjoy the many daily activities. Do not miss the BBQ evenings. The set up takes you back in time.
Certainly not a 5 star hotel but a solid and very solid and qualitative 4 stars.
We will go back with the kids.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Outstanding time at the ranch. It was our first time there and it was AMAZING!!! First, I would like to thank Bea for being so helpful and welcoming. Your added touches made our experience over the top! Thanks for checking on us to make sure we had everything we needed. I would also like to thank LeighAnn Kindberg for welcoming us and making our anniversary so special. LeighAnn sent a beautiful surprise to our room which made our stay even more special. Thank you so much LeighAnn. I would like to thank Andrew Fine for greeting us while we checked in and made sure everything was to our liking. We also enjoyed meeting Arturo and Donna in the main dining area. We were starved and they made sure we were fed and comfortable. Thank you both. Also, we would like to thank Lisa the bartender for making us feel comfortable at the Dog House Saloon. I would like to thank Maddie (horse trainer) for helping me on our sunset ride. It was amazing. Our massages were excellent. We felt so relaxed. The BBQ after our horse ride was great. The food was fabulous. Our room was HUGE and the views were AMAZING!!!! We will come back for sure very soon. We would like to bring our daughter so she can experience the horses, the nature center and try out all your pools. We also would like to take her fishing. There is so much to do that but we only had one amazing night. We truly appreciate all of your staff and their hard work. They went above and beyond. Thank you so much!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Outstanding experience for our family of 4, including 2 girls ages 7 & 12.

We are horse novices and wanted to try a "dude ranch" and found the ranch primarily through an online search as we would be traveling through Arizona. This wasn't overly researched so I'm not sure what our expectations were, but this better than expected. When we arrived in the evening we were greeted by Juan at the front desk who was very friendly and really got everyone excited about the visit. We stayed in a Hacienda which was very nice, spacious and furnishings up to date. The room quality was actually better than what I had expected from the pictures I saw and we had a large bathroom (although in looking through the reviews the accommodations can probably vary). I was also surprised at how well the grounds and facilities maintained for a ranch that has been around for a long time. I actually would've expected to see signs of deferred maintenance on the buildings and grounds but everything was very well kept. The kids program was a plus and our kids loved it and it kept them busy from 7 am with a horse lesson activities and rides throughout the day until 2:15 pm where they end up in the pool. It was easy enough to check them out if you wanted and our oldest joined us a few times for meals, but the younger one like eating in the kids dining hall. The horse walk/rides were beautiful and the food was excellent. Being novices the horse staff (wranglers) was very helpful in getting us comfortable on horseback and turned out not to be a big deal My oldest decided that this was more of "guest" ranch vs a "dude" ranch because of the accommodations and being so well taken care of by the staff.

Room Tip: Hacienda 15 was spacious with 2 pull down queen/full murphy beds in the family room and a separate b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Having been to another wonderful dude ranch, I really had high expectations for Tanque Verde. My trip did not dissappoint! Beautiful horses, gorgeous rides, good food, awesome people. Even a celebrity encounter. (So cool, no one bothered the two celebs, but they did grace us with a song at the cowboy cookout.) If you love horses and the ranch experience, this can't be beat!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tongatapu Island, Tonga
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

i have been there time ago in my first trip to USA; very well impressed as such a place in the middle of nothing, can offer a glimpse of cowboys life style, even if with all fancy comforts of nowdays.
you can try an early horse ride at down, climbing hills around, in a full immersion of natural environment, then have a camp breackfast;
or you can have delicious tipical south western cousine (i loved dinner outside at fire light).
The ranch offers so many different activities, that you can decide going there for a short weekend or more.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tanque Verde Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanque Verde Ranch

Address: 14301 East Speedway Road, Tucson, AZ 85748
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#11 Family Hotel in Tucson
#35 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tanque Verde Ranch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tanque Verde Ranch Resort was named "Best Dude Ranch in Arizona" by Dude Republic in 2012, as well as a "Top Ten Family Resort" by the Travel Channel since 2007, and a "Top Five Ranch" by Conde Nast in 2008. Tanque Verde Ranch is one of America’s old time cattle and guest ranches. Located on 60,000 acres of Tucson’s most breathtaking desert landscapes, nestled amongst the Rincon Mountains and adjacent to Saguaro National Park and Coronado National Forest. Established in 1868, the superb guest ranch is recognized as the last luxurious outpost of the old west providing guests with plush accommodations, unparalleled amenities and a vast array of exciting activities such as horseback riding, mountain biking, fishing and hiking. La Sonora Spa is the perfect place for a bit of quiet relaxation, and the kids will love all the supervised children's programs! Don't hesitate – getaway at one of the premier, all-inclusive dude ranches in the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Tanque Verde Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanque Verde Ranch Hotel Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tanque Verde Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.