We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tanque Verde Ranch

Save Saved
You added Tanque Verde Ranch to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tanque Verde Ranch
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14301 East Speedway Road, Tucson, AZ 85748   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 127 hotels in Tucson
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Outstanding experience for our family of 4, including 2 girls ages 7 & 12.

We are horse novices and wanted to try a "dude ranch" and found the ranch primarily through an online search as we would be traveling through Arizona. This wasn't overly researched so I'm not sure what our expectations were, but this better than expected. When we arrived in the evening we were greeted by Juan at the front desk who was very friendly and really got everyone excited about the visit. We stayed in a Hacienda which was very nice, spacious and furnishings up to date. The room quality was actually better than what I had expected from the pictures I saw and we had a large bathroom (although in looking through the reviews the accommodations can probably vary). I was also surprised at how well the grounds and facilities maintained for a ranch that has been around for a long time. I actually would've expected to see signs of deferred maintenance on the buildings and grounds but everything was very well kept. The kids program was a plus and our kids loved it and it kept them busy from 7 am with a horse lesson activities and rides throughout the day until 2:15 pm where they end up in the pool. It was easy enough to check them out if you wanted and our oldest joined us a few times for meals, but the younger one like eating in the kids dining hall. The horse walk/rides were beautiful and the food was excellent. Being novices the horse staff (wranglers) was very helpful in getting us comfortable on horseback and turned out not to be a big deal My oldest decided that this was more of "guest" ranch vs a "dude" ranch because of the accommodations and being so well taken care of by the staff.

Room Tip: Hacienda 15 was spacious with 2 pull down queen/full murphy beds in the family room and a separate b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    299
    54
    22
    10
    16
See reviews for
180
89
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Having been to another wonderful dude ranch, I really had high expectations for Tanque Verde. My trip did not dissappoint! Beautiful horses, gorgeous rides, good food, awesome people. Even a celebrity encounter. (So cool, no one bothered the two celebs, but they did grace us with a song at the cowboy cookout.) If you love horses and the ranch experience, this can't be beat!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tongatapu Island, Tonga
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

i have been there time ago in my first trip to USA; very well impressed as such a place in the middle of nothing, can offer a glimpse of cowboys life style, even if with all fancy comforts of nowdays.
you can try an early horse ride at down, climbing hills around, in a full immersion of natural environment, then have a camp breackfast;
or you can have delicious tipical south western cousine (i loved dinner outside at fire light).
The ranch offers so many different activities, that you can decide going there for a short weekend or more.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I think my expectations here may have been too high. It also should be disclosed that I am not an avid horseback rider, nor really care for it all that much. My visit was a group trip, with some other folks who really wanted to check out a luxury ranch, all for the first time. Luxury is probably where my expectations were raised. The food here is average at best--the outdoor meals are good, but the dining room experience, particularly lunch, was poor. We found ourselves loading up at breakfast and skipping lunch all together after the first 2 days. The lodgings are cute, but our room was rundown and smelled like sewage at different times. The pool gets crazy dirty, its the desert after all, but they need to have someone clean it more than once a day. All this to say, we had a good time still--the staff is nice and helpful without exception. The biking experience was fun and the equipment was very good quality. The grounds are nicely kept. If you are into horseback riding, they have lots of options, and the group enjoyed everything we did on the horses. At the end of the day, a ranch experience is probably not for me, but I would have liked to of seen more consistency of quality.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We spontaneously spent three days at Tanque Verde during our trip and had the best time. We picked up a 50% summer deal, which meant we got fantastic value and I am unsure my review would be just as good had a paid twice as much. I am saying this with particular regard to the rooms, as they were decent and clean, but not luxurious.

The rest of the ranch setting is fabulous - nature trails, fishing lakes, outdoor bbq's, breakfast rides, evening talks and more make for so much variety that we were really sad to leave after three days. Whilst I spent most of my days riding my partner isn't into horses too much, but the fishing, walking, tennis, pool etc kept him busy too.
The horse riding is great fun with a variety of walk and lope rides and other challenges such as a trail obstacle course. The horses are responsive and sweet and much better trained than I have seen in any other trail riding ranch.

The food on the ranch is fantastic. So much so that I was happy to leave after a few days, as I knew I wouldn't be able to stop eating whilst on the ranch.

All the staff were lovely and we met so many other nice travellers.

The downsides for me personally was that activity offers seemed drastically reduced on sundays - a shame for weekend travellers, but maybe there aren't too many of those. Also I think it is noteworthy that compared to other ranch stays I've had this place is a lot more touristy and hotel-like than some horse people may want from a real working cowboy ranch.

I am hoping to be able to come back one day!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The family were visiting for the second time, my parents and my two sisters. All three of us are in our 20s, but we could not pass on a return to Tanque Verde.
The highlight of this holiday is of course the horseback riding. We generally rode 3 times a day, participating in a variety of activities. The wranglers are incredibly knowledgable and helpful, and although our group has a wide range of riding capabilities, everyone is made to feel at ease and can enjoy the incredible scenery. All the horses are extremely well-trained and there are enough paces and temperants to suit all riders.
There are numerous other activites to participate in apart from horseback riding. We completed many nature walks, danced at the cookouts, attended watercolour painting with the lovely Cal and made a delicious pie in a cookery class!
During our stay we also took the opportunity to visit the town of Tombstone. It was a memorable day and an excellent trip if you have time for it during your stay. We had chosen not to rent a car this time, but the ranch organised the excursion for us and our driver Don was incredibly friendly and was an amazing tour guide for the day. He had also picked us up from the airport and his welcome and level of service started our holiday off in great style.
The food is absolutely fantastic and the service second to none. The breakfasts are hearty and provide a huge range of options. We greatly enjoyed the salads at lunch and especially the deserts. Dinner is excellent every night and the cookouts are a great experience. We also enjoyed several prickly pear margaritas and games of pool in the bar!
Everyone at the ranch extends every effort to ensure you have a full, fantastic and memorable holiday. We cannot wait to return and are certain to do so soon!

Room Tip: The family rooms are great for groups, with separate master bedroom, very large bathroom and two pul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

After an online search for family vacations within driving distance of Los Angeles, we came across Tanque Verde Ranch. They were having a 48 hour sale at the time. After taking the kids horseback riding the next day to make sure they would not be afraid of horses we booked a week planning to spend half of our two week vacation there.

As we were planning the remainder of our vacation, we traded two days in San Diego for two more days at the ranch. This was the best decision we could have made.

There is an impressive list of activities for anyone who enjoys the outdoors. Horseback riding for all levels heads the list but you can also hike, bike, fish and swim. We took advantage of the horseback riding, biking, fishing and swimming. They even have a nature center with examples of some of the surrounding wildlife.

Note: There are NO TV's in the rooms. There is a community TV near the dining room. We never missed the TV. Free WiFi is available in every room.

Horseback riding is the primary focus of the ranch. This vacation is best for families that enjoy horseback riding. Lessons are scheduled for various riding levels so even first time riders will have a great time.

The best feature of the ranch is the children's program. Depending on the age of the child, they participate in age appropriate activities from 7 - 3. Our kids spent a good amount of time on their horse but also had art activities, play time, visits and presentations at the nature center and spent time in the pool.

The children's program allows parents to also have a vacation and participate in adult activities. Parents have until 3:00 each day. Adults can spend most of their time on horseback if desired. If not, take a hike, a trail bike ride, fish, kick back in the pool, get a massage at the spa or whatever else you wish.

You can also sign the kids out of the program at any time during the day and check them back in. We did this a couple times to take the kids fishing with us.

The food is tremendous and most meals are buffet style. You will not go hungry. The trail breakfast ride is a must. Get the ranch eggs and top with the salsa. Great stuff.

If you enjoy horseback riding, you will love this vacation.

The only negative had to do with the heat. Arizona in August is a bit warm. The ranch cannot control the weather so this is not their fault. This is the reason for the 4 rating on the location. Best to do the horseback riding early in the day.

The service from everyone was excellent. This included the wranglers handling the horses, the dining staff, cleaning crew and especially the kids program.

We cannot recommend this enough to families with children. It allows both kids and parents to have a great vacation. Adults have their activities without having to worry about the kids and the kids have a great time with their own activities.

Room Tip: We stayed in a "Hacienda" which has a bedroom with a king bed and a living room with two m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tanque Verde Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanque Verde Ranch

Address: 14301 East Speedway Road, Tucson, AZ 85748
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#8 Family Hotel in Tucson
#16 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#17 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tanque Verde Ranch 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tanque Verde Ranch Resort was named "Best Dude Ranch in Arizona" by Dude Republic in 2012, as well as a "Top Ten Family Resort" by the Travel Channel since 2007, and a "Top Five Ranch" by Conde Nast in 2008. Tanque Verde Ranch is one of America’s old time cattle and guest ranches. Located on 60,000 acres of Tucson’s most breathtaking desert landscapes, nestled amongst the Rincon Mountains and adjacent to Saguaro National Park and Coronado National Forest. Established in 1868, the superb guest ranch is recognized as the last luxurious outpost of the old west providing guests with plush accommodations, unparalleled amenities and a vast array of exciting activities such as horseback riding, mountain biking, fishing and hiking. La Sonora Spa is the perfect place for a bit of quiet relaxation, and the kids will love all the supervised children's programs! Don't hesitate – getaway at one of the premier, all-inclusive dude ranches in the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Tanque Verde Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanque Verde Ranch Hotel Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tanque Verde Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.