We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tanque Verde Ranch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tanque Verde Ranch to your Saves list
Tanque Verde Ranch
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14301 East Speedway Road, Tucson, AZ 85748   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
72 Hour Sale!
Ranked #11 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exceeded Expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We returned for another national sales meeting and TVR was even better than we remembered. The remote location and no in-room TV's make it the perfect site to promote the networking and team building we desire for our sales team. Every event was executed perfectly and every staff member is friendly and always ready to please. There are plenty of riding options and outdoor activities to keep everyone happy when free time allows. The guest rooms and baths are very nice and spacious but the scenic views are the true star.....the real stars are not bad either as the sky glows nightly. The meals were amazing from the delicious pancakes at breakfast to the abundant salad selections and hearty lunch items served daily with plenty of sweet treats to temp too! Nightly the dinners did not disappoint from the tasty BarBQ and steaks under the cottonwoods to the gourmet choices in the dining room.....just outstanding! A truly wonderful return experience that exceeded expectations. Thanks TVR .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    55
    25
    11
    16
See reviews for
184
95
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Imagine planning a vacation for eight women, from 7 different cities spread thousands of miles apart, each with family obligations, careers, tight schedules, differing interests, and a great desire to spend four glorious days together. Tanque Verde Ranch couldn't have been more perfect!!!!! The accommodations were fantastic - huge, clean, picturesque, and comfortable. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. Every request was met with "sure!" The food was plentiful and excellent, including creative vegetarian choices at every meal. The activities were endless and diverse enough to satisfy everyone. The focus of the ranch is of course horseback riding and in that arena you could participate every day and experience something new with greater challenges each day. There are daily hikes, and with Saguaro National Park in the Ranch's back yard, hiking is a real joy. Mountain biking, fishing, cooking, wine tasting, the nature walk, and yoga, felt more like one time activities. The evening cookout and breakfast ride are part of the Dude Ranch experience and not to be missed. So many things to do - so little time! By 11:00 p.m. each night we all crashed, and by 7:30 each morning we were at breakfast discussing our list of activities scheduled for the day. But when you just need a break from all the fun, the spa, swimming pool, and doghouse saloon offer a nice respite. Try the Hellfire Margarita - I have never had a drink with Jalapeno peppers floating in it - and once might be enough. I live in San Francisco, am lucky enough to travel extensively with my husband who led five star tours around the globe in his earlier career and now owns a Destination Management Company in San Francisco. I am always looking at what could be done better, what was done well, and is the service something to be proud of. Tanque Verde really did a superb job. If the Dude Ranch experience is what you are looking for I highly recommend this property. We visited in May, probably considered the shoulder season, so the Ranch was not full. The weather was great, hot in the direct sun, but very comfortable in the shade. We all talked about returning with our families.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Va
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This is a fantastic property. The staff went out of their way to serve. It was a relaxing week. Loved the Thurs AM trail ride ending in breakfast. And the BBQ dinner. The food was excellent. Can't say enough good things about this place! I loved my room! Spacious!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quilcene, Washington
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Everything about Tanque Verde Ranch was amazing. The people were amazingly friendly and helpful. The food was abundant and delicious. The horses and activities were incredible. I'll definitely visit this place again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is in a nice environment with a good atmosphere but for the price the rooms are pretty rough. It precipitated while we were there and the roof leaked right next to the bed.Management did not seemed too concerned...it doesn't rain much in Tucson so just let it go.The maintenance man did not want to go up on the roof to see what the problem was. He said it was too cold.Just use the wastepaper basket to catch the water. No apologies or anything else.But if you like the smell and sound of horses...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Jefferson, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My trip to Tanque Verde Ranch was truly a once-in-a-lifetime experience! I had won the trip in July of 2012 by playing the daily trivia game on the talk show Live! with Kelly (now Live with Kelly & Michael). I took my mom, and I cannot say enough great things about our week there.

We had never been to Arizona and the location of the ranch is simply stunning. The ranch boasts breathtaking views of the Rincon mountains and the landscaping is absolutely gorgeous. The environment created such a tranquil feeling for the two of us. We experienced nothing but sunshine and quite literally no clouds in the sky.

We stayed in a Hacienda suite which was decorated beautifully. It contained a covered porch in the back which gave a stunning view of the mountains. We spent more time on that porch than in the actual room!

My mom and I had never been horseback riding before, so we were definitely beginners at it. We did a couple of basic lessons first and then went on a series of awesome walking rides the rest of the week. Our last walking ride was the breakfast ride in which almost all the guests get on a horse and ride into the mountains to experience a delicious breakfast with the best blueberry pancakes ever. The horses were so calm and we had a great time with them. Never would we ever had thought to be riding horses in the middle of a desert!!

The food was delectable. I've been on a lot of vacations including cruises, and that food doesn't even compare to the food served here. Breakfast was amazing with the best bacon. Lunch was always a buffet with enough food to even delight the pickiest of eaters, including the biggest desert table I've ever seen. Dinner was sit down and we had Bill as a waiter who gave us great service. The food always came out quickly and was awesome every night. My favorite dessert was their tropical caramelized banana split!! We went to a cookout one night, and a Mexican Fiesta night too. Everything was great.

The pool was so relaxing. There's nothing like laying out in the Arizona sunshine after a long ride on a horse. I cannot say enough about the service of the staff as well. They will do anything to make your stay great for you!

I can easily say that this vacation was the best I've ever been on in my entire life. We are Long Islanders and this wasn't our typical vacation, and if I hadn't of won this trip we would have never of thought to do something like this. If your looking for a relaxing vacation that will make you feel rejuvenated, then Tanque Verde Ranch is for you! It was a vacation like no other, and we hope to return in the next few years!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We are a large company in a "High Tech" environment. Tanque Verde Ranch was the perfect fit for our corporate event. We invited our customers to this event for a techical exchange forum and team building events. Our group ( 65 - 70) gave us the opportunity to do a ranch "buy out" which worked really well for our group. We had the abilitiy to conduct our forum and then take a break for "team building" activities that worked best for our schedule. We felt this schedule allowed attendees to stay more focused with a break in the early afternoon (after lunch).

The entire staff at the Ranch went "Above and Beyond" to ensure our event was a success. Based on our customer feedback we had the best results to date. Our sales manager (Richard) and our event coordinator (Nina) were on top of all of the details. Nina gave me suggestions for activities. Her suggestions always pointed in the right direction -- we were NOT disappointed by any event. We kicked off our event with an evening activity "Margarita & Salsa Challenge. It was an opportunity for people to get creative, not only creating a unique salsa but to name it and market it. We had alot of fun. Another recommendation by Nina was for one evening we had "Loop Rawlins" come and perform down in Cottonwood Canyon after our BBQ dinner. He gave a rope/gun demonstration. He was amazing! We took part in the Team Penning and Funkana team building activities which was enjoyed by everyone. The morning breakfast ride to the Old Homestead was beautiful. We had the owner cooking us Blueberry Pancakes. I could continue on with the experiences, the food, the venue, and the staff. The last evening we hosted a carnival of "Western" type games (ie. Ring Toss, Cow Patty Toss, Quick Draw, etc...). The guys LOVED the "Quick Draw" -- this was an immediate draw by our group (especially the ones who are competitive in nature). This was an experience that will talked about for a long time! It will be hard to top this event.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tanque Verde Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanque Verde Ranch

Address: 14301 East Speedway Road, Tucson, AZ 85748
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#9 Family Hotel in Tucson
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#36 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tanque Verde Ranch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tanque Verde Ranch Resort was named "Best Dude Ranch in Arizona" by Dude Republic in 2012, as well as a "Top Ten Family Resort" by the Travel Channel since 2007, and a "Top Five Ranch" by Conde Nast in 2008. Tanque Verde Ranch is one of America’s old time cattle and guest ranches. Located on 60,000 acres of Tucson’s most breathtaking desert landscapes, nestled amongst the Rincon Mountains and adjacent to Saguaro National Park and Coronado National Forest. Established in 1868, the superb guest ranch is recognized as the last luxurious outpost of the old west providing guests with plush accommodations, unparalleled amenities and a vast array of exciting activities such as horseback riding, mountain biking, fishing and hiking. La Sonora Spa is the perfect place for a bit of quiet relaxation, and the kids will love all the supervised children's programs! Don't hesitate – getaway at one of the premier, all-inclusive dude ranches in the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Tanque Verde Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanque Verde Ranch Hotel Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tanque Verde Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.