We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tanque Verde Ranch

Save Saved
You added Tanque Verde Ranch to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tanque Verde Ranch
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14301 East Speedway Road, Tucson, AZ 85748   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 127 hotels in Tucson
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

The wranglers at the ranch were great at giving us the experience of horse riding while taking such great care of the horses. Leigh Ann the reservations manager was amazing! She bent over backwards to accommodate us and make sure our stay was memorable. She even lent us her cowboy boots to make our rides easier! The room we stayed in, 24, had a great view of the desert. Great place for families and groups. It just was really crowded when we went over spring break and so it takes a while to get everyone loaded on the horses and thus maybe less time actually on the trails so if possible would highly suggest avoiding peak times when the resort booked up.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    296
    54
    22
    10
    16
See reviews for
178
88
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
East Anglia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay on the ranch. I'd never ridden before but after an introductory lesson of 30 minutes I was able to go on a walking ride. The horses are extremely well behaved and patient. The staff were all friendly and helpful. There are lots of activities but you can take part in as many as you chose, or indeed just relax. The food was delicious and of a much higher standard than I was expecting. All in all a great experience.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a dude ranch. Don't expect ultramodern conveniences but do expect comfort, service and beauty. I love to just walk the grounds. Hike the area and enjoy the beauty. My daughter's wedding was here and I've been to several other weddings here. The most beautiful spot for a ceremony at sunset. It's also a great place for a family vacation. The kids will love it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Upon arrival you will be overwhelmed by the sight of this lovely ranch. Beautiful landscape on the property and a backdrop of the Rincon mountains and Suaguai National Park, cacti as far as the eye can see. It is a sensory overload.

First point of contact is the friendly staff who checked us in and allowed us to enjoy the activities while our room was being prepared. We were lucky to arrive on Easter Sunday and enjoyed a buffet that was sooooooooooo good, a pasta bar made to order, three types hot meat, unlimited salad bar and dessert to die for! So tasty with so many options you simply cannot decide. It was a true culinary delight.

Next onto the walk ride. The ranch is very well organized and we were put on a horse immediately and luckily my friend and I were the only ones on the ride so we got a private guide "Mattie" cute as a button, we noticed she was limping and she mentioned that she fell into a cactus earlier that day but was still riding with a smile on her face and didn't complain once as you could clearly see she was uncomfortable sitting lopsided on the horse, what a trooper!

Next was the water aerobics class and our teacher was Amy who was very nice and explained the class well and as a fitness instructor myself I found her class to be appropriate for everyone in attendance, her aqua class was a mix of easy with options to challenge for more of a workout and her yoga class was very relaxing and had a great flow with lots of positive reinforcement. The evening program was a Rattlesnake demonstration which was very exciting with a fabulous presenter who educated us about Rattlesnakes and really did a fine job clearing up all the misconceptions about snakes in general. We learned a lot in a short amount of time and sure enough we encountered a Rattlesnake later in the trip and did not fear just left him alone like the man said "let em be". After the snake demo we were off to the Saloon for Prickly Pear Margaritas. The drinks were fantastic and so was the bottomless popcorn. The bartender Lisa was also very sweet and fun to hang out with. Then comes dinner and I am still full from lunch, it's tough on the ranch but I am determined to fit some more good stuff in.

OK all the above is just day 1.

Tying to wrap this up short is impossible. I'll try... Great staff... Amy,Leanna, Juan & Phil front desk super friendly. Peggie at the dinning hall sweet as can be, she is what every employer wants! Her hospitality was unbelievable, she deserves a raise and I loved that I saw her hiking on her day off, that is a true ranch loving woman, so nice so have met her. Tim the mountain bike guide was perfect, he took us on a ride that was challenging enough for our skill level but not too much and he never put us into a cactus and for that I will be forever grateful. Mountain Biking was amazing! Rich for hiking and fishing, loved him, he was fun and gave us enough information to appreciate the desert but didn't overwhelm us with too much talk, he was just right and I appreciate that he had a second guide with him who needed to take some guest back as they were not up to the climb to Wild Horse Canyon. No one was left behind and the tour did go on for those up to the challenge. We also hiked with Virginia who was also very nice and was mindful of the guest, she noticed some young girls wearing inappropriate shoes and asked if they would be comfortable going with the group that was taking a trail with less rugged terrain than ours and they did go with the other group and were appreciative of the suggestion. Darrel tennis Coach was also very skilled and professional, he had a lot of guest to juggle and spent enough time with everyone on technique and form while we got a good workout, playing in rotation and this clinic was great for all skill levels.

Accommodations- Perfect simple room with a beautiful view, atrium lawn, fountain, lounge chairs, and a great place to take a break between activities.
Activities- There is something for everyone. Horse Penning was a highlight (no experience necessary) a fun equestrian sport rounding up cattle. Got a 3rd place ribbon.
Dive in Movie was pretty cool. Kids enjoyed being in a heated pool with a big screen playing Lone Ranger.
Food- My only complaint is I gained 6.5 lbs over 4 days but enjoyed every bite, especially the cowboy cookout & breakfast ride (we chose bikes to breakfast)
Spa great massage and relaxing way to end the trip.

This is a great place for anyone to enjoy the simple or complex way of a true cowboy living! I loved every minute of this 5 star vacation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We were not sure about taking a "non riding" family on a dude ranch vacation, but wanted to experience something different. It turned out to be a BIG hit with all! From day 1 the kids (8 and 10) LOVED their experience in the kids camp, and Mom and Dad really enjoyed the laid back atmosphere, REALLY great food, fabulous scenery and amazing riding. We really enjoyed the "breakfast ride" where we rode up to the old homestead for a home cooked breakfast outdoors, and also the amazing evening BBQs in the Cottonwoods location twice a week for dinner. The evening entertainers there were fun with the cowboy dancing a fire lasso and line dancing with Melissa. We can also recommend the "Adventure ride" which was AWESOME, a 3 hour trip up to the high mountains, with a great guide and amazing scenery as we twisted our way up the mountain. Its not for the timid or scared, but such a great feeling of accomplishment on our return. We also enjoyed the evening lectures at 8.30 by local artisans. The Navajo weaver talk was really wonderful. The pool was lovely, the Doghouse Saloon was charming in terms of atmosphere and Lisa's margaritas, and the whole place was extremely friendly and welcoming. The kids program was totally great for our two girls. Lots of structure and events, but free time to socialize and get to know new friends. Lisa the lead counsellor is excellent and all the girls were very friendly and helpful. The wranglers were polite, patient, well trained and kind to us "newbies" and gave us alot of confidence in riding out and getting to the next level of expertise. By the end we were on the intermediate rides and enjoying them. On our last day, the kids were crying to stay and we felt like heros having given them an awesome spring break. We will be back - thanks TVR

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My family and I had a great time at the ranch and I wish I could give it four stars but unfortunately because of a few major glitches I cannot.
The Pros:
- friendly staff
- clean property
- great hiking
- nice horseback riding
- plenty of kids activities during the day
- above average food; quite tasty actually

The Cons:
- only 2 kids size bikes available for biking. Really?
We're here on spring break and there are well over 75 kids at the ranch!
- very uncomfortable beds. We were promised a temperpedic mattress
topper but the management never delivered.
- no extra pillows available.
- very little to do at night. We would have enjoyed more entertainment or activities
in the evening but the ranch basically shuts down at 8pm.

Overall for the price we paid, which was top dollar $$ for one of the best rooms (#70)
we expected more in terms of room comfort and available activities.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My teenage daughter and I returned to Tanque Verde Ranch during our spring break. We were delighted to return to such a wonderful place! To our delighted surprise, the ranch grounds had been spruced up, new management in place and an overall feeling of well-being permeated the place. This was our 9th trip (I think) and it was the best of times! The head wrangler and his staff are amazing! Hannah, at the spa, is an excellent massage therapist. Everyone did their utmost to make our stay as pleasant as possible. My daughter toured the University of Arizona while we were there. The car service TVR hired for us was top notch. The food was awesome (this used to be the weakest link)! We cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Love Javelina Heights and Mi Casa, Su Casa among others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tanque Verde Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanque Verde Ranch

Address: 14301 East Speedway Road, Tucson, AZ 85748
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Tucson
#17 Business Hotel in Tucson
#17 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tanque Verde Ranch 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tanque Verde Ranch Resort was named "Best Dude Ranch in Arizona" by Dude Republic in 2012, as well as a "Top Ten Family Resort" by the Travel Channel since 2007, and a "Top Five Ranch" by Conde Nast in 2008. Tanque Verde Ranch is one of America’s old time cattle and guest ranches. Located on 60,000 acres of Tucson’s most breathtaking desert landscapes, nestled amongst the Rincon Mountains and adjacent to Saguaro National Park and Coronado National Forest. Established in 1868, the superb guest ranch is recognized as the last luxurious outpost of the old west providing guests with plush accommodations, unparalleled amenities and a vast array of exciting activities such as horseback riding, mountain biking, fishing and hiking. La Sonora Spa is the perfect place for a bit of quiet relaxation, and the kids will love all the supervised children's programs! Don't hesitate – getaway at one of the premier, all-inclusive dude ranches in the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Tanque Verde Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanque Verde Ranch Hotel Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tanque Verde Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.