We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall, a very successful Spring Break thanks to the ranch!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tanque Verde Ranch

Save Saved
You added Tanque Verde Ranch to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tanque Verde Ranch
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14301 East Speedway Road, Tucson, AZ 85748   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 127 hotels in Tucson
Bermuda
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Overall, a very successful Spring Break thanks to the ranch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband and I took our two older children (21, 18) to the ranch for their spring break. We really enjoyed our time there, except for some housekeeping issues that, as one reviewer noted, should never have happened at a resort of such stature. Unfortunately, our requests to have the housekeeping issues resolved were received politely by the front desk staff (Juan is exceptional) but not much was done to correct the problem for us, which became a days-long annoyance.
With that said, the ranch has wonderful qualities which will be foremost in our minds for days to come. The food is fantastic and the dining room staff superb; the scenery is unbelievable; the hiking was beautiful; from tennis, to swimming in the beautiful pool, to golfing in nearby Tucson, everyone was happily busy; and the charm of the ranch cannot be beat. A good time was had by all. I would say, however, that the day we chose to go riding was a bit of a disappointment. Many people signed up to ride that day, in various programs, so there was a lot of waiting around and confusion. The wranglers seemed a bit annoyed with the group that day, but I do understand that they are in charge of everyone's safety and might be anxious about that. In general though, we all thought the wranglers' snapping at people made our ride lose its luster.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    296
    54
    22
    10
    16
See reviews for
178
88
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We celebrated a very special birthday for my wife over 4 days at Tanque Verde. There were 12 of us (6 adults, 6 children) covering 3 generations, with the two youngest being 5 years old. The hotel picked us up at the airport, promptly delivered us to the hotel where the front desk staff was expecting us. We were given 4 connecting rooms that allowed us to have a wonderful family reunion. There were multiple opportunities for horseback riding, with rides and lessons for riders of all experience, except for the most experienced, expert riders who were not allowed to ride the horses faster than a lope. The wranglers are very experienced and very helpful and ultra-safety minded. The Team Penning ride, in which teams of 4-5 riders move cows into pens or inside cones, was great fun. Biking through the catcus forrest, fishing in the small pond, and swimming in their nicely heated pools were other highlights. The food was plentiful, good but not outstanding, The staff were really friendly and helpful, and were very accomodating to our requests. All-in-all, it was a wonderful way to spend a special vacation with the family. It was expensive, but worth it. Also, we were very lucky as the weather was fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My husband, teenaged son and I stayed at the ranch for 2 nights, wish it was for longer. The riding is great, the wranglers are so helpful and friendly, I learned more about riding in 2 days than the rest of my life. We did the FUNdamental and intermediate lessons and a couple of trail rides. They have about 160 horses and a very low rider to wrangler ratio, never more than 6 rides to a wrangler on our rides. We did the all inclusive option, the food is very good. We did one ride ending at a picnic under the cottonwood trees, they also do breakfasts and dinner there on different days. Every staff member we dealt with was friendly, professional and very helpful. Our 'salsa' room was a little tired and could do with an upgrade, but it was clean, the beds comfortable and it had a good amount of space for the three of us. The property is beautiful. This is a large resort and is not a working ranch, rather a holiday with lots of riding opportunities and many other activities to do. They also have mountain biking, guided hikes, evening programs, a nice pool area to wash of the dust and 'horse'. They have a good kids program - for kids up to age 12. Many people go back year after year and I can see why.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Just spend Spring Break at Tanque Verde Ranch and never before have my kids cried, when they had to leave and go home. This beats safari in Kenya, skiing in Europe and hiking in Yosemite National Park. Great children's program, our kids left with boosted self-esteem and big love for "their" horses". I particular appreciated the emphasis on safety and never had to worry about my kids being out on a horse. Great food, we all probably left some pounds heavier. Only suggestion for improvement is to get better mountain bike trails and open them up for guests, without having a guide every time. This way the not so horse-crazy family members will be easier to convince back to this Paradise on earth.

Room Tip: Think practical and casual when you pack for this place. It is all about going out and enjoying natu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Ranch sits in a beautiful valley in the sonoran desert between the catalina and rincon mountains. Lots of horse back riding, or chill by the pool. Food to die for. Meet wonderful people from all over the world. Can't praise it enough.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My family travels frequently, and we're fairly easy to please. So, when I tell you that we had a problem with our room the first night after check-in - A big problem - please understand that this was an issue that should have never happened anywhere. We were ready to leave, but my family loves to ride horses, so we decided to wait until morning & speak with the ranch manager. I'll spare you the description & photos of this "housekeeping malfunction", and tell you that the Tanque Verde Ranch staff apologized endlessly, corrected the situation,and acted exactly as they should have - and actually made us want to stay. We were glad that we gave it 2nd chance.

We enjoyed 4 great days of riding on the ranch. Facilities for riding & horses were top notch, and the wranglers did a great job of matching horses with riders. If I have one piece of criticism, it would be that the lope checks were a bit stringent, meaning that not everyone could go on loping rides. My family are fairly experience riders, but half us didn't pass the lope checks in 4 days. And those who did go on lope rides reported that there wasn't much loping going on anyway. Sure, safety is a primary concern, but it seemed a bit much. The walking & intermediate rides were fun, and I would definitely suggest the sunset ride (an extra fee) as it took us high into the mountains with great views of the desert at sunset.

ALL of the people at The Tanque Verde Ranch were all fantastic. Food servers, ranch hands, wranglers, & more - all very pleasant & eager to please. The pool looked fairly new, and was also a welcome sight as a few of the days got very hot.

And, the food was always, always fantastic - much better than we had expected. Seating is either private or community (your choice), and we took advantage of both options. All meals were really, really, great - and the Wednesday night BBQ was a big hit with everyone.

Overall, we're glad that we vacationed at Tanque Verde Ranch. Challenges can happen any place, and they are always unexpected & unwelcome on vacation. But, given the chance to make it all right, the folks at Tanque Verde did the right things. And, the entire staff were genuinely dedicated to the customer experience. My kids are already asking when we can visit again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The ranch offers families a chance to reconnect and relax while horseback riding in one of the most beautiful spots. The food at the ranch is delicious. The wranglers are so accommodating and knowledgable. Many of them remember us by name! The kids program is the best I've seen. Jonathan, the head wrangler, does a great job making the rides enjoyable for all riding abilities. I am here at this moment and can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tanque Verde Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanque Verde Ranch

Address: 14301 East Speedway Road, Tucson, AZ 85748
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Tucson
#17 Business Hotel in Tucson
#17 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tanque Verde Ranch 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tanque Verde Ranch Resort was named "Best Dude Ranch in Arizona" by Dude Republic in 2012, as well as a "Top Ten Family Resort" by the Travel Channel since 2007, and a "Top Five Ranch" by Conde Nast in 2008. Tanque Verde Ranch is one of America’s old time cattle and guest ranches. Located on 60,000 acres of Tucson’s most breathtaking desert landscapes, nestled amongst the Rincon Mountains and adjacent to Saguaro National Park and Coronado National Forest. Established in 1868, the superb guest ranch is recognized as the last luxurious outpost of the old west providing guests with plush accommodations, unparalleled amenities and a vast array of exciting activities such as horseback riding, mountain biking, fishing and hiking. La Sonora Spa is the perfect place for a bit of quiet relaxation, and the kids will love all the supervised children's programs! Don't hesitate – getaway at one of the premier, all-inclusive dude ranches in the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Tanque Verde Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanque Verde Ranch Hotel Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tanque Verde Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.