We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get ready to be amazed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tanque Verde Ranch

Save Saved
You added Tanque Verde Ranch to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tanque Verde Ranch
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14301 East Speedway Road, Tucson, AZ 85748   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 127 hotels in Tucson
bc
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Get ready to be amazed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We booked on our first activity holiday at this wonderful resort. Initially, we were worried that we might not participate fully in the available activities, but we soon found out that there was plenty of room to try out the horse riding and mountain biking sessions. In fact, we were often the only ones signed up and enjoyed our private lessons immensely. This made the affordable holiday a bargain. We were kept so busy, we did not manage to hang out at the heated outdoor pool. The food is of a very high standard, and we explored the superb hiking at the adjacent Saguaro Park daily to keep our weight in check. Bonus encounters with local wildlife Havelina pigs, road runners, jackrabbits and one owl were special treats.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew_F_TVGR, Manager at Tanque Verde Ranch, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for visiting us at the ranch! We're glad you had such a good time, and glad that you got the chance to try so many activities. We try hard to plan the schedule in a way to allow for more than just horseback riding, and it seems as though you got to try much of what we have to offer. Glad you were so busy, but sorry you didn't get to relax at the heated outdoor waterfall pool! Chef Ben and the team are glad you enjoyed their creations in the dining room! Saguaro National Park is adjacent to the ranch, and we're glad you got to try some of its many hiking trails. We hope you get the chance to visit us again and experience even more! Thanks!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    297
    54
    22
    10
    16
See reviews for
178
89
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Tanque Verde Ranch is a true oasis from modern urban living. We had a great time, riding horses through the saguaro cacti, relaxing in the hot tub, playing tennis from morn 'til night, shooting pool in the evening, eating pancake and egg breakfast high up in the hills, barrel-racing in the Funkana, to say nothing of the team penning, which was hilarious! For our family, there's something for everybody, we can all find as much activity or not, as we want! The sunset views are magnificent, and the vibe is relaxed and easy. Interesting guests, too, from all over the world. Easy to get to and very hospitable when you arrive, we'll be back, for sure.

Room Tip: The rooms with high ceilings and fireplaces with 2 murphy beds are well worth it; sleeping by fireli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew_F_TVGR, Manager at Tanque Verde Ranch, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thanks for visiting us at Tanque Verde Ranch! We're especially glad you go tthe sense of an oasis, stepping out of reality into a simpler time, as that is exactly what we strive for. It sounds like you got to try almost everything we have to offer, and found more than a little for everyone in your family. Team Penning is one of the most popular activities, and you got right into the spirit! We hpoe you get the chance to come back and see some more of our sunsets! Thanks!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

My stay brought more headaches then I could have imagined. I will not be recommending this place anytime soon due to the lack of communication between management and guests when there are serious problems that need urgent attention and care.
Not only was this a problem, but Casa West's porch (where the general manager lives on the resort) was trashed when we passed it on a walk ride. What kind of a manager doesn't care to respect the place that he works at? I was greatly disappointed.
But there is still hope for the future. The ranch needs to invest in updates in the room ASAP, and fire a lot of their management staff.
On a positive note the riding was fantastic (Zack Mike and Mark are the best!), the dinners were great once the ranch emptied out, Rick, who drove us to the airport was lovely, and Juan, was the only person in the entire office (including the management staff) that was able to bring a smile to our faces. He is a gem. Also Lisa at the bar is a great bartender who cares about her job , and Brenna (food&bev. manager) is phenomenal. Outside of that though the place needs a serious upgrade.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew_F_TVGR, Manager at Tanque Verde Ranch, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for your visit to the ranch, and tha nk you for your comments. We know you mean well, and always want to listen to our guests to make sure we can always improve. We especially appreciate your compliments to the individual staff members. We'd like to be able to discuss any disappointment with you personally, and you are welcome to call me at the ranch, at 520-296-6275.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I have been going to Tanque Verde Ranch for over 20 years. It has only improved over time.

First and foremost the service is unbeleivable. Whatever you ask for the staff try to accomodate.

When I started going I was single and would go to ride. Later, I conviced my law partners to do a firm retreat there. It was the best retreat we ever had. This year I took my 8 year old twins.

I was delighted to find that there is now a fantastic kids program. My kids typically don't like kids' programs and on the first day they announced they would not be participating in it. By lunch time they were asking to have lunch in the kids only dining room and by day 2 they were doing riding lessons, trail rides, tennis etc. in the kids program. The staff were fantastic.

The rooms are very nice, the food is great and the activities are really fun. Although I didn't try it this time, I saw team penning which is basically a bunch of adults on horses in a corral trying to get a bunch of cows into a pen. What a hoot! City Slickers all the way.

My son also got a private mountain biking lesson (his first time) and said it was the hightlight of his life.

I can't say enough about this wonderful place. I highly recommend this ranch for singles, couples, families and corporate groups.

Most people are repeat guests. Some have gone every year for up to 30 years. There were a lot of large family reunion or anniversary type trips.

It is a very relaxed, fun ranch in the middle of the beautiful Arizona dessert.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew_F_TVGR, Manager at Tanque Verde Ranch, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thanks for visiting us again at the ranch. We're always glad to see folks return, and thank you so much for your fantastic comments. While there are some folks who've been here as long as you've been coming out, you make us newer folks feel great by saying we only get better. We're always glad when kids (and adults!) enjoy the kids programs and the kids counselors love getting the letters and emails from the kids after they head home. Next time, you've got to try the team penning - it's one of the most popular activities! We're espeically glad your son got a lifelong memory with the biking lesson - and we love being able to take care of individual requests like that. Thanks again for visiting us, and we can't wait to see you and your family next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed with our small children over the holidays last month. The kids program has riding twice a day, which is really great, but otherwise their activities were lacking, it was more about killing time between rides to be honest, so we took them out early and would go to one of the pools (also lovely). It meant that for us, we weren't really able to take part in the adult only activities (riding, biking, hiking etc) because our kids are under 12 and excluded from joining in (which is wise, but not the best). But we'd rather spend time with our children than apart from them. Santa visited on Xmas eve and that was superb. He was hilarious and the children all got gifts and told Xmas related jokes (some of which were indeed, funny).
Overall, we loved the atmosphere. Everyone working there was super helpful and friendly and down to earth. The food is actually amazing, all the time - including the Wednesday night cook-out food, which was super tasty. That night there was live entertainment, a talented Western singer / guitarist and the whole event was a delight - bonfires dotted around between family tables and still people to help clean up after you.
Check out was a muddle and we were accidentally overcharged $1000 - but it was corrected. I would say that for city people used to slick hotels, this is a different experience, but a great one. We will definitely return, but perhaps when our children are a little older due to the separation issues inherent in the program.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, private and with views. Some are much closer to the dining room / activiti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew_F_TVGR, Manager at Tanque Verde Ranch, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thanks for visiting us at the ranch! We're glad your family had fun over the holiday! We're glad you felt what we hope our guests always feel - that staying at the ranch is stepping a bit out of reality. We're pleased you enjoyed the food and the Cowboy BBQ Cookout with live music, and all the activities you were able to take part in. The kids program is a hugely popular part of the ranch experience, and we appreciate your comments so that we can keep finding ways for making it, and the ranch, better in all ways. We hope you come back out to visit us at the ranch. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morehead City, NC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I planned this trip googling tennis/horseback riding in AZ and was not disappointed. Booked two rooms. Loved the riding, tennis, mtn biking, hiking, watercolor workshop, mineral/gem presentation.bird watching and more. Always busy. Food was delicious. No TV in rooms...so what! Get outside and enjoy! Tennis pro was rude when I asked too many questions about his credentials, but saw I was miffed and warmed up nicely. Male wranglers were a bit surly...but they are cowboys...it was comical! Only reason I'm not giving 5 stars is due to reservation problems very similar to another reviewer's experience. Leigh Ann offered upgrades and a comp but still didn't have my reservation straight at check in, even though I had a very specific email to/from her spelling it all out. Ask for Juan, get it all in writing, and you will have a very fun vacation! I'd give it a 4 l/2 rating because it was better than good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew_F_TVGR, Manager at Tanque Verde Ranch, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thanks for visiting us at the ranch, we're glad you had a great time! It's great to see you talk about the lee obvious activities, like the watercolor, the mieral and gems, and bird watching, because it's so easy to just think about all the riding folks do here. We're glad you got the chance to do so much, and we'd love to see you back at the ranch again. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

I loved this ranch. I enjoyed all of the activities from hiking to horseback riding, to biking, etc. They have it all. It's well organized and you can really stay busy all of the time with so many fun things to do. The food is really good, too. Great bar with some fun bartenders. I will be going back and bringing my sales team from work with me, too. PS - My horse, Tiny, was the best. I miss him! Smile!

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew_F_TVGR, Manager at Tanque Verde Ranch, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Tiny misses you too! We'd love for you to visit him again soon! We're also glad you had such a good time, and made it a fun, memorable, active vacation, taking advantage of everything the ranch has to offer. The food is awesome, and we're glad you enjoyed what Ben's team created during your visit. The Doghouse Saloon is a blast, and Lisa and Julianne love to make you their specialties. Just give us a call and we'll make arrangements for your sales team to have a great retreat or meeting here at the ranch. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tanque Verde Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanque Verde Ranch

Address: 14301 East Speedway Road, Tucson, AZ 85748
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#6 Family Hotel in Tucson
#17 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#18 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tanque Verde Ranch 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tanque Verde Ranch Resort was named "Best Dude Ranch in Arizona" by Dude Republic in 2012, as well as a "Top Ten Family Resort" by the Travel Channel since 2007, and a "Top Five Ranch" by Conde Nast in 2008. Tanque Verde Ranch is one of America’s old time cattle and guest ranches. Located on 60,000 acres of Tucson’s most breathtaking desert landscapes, nestled amongst the Rincon Mountains and adjacent to Saguaro National Park and Coronado National Forest. Established in 1868, the superb guest ranch is recognized as the last luxurious outpost of the old west providing guests with plush accommodations, unparalleled amenities and a vast array of exciting activities such as horseback riding, mountain biking, fishing and hiking. La Sonora Spa is the perfect place for a bit of quiet relaxation, and the kids will love all the supervised children's programs! Don't hesitate – getaway at one of the premier, all-inclusive dude ranches in the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Tanque Verde Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanque Verde Ranch Hotel Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tanque Verde Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.