We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tanque Verde Ranch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Tanque Verde Ranch to your Saves list
Tanque Verde Ranch
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14301 East Speedway Road, Tucson, AZ 85748   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Santa Monica, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Old world charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed with our small children over the holidays last month. The kids program has riding twice a day, which is really great, but otherwise their activities were lacking, it was more about killing time between rides to be honest, so we took them out early and would go to one of the pools (also lovely). It meant that for us, we weren't really able to take part in the adult only activities (riding, biking, hiking etc) because our kids are under 12 and excluded from joining in (which is wise, but not the best). But we'd rather spend time with our children than apart from them. Santa visited on Xmas eve and that was superb. He was hilarious and the children all got gifts and told Xmas related jokes (some of which were indeed, funny).
Overall, we loved the atmosphere. Everyone working there was super helpful and friendly and down to earth. The food is actually amazing, all the time - including the Wednesday night cook-out food, which was super tasty. That night there was live entertainment, a talented Western singer / guitarist and the whole event was a delight - bonfires dotted around between family tables and still people to help clean up after you.
Check out was a muddle and we were accidentally overcharged $1000 - but it was corrected. I would say that for city people used to slick hotels, this is a different experience, but a great one. We will definitely return, but perhaps when our children are a little older due to the separation issues inherent in the program.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, private and with views. Some are much closer to the dining room / activiti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew_F_TVGR, Manager at Tanque Verde Ranch, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thanks for visiting us at the ranch! We're glad your family had fun over the holiday! We're glad you felt what we hope our guests always feel - that staying at the ranch is stepping a bit out of reality. We're pleased you enjoyed the food and the Cowboy BBQ Cookout with live music, and all the activities you were able to take part in. The kids program is a hugely popular part of the ranch experience, and we appreciate your comments so that we can keep finding ways for making it, and the ranch, better in all ways. We hope you come back out to visit us at the ranch. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    56
    25
    11
    16
See reviews for
185
95
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Morehead City, NC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I planned this trip googling tennis/horseback riding in AZ and was not disappointed. Booked two rooms. Loved the riding, tennis, mtn biking, hiking, watercolor workshop, mineral/gem presentation.bird watching and more. Always busy. Food was delicious. No TV in rooms...so what! Get outside and enjoy! Tennis pro was rude when I asked too many questions about his credentials, but saw I was miffed and warmed up nicely. Male wranglers were a bit surly...but they are cowboys...it was comical! Only reason I'm not giving 5 stars is due to reservation problems very similar to another reviewer's experience. Leigh Ann offered upgrades and a comp but still didn't have my reservation straight at check in, even though I had a very specific email to/from her spelling it all out. Ask for Juan, get it all in writing, and you will have a very fun vacation! I'd give it a 4 l/2 rating because it was better than good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew_F_TVGR, Manager at Tanque Verde Ranch, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thanks for visiting us at the ranch, we're glad you had a great time! It's great to see you talk about the lee obvious activities, like the watercolor, the mieral and gems, and bird watching, because it's so easy to just think about all the riding folks do here. We're glad you got the chance to do so much, and we'd love to see you back at the ranch again. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

I loved this ranch. I enjoyed all of the activities from hiking to horseback riding, to biking, etc. They have it all. It's well organized and you can really stay busy all of the time with so many fun things to do. The food is really good, too. Great bar with some fun bartenders. I will be going back and bringing my sales team from work with me, too. PS - My horse, Tiny, was the best. I miss him! Smile!

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew_F_TVGR, Manager at Tanque Verde Ranch, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Tiny misses you too! We'd love for you to visit him again soon! We're also glad you had such a good time, and made it a fun, memorable, active vacation, taking advantage of everything the ranch has to offer. The food is awesome, and we're glad you enjoyed what Ben's team created during your visit. The Doghouse Saloon is a blast, and Lisa and Julianne love to make you their specialties. Just give us a call and we'll make arrangements for your sales team to have a great retreat or meeting here at the ranch. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We drove through Saguaro National Park and then went to the ranch as my local relatives had heard rave reviews of the buffet. We were all disappointed. The food was okay but just your basic buffet food. Nothing special at all. In fact, my husband even passed on eating as the buffet options did not appeal to him. Someone else in the party picked up the tab but I see in another review that the cost was $18. I feel bad now because it certainly was not worthy of $18. We were never even offered a refil of our drinks. I was floored at the conditions that the horses were kept in at the coral. I find it hard to believe that animal control officials allow that. We are from horse country in Texas and you would never find so many horses in such a confined space. I did notice on the way to the main dining room that there was a Kids Only dining room. I thought that was a great touch if you were staying there with kids. I also saw some employees with kids outside and the kids seemed to be having a blast. If you are a city dweller and want the dude ranch experience for your kids this would probably be a good choice. For somone local wanting a nice fancy buffet for a special experience, it is not worth the drive.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew_F_TVGR, Manager at Tanque Verde Ranch, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for visiting with us along the edge of the Saguaro National Park. We love it when folks come up for a visit, after either driving through, or doing some hiking nearby at the Douglas Springs Trailhead. I'm sorry, however that you were disappointed in your lunch. If you find yourself in Tucson, I hope you'll let me know personally, as we'd love for you to visit with us again. You're right - the dude ranch experience for guests is amazing, and the kids program is one of the family highlights, but there's just as much for adults, with mountain biking, hiking, fishing, and all the riding. Thanks for visiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

My wife and 3 year old daughter stayed in November for three nights. It was, in all respects, one of the best and most memorable short vacations we have taken. Starting from our arrival on Wednesday, checking into the wonderful spacious and western-themed room, and then heading to the magical and tasty barbecue in cottonwood grove, complete with three huge bonfires and live western music. The view from our room was sublime desert and mountain scenery. All of the staff were wonderful and polite. My daughter loved the horses and the staff were very accommodating in letting her around the animals in a safe and fun way, even though she was too young for the official kids club program. The variety of activities was very impressive, the restaurant food was great, and the saloon was throwback in time. We will definitely be back soon!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew_F_TVGR, Manager at Tanque Verde Ranch, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thanks for making the trip to visit us at the ranch. We're pleased you had a memorable family vacation, and it won't be long before your daughter can be an official buckaroo in the kid's program. We're glad you got a good feel for the ranch, and took in as many activities as you did, enjoying the cowboy BBQ at the Cottonwoods, complete with live music, and the fantastic food. I'm sure Lisa was a hoot for you in the Doghouse Saloon! Thanks for visiting, and we lood forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benson, Arizona
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I have never stayed at this ranch but have eaten there several times for their daily buffet...It's a wonderful place to take friends. We just had our red hat Christmas party there..My only complaint is the main entrees...The buffet is $18.00 which includes tax and gritutity...The salads and rolls, breads are wonderful, but the entrees need work, they are not appealing nor very tasty. You can fill up on the salads and desserts...The entrees were vegetable lasagna which was gooey, pork tenderloin not very good, chicken okay, fish okay, squash cut in large chunks not cooked enough...The atmosphere of the ranch is very appealing and we enjoy going there for our once a year party.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew_F_TVGR, Manager at Tanque Verde Ranch, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for your comments, and we love seeing your Red Hat group out at the ranch for lunch or Sunday Brunch. It's a great spot for a get-together, feeling like an outing, just on the edge of Tucson. We appreciate your comments, and plan to use them to make sure that all our ranch guests have a terrific meal, every time. We can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

My grandmother started a tradition where we would go just to eat lunch. It was always the same: great service and with a smile, wonderful food and my dad getting full from all the desserts! I highly recommend it for something different, fun and to feel as though you've traveled far, far away. Oh yeah, and for the desserts!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew_F_TVGR, Manager at Tanque Verde Ranch, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thanks for your comments! Ben and his culinary team work hard to make sure you have a terrific meal, and we're glad you've got a tradition of dining with us. It's also a different environment than the rest of Tucson, so while it's just on the east side of the city, it's like taking a vacation right here! We look forward to your next visit, and if you ever have family coming into town, we'd love to host them too! Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tanque Verde Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanque Verde Ranch

Address: 14301 East Speedway Road, Tucson, AZ 85748
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Tucson
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#35 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tanque Verde Ranch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tanque Verde Ranch Resort was named "Best Dude Ranch in Arizona" by Dude Republic in 2012, as well as a "Top Ten Family Resort" by the Travel Channel since 2007, and a "Top Five Ranch" by Conde Nast in 2008. Tanque Verde Ranch is one of America’s old time cattle and guest ranches. Located on 60,000 acres of Tucson’s most breathtaking desert landscapes, nestled amongst the Rincon Mountains and adjacent to Saguaro National Park and Coronado National Forest. Established in 1868, the superb guest ranch is recognized as the last luxurious outpost of the old west providing guests with plush accommodations, unparalleled amenities and a vast array of exciting activities such as horseback riding, mountain biking, fishing and hiking. La Sonora Spa is the perfect place for a bit of quiet relaxation, and the kids will love all the supervised children's programs! Don't hesitate – getaway at one of the premier, all-inclusive dude ranches in the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Tanque Verde Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanque Verde Ranch Hotel Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tanque Verde Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.