We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic place in all respects” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tanque Verde Ranch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Tanque Verde Ranch to your Saves list
Tanque Verde Ranch
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14301 East Speedway Road, Tucson, AZ 85748   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
72 Hour Sale!
Ranked #12 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Dacula, Georgia
1 review
“Absolutely fantastic place in all respects”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

My wife and I spent an absolutely marvelous four days at Tanque Verde over Memorial Weekend this year. We had never been before and simply found the place on the Internet. The physical beauty of this place was just stunning. The food was better than our last cruise. The staff made us feel part of the family. The horseback activities were extremely well managed and for novices and more advances there was something. The highlight for me was the Sunday morning ride in the hills followed by blueberry pancakes cooked by the owner. I loved every minute. We will be going back, next time with our young son. The families we met were having the greatest time. I cannot recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    55
    25
    11
    16
See reviews for
184
95
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

We don't have time to ride at home so a few days at the ranch allows us to be totally focused on horses. The staff work hard to see it that my kids and I ride fun and safe.
My kids like to lope and it is hard to find a place that you can do this. In addition to their great horses and staff, we all love the food and meeting people from all over the world.
It is truely a special place.

Room Tip: go when it is not crowded
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanqueVerde, General Manager at Tanque Verde Ranch, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
Thanks for your thoughts! We are very lucky to have a terrific team of employees, and the social atmosphere is unique, it is fun to watch guests get to know each other and become friends. Many of our guests were just at a big wedding in Chicago, they met here 20 years ago and now they all are friends and attend each other's special family events. It is an honor to be a part of something like that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

My girlfriends and I went to the ranch for our annual girls' trip. It was one of the best trips we've taken together! We had a great time riding horses, cattle penning, relaxing at the spa and enjoying the incredible food. The ranch is beautiful and the staff is exceptional. The employees went above and beyond to make our stay wonderful. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanqueVerde, General Manager at Tanque Verde Ranch, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
Thanks for your comments. Our mantra is that we "have something for everyone". Whether you like horses and team penning, fishing, tennis, mountain biking, nature programs, or just swimming at one of our pools, everyone can find something to enjoy here at Tanque Verde Ranch. That is why we love get togethers such as yours, there is plenty for everyone to do, and the experience you have creates memories that you can share forever. Thanks for coming to visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

Just completed my 5th trip to Tanque Verde. All I have to do is schedule my flight and tell them when to pick me up. Transportation to and from the ranch, lodging, meals, riding, lessons, pools, tennis, mountain biking, nature hikes are all included. You meet a great deal of international travellers- many also on repeat trips to the ranch. The horses are all gentle and well broken- great for the novice or the seasoned rider.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Riding, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

We only stayed for one night but got to visit with the local nature expert (at the nature center), go for a sunset horseback ride, enjoy AWESOME food prepared fresh on the grill, listen to live music (a man and his guitar), enjoy a fresh made Prickly Pear Margarita, and enjoy breakfast outdoors overlooking the ranch and all of Tucson. I wish we had stayed longer to relax by the pools!
The food was excellent! We had ribs that fell off the bone, chicken, fresh made biscuits with home-made honey or garlic butter, corn on the cob, salad, etc. For breakfast we had fresh made blueberry pancakes, scrambled eggs with green peppers, bacon, hashbrowns.
Our room was simple and small but we were only there to sleep. There are enough activities to keep you outside of you room.

Room Tip: There are room groups in various locations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

We just returned from yet another fun and memorable vacation to Tanque Verde Ranch. The setting is amazing and the programming can keep you busy from morning until night - riding, biking, tennis, hiking, fishing, evening lectures and cookouts.

For us the highlights are all the outdoor activities - the horseback riding and the biking especially. We are not riders the rest of the year, but enjoy the trail rides and the lessons and simply watching the horses in the corral. The wranglers are friendly, good riding teachers, and lead entertaining trail rides (if you are lucky enough to ride near the front of the line, many of the wranglers can tell you about the flora and fauna of the dessert). Cattle penning is also a blast! While my husband enjoys the horses, he especially enjoys the challenge of mountain biking through the cactus (I haven't tried that yet).

Another nice aspect of the ranch is getting to know the other guests (if you want to). At dinner you have the option of sitting at a communal table or on your own. We enjoyed the communal table as it gave us a chance to meet some really interesting people from different parts of the country as well as Europe.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanqueVerde, General Manager at Tanque Verde Ranch, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
Thanks for your comments! Our mountain biking program has really grown over the years, quite a few guests come specifically for that now! And one of the most rewarding parts for everyone on our team is to see guests that come to the ranch at the same time each year, to re-connect with each other! The comraderie is fun to watch happen, and many guests stay in touch all year long after meeting here initially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

My family and I were searching for another great adventure after our first vacation last year, and we stumbled upon Tanque Verde. It exceeded our expectations. The staff were wonderful...the kids program was great...and the resort & riding was top notch. My wife and I needed extra hand holding when it came to trying to figure out how and if the kids program could dovetail into some of the other trail rides, but once we figured it out, we were amazed at how seamless it all was.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tanque Verde Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanque Verde Ranch

Address: 14301 East Speedway Road, Tucson, AZ 85748
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Tucson
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#36 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tanque Verde Ranch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tanque Verde Ranch Resort was named "Best Dude Ranch in Arizona" by Dude Republic in 2012, as well as a "Top Ten Family Resort" by the Travel Channel since 2007, and a "Top Five Ranch" by Conde Nast in 2008. Tanque Verde Ranch is one of America’s old time cattle and guest ranches. Located on 60,000 acres of Tucson’s most breathtaking desert landscapes, nestled amongst the Rincon Mountains and adjacent to Saguaro National Park and Coronado National Forest. Established in 1868, the superb guest ranch is recognized as the last luxurious outpost of the old west providing guests with plush accommodations, unparalleled amenities and a vast array of exciting activities such as horseback riding, mountain biking, fishing and hiking. La Sonora Spa is the perfect place for a bit of quiet relaxation, and the kids will love all the supervised children's programs! Don't hesitate – getaway at one of the premier, all-inclusive dude ranches in the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Tanque Verde Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanque Verde Ranch Hotel Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tanque Verde Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.