We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice resort, beautiful city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Starr Pass Golf Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Starr Pass Golf Suites to your Saves list
Starr Pass Golf Suites
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   3645 West Starr Pass Boulevard, Tucson, AZ 85745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% Off Discount
Ranked #66 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
GreenLeadersBronze level
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very nice resort, beautiful city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

The resort is well laid out. Large complex filled with plenty to do for adults and children. The hiking trails near the resort are guided by locals who are careful and skilled at explaining all the flora and fauna of the desert. The rooms are spacious and very clean. My only gripe was the cost of the main restaurant. Very pricey.

The city of Tucson has plenty to do but don't forget to see the San Xavier Mission and the Tucson Desert Museum.

Finally, for a real Tucson treat, drop the Mi Nidita restaurant. It is the best!! You'll note all of the celebrities and politicians who have also visited. Their pictures are on the wall and include Bill and Hilary Clinton, Judge Sandra Day O'Conner, Madeline Albright, Crosby-Stills and Nash, Kathy Griffin and the father and son Iglesias.

Have a fun desert trip!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel G, Front Office Manager at Starr Pass Golf Suites, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear brandikat23,

Thank you kindly for your lovely review of our property. The hiking trails are quite lovely I must agree. Did you have a chance to hike up to the hundred year old house? It's a more strenuous hike but well worth it.

I must agree with your review of Mi Nidito's as well, best chimichanga I've ever had and my second favorite mexican restaurant. I would suggest on your next trip trying El Charro, the original location is downtown by the YMCA. This is my favorite mexican restaurant as well, they claim to be the first mexican restaurant in the U.S. and to have created the Chimichanga.

We look forward to accommodating you on your next trip through Tucson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    67
    34
    11
    13
See reviews for
68
67
10
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

No WiFi available in the rooms/ units, if you expect use Ipad or internet on cell phones, just forget it. Yeah the rooms have an internet cable and this remind me about the 90`s, when WiFi was NOT an important part of communications. The reception area has WiFi, but since the units/ rooms are scattered around in the area, it`s a pain in butt to walk all the way down there to get a WiFi connection :-(

The hotel is a "Green hotel", which means no daily cleaning, no clean towels, no bed will be made, no trash will be empty. If you want any of this you are expected to pay extra!!!
We just came from a "Green" motel in Columbus, OH (Red Roof Inn), which had free WiFi, daily towel exchange, trash emptied every day, bed made daily. This was a MOTEL.

The pool had parasols which was was VERY difficult to open for guests, many tried but gave up. Staff was totaly bsent making the pool area ready for guests in the morning.

Room Tip: If you expect to stay connected by WiFi, stay away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel G, Front Office Manager at Starr Pass Golf Suites, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Mr. Wogstad,

I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us and am sorry to read that you did not enjoy yourself while you were with us.

We understand that in this day and age it is very frustrating to not have Wi Fi as an option in the rooms. I can assure you we are working to resolve this and hope to have each room upgraded with this feature as well as some other renovations within the next two years.

I did note that you had requests for towel exchange and dish exchange plus some other needed amenities that the staff took care of within our 15 minute standard. It is a big change for our guests' but do to our being a condo style property rather than a hotel/motel we service the units every four days.

I do hope that you will give us another chance as I see the reservation was under our green promotion and we fit right in that category of being a greener company.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Stayed here one night last fall and liked the location and property, so we returned for a week on a timeshare exchange. Today was our one time cleaning. We left early and as I like to do, I put everything away to make it easy for housekeeping. We returned hot and tired (Tucson in July) at 4pm to find our room had not been cleaned. There are no ice machines near the room, so you have to call the front desk and wait sometimes a half hour for an ice bucket. Thought we might like to use the driving range and they charge $25 to use it. (unheard of where we are from - San Diego). Management was pretty uncaring about any of this. As another review stated the studio has a small fridge and microwave, but you have to wash dishes with bath soap in the bathroom sink. Probably will not stay here again.

Room Tip: Maybe it is quieter far from the pool. We were awakened at 3am by yelling, but that should be long...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel G, Front Office Manager at Starr Pass Golf Suites, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Mr. Swift,

I'd like to thank you for your response as we take all of our guest concerns seriously and do our very best to correct any issues that may arise.

I understand your frustration with our resort being an older property and I admit that there are items and areas that are dated. I can tell you with 100% certainty that we will be experiencing a large renovation to update our property within the next couple years which does include wireless connections in each casita rather than being wired as they are currently.

I do apologize for the cleaning situation as I think there may have been a communication issue, I researched the issue and see that we did service your unit on your scheduled cleaning day at 4p. The scheduled clean was for a light service which includes making the beds, vacuuming, and replenishing the amenities in the unit.

I do hope that you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you, if you haven't stayed in our larger unit I suggest that for future reservations as that sounds like what you are looking for.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

You need to know that Studio rooms are single bedrooms w/out a kitchen. You do get a mini frig and mini microwave as well as a few eating utensils. But there is no kitchen sink, dish soap or linens.
This is a very old property which has been renovated, but they still have not added balconies or patios to the one bedroom units.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel G, Front Office Manager at Starr Pass Golf Suites, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
WildthymeAZ,

Thank you for sharing your experience and thoughts in regard to our property. I hope that even though you stayed in our room with a kitchenette rather than the full kitchen that you enjoyed yourself.
In regard to the one bedrooms I did want to clarify, not all of our one bedroom units are equipped with a balcony however there are a section of one bedrooms that do indeed have balconies. All of our other one bedrooms offer a patio area to sit outside and enjoy the fresh air.

I do hope to be able to accommodate you and yours on your next trip through Tucson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We exchanged our timeshare week through Interval for a one bedroom. We had a casita that faced west over one of the golf course fairways and into the hills. We really enjoyed our morning coffee with binoculars watching the birds and wildlife. It was too hot to enjoy the patio in the evening until after the sunset. The room was very clean and looked like it might have been recently updated and painted. Since we were here in the very hottest of the summer weather we waited until late afternoon to enjoy the beautiful pool. It was also nice to have a restaurant on the grounds and although we never ate there we did enjoy happy hour a couple of days. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. We needed a light fixed in the kitchen and it was taken care of immediately.

Room Tip: We were in 37A which faces west and has a beautiful view from the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel G, Front Office Manager at Starr Pass Golf Suites, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Judith,

I am so glad to hear that even in this heat you were able to enjoy yourself! It can be quite a shock for people who aren't used to the heat and visit us in the depths of summer.
Speaking of bird watching did you and your husband happen catch sight of the baby peregrin falcons that are nested next to the pool? They are truly something, hopefully we will see you next year and you can have a peak. The female peregrin visits us every Spring to nest.
Our team will be delighted to know that you enjoyed yourself and found the accommodations neat and tidy.
Thank you for your response, we look forward to your visit next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

I get the one bedroom suite while staying here. They are laid out as one story suites. The rooms are great! They are simply done in a sw theme. Its on the edge of the west side of town so there are great views and hiking available. We had javelina come right up on the back patio in the morning which was very cool. I just overall like this place and stay here occasionally when we want a staycation.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel G, Front Office Manager at Starr Pass Golf Suites, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Mevo81,

Thank you for sharing your experience with all of us. I am glad to know that even though you weren't leaving town you had yourself a nice vacation. We are quite fond of our soutwestern theme and I am glad to know you appreciated it as well, tells us we did well in decorating.

We can't wait to see you on your next staycation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

Being out at Starr Pass, the golf suites are a nice getaway in a quiet setting. The casitas a decently apportioned and have a comfortable setup. We had the two bedroom and it had plenty of room for three of us. We had a family of havalinas come by a couple times, lots of birds, and even a few deer grace our presence. The pool is nice and obviously the golf course is at your doorstep. The only reason for 3 stars was for the dated decor and encounters with other wildlife (6 legged), but hey, we were really out in the desert and you have to expect it. Good location for exploring southern Arizona, which we did. Not much to do on site unless it's swim or golf.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel G, Front Office Manager at Starr Pass Golf Suites, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you for your kind response ajdial,

I am glad to hear that the casitas and location were to your liking. I am a huge fan of the fact that we are just a slight distance out in the desert giving us that quiet and private location that can be so hard to find at times. I do understand that we are an older property and wear the age every so slightly.
We are looking to get up to modern standards here in the next couple years, we hope that you won't let the older decorum deter you from allowing us to accommodate you on your next trip to Tucson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Starr Pass Golf Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starr Pass Golf Suites

Address: 3645 West Starr Pass Boulevard, Tucson, AZ 85745
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Tucson
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Starr Pass Golf Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Starr Pass Golf Suites is a Southwest vacation jewel. At the heart of the resort is the celebrated Starr Pass Golf Course a 27-hole Arnold Palmer Signature Golf Facility. Its desert style layout and dramatic terrain challenges golfers of all skill levels. Starr Pass Golf Suites is also perfect for a family getaway, hiking, or those seeking to enjoy the culture and adventure of the old southwest. The magnificent views from your spacious casita include natural desert landscaping drenched in 350 days of sunshine per year. A 75-foot heated Olympic swimming pool, whirlpool and fitness center are just the beginnings of a full array of amenities. Come see all the Tucson foothills have to offer at this southwest getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Starr Pass Golf Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starr Pass Golf Hotel Tucson
Starr Pass Hotel
Starr Pass Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starr Pass Golf Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.