We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better than last time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Starr Pass Golf Suites

Save Saved
You added Starr Pass Golf Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Starr Pass Golf Suites
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   3645 West Starr Pass Boulevard, Tucson, AZ 85745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 127 hotels in Tucson
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Even better than last time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed here 4 years ago and enjoyed it so much that we came back with our children this time. We got the requested casita with a view towards the mountains and the golf course. It was spacious and quiet, and we saw all sorts of wonderful wildlife: javalinas, deer, rabbits and many colourful birds.
The bed and the sofa bed were both very comfortable, although it would be nice to have a "twin" option for the main bedroom. The rooms were very clean, and the kitchen was well stocked with everything we needed. The air conditioning was a bit loud, but efficient. There was even a washing machine and dryer in a little room next to the kitchen. The bathroom was very big, with a bathtub and a separate shower, and two basins.
We bought our own food and ate breakfast on our terrace every morning. It was lovely to listen to the birds. It would be nice to have 4 chairs for the terrace, and some cushions for them, instead of just the two chairs.
One evening we went down to the pool. It was clean and really big, and we were the only people using it at the time. The hot tub was very relaxing. The gym looked nice, but we didn't use it. Just above the hotel you can walk on trails through the desert, a good exercise in the morning. The golf course looks very good, too.
There are various supermarkets down the hill from the hotel, and also some restaurants. It's a short drive to the Arizona Sonora Desert Museum and Saguaro National Park West, and not far from downtown Tucson and the Pima Air and Space Museum.
We would love to stay in a two bedroom casita next time, but they seem to be quite difficult to book. I've never seen one available on hotels.com, and even on the Shell website they hardly ever come up for the dates I have checked.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    64
    27
    10
    12
See reviews for
64
63
10
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, PA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Location: The resort sits on the hillside just below Star Pass proper, which has several easy trails for casual hikers to explore. The location is noteworthy because it's far enough from the city to be quiet (and DARK!) but close enough for easy access to restaurants etc. Gates Pass and the Sonora Desert Museum are both just minutes away, and other hotspots like Madera Canyon, Pategonia State Park are within easy driving distance.

Property: The grounds and rooms are very clean, and the resort is very light-pollution conscious. Both indoor and outdoor lighting are minimal. Sitting in a dark desert just steps from your door and listening to the wildlife while enjoying the clear star-spattered Arizona night sky is something everyone needs to do at least once in life. The property is also right up against the desert; we got up just before dawn one morning and saw three coyotes trotting past on the golf course side. We also awoke to the song of a Cactus Wren that was nesting right outside the room every morning.

Room: We got the smaller "B" unit, since we mainly just use resorts for a "base of operations", so we didn't have most of the amenities that other reviewers are talking about. Keep that in mind when placing your reservation; all their rooms are NOT created equal. The B-sides don't include laundry facilities (and there are none on the property so you have to drive to the city) or kitchens, just a minifridge, microwave, coffee maker, and a few utensils. The beds were a pleasant surprise: Tempurpedics! They seemed small to me though. I'm not a small person; I'm used to my toes hanging over the edge no matter what, but not both feet past the ankle?

Staff/services: We got in late; Alex "the night guy" was very friendly and helpful. The lack of any sort of spa facilities or laundry facilities was somewhat surprising, as we had become accustomed to seeing them at other resorts. The internet service in-room was... GASP... free.

Overall, the place isn't perfect, but then again none of them are; We had a wonderful week there though and would recommend it without reservation.

Room Tip: Get a room at the top of the hill, such as #78, #79, or #80. The trailhead is just a few steps away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPGmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at Starr Pass Golf Suites, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our lovely resort. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit here at Starr Pass. We hope to have you return in the future. Happy travels from the Starr Pass Team!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Grove, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Starr Pass Resort at the beginning of Nov. 2012. We enjoyed the resort very much. We had a one bedroom suite with full kitchen facilities. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The view from our balcony was great but we thought that a coat of paint might be in order on the wood. Our only other suggestion would be to upgrade to wireless internet. We enjoyed the Tucson area so will most likely go back to the resort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hainesville, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We were recently in Tucson for a vacation and stayed at the Starr Pass Golf Suites. The drive was a little off the beaten path, but as we headed into the hills we were not disappointed. We rented a two bedroom for an entire week although it was just my wife and I for most of the nights. We had a view of the golf course along with plenty of ‘critters’ outside our room to take pictures of including cardinals, woodpeckers and havalinas. Our room was actually two adjoining rooms each with a full bath along with a full kitchen in the one room and a kitchenette in the second bedroom. The entire place was clean and well maintained. We were a little disappointed when we were told that we could only burn Duraflame logs in the fireplace, but when the desk offered to bring us once the fire was started we realized it sounded and looked like a normal log. Although the bathroom could use an update, it was very clean and everything functioned as it should. The washer/dryer in the room was also a very helpful item as we were able to do a couple of loads of laundry and were able to arrive home from vacation with very little dirty laundry. Along with the room, the property grounds were very clean and well maintained. My wife and I visited the pool only on the last day, but we wish we would have more frequently. The pool area was large, offered plenty of seating and areas in both the sun and shade in the afternoon. We did not eat at the restaurant or play golf, but there’s always next year. Oh yes, there is a very good chance we will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPGmanagement, General Manager at Starr Pass Golf Suites, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we always enjoy hearing from a senior reviewer with Trip Advisor!
I will pass along all of your kind words to all of the associates here at Starr Pass Golf Suites who work very hard to provide all of our guests with an exceptional stay they will never forget.
This type of recognition is what motivates us to continue to do the job we do.
We are delighted you enjoyed the area and all that nature has to offer here. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

We absolutely loved this place. There was a beautiful view from the window of the mountain. We enjoyed the hiking right outside. The room is set up with microwave, coffee maker, toaster, blender and fridge. There are dishes for two. That was a great benefit for us. The room was well appointed and modern. Everything, inside and out was clean. I'd stay here any time!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPGmanagement, General Manager at Starr Pass Golf Suites, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank your for taking the time to write a review.
We are all delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Happy Travels from the team at Starr Pass Golf Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This was our time at the Starr Pass Golf Resort in Tucson. The view from our patio was breath taking. Watching the Havalina's outside our door was a particular thrill. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. Our suite was tastefully decorated, bed comfortable and the kinchenette adequately furnished with cooking utensils. We had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms looking out at parking ramp
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPGmanagement, General Manager at Starr Pass Golf Suites, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Starr Pass Golf Suites and sharing your lovely experience.
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay, the location, and accommodations.
Please come join us again soon! We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you another time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had another great stay at the Starr Pass Golf Resort in Tucson. This is our favorite place to stay in the Tucson area! We had a nice view of Tucson from our deck and one evening we ate dinner on the deck and watched the sun set over Tucson. Our one bedroom suite was very nicely furnished and spacious. The suite was fully equipped with dishes, pots and pans, toaster, coffee maker, dishwasher, stove, microwave, refrigerator, etc. The suite was clean and very quiet. Also, the beds are unbelievably comfortable. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPGmanagement, General Manager at Starr Pass Golf Suites, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at Starr Pass Golf Suites to our future and repeat travelers!
This is such a lovely time of year to experience the natural wildlife, the desert in bloom soon, and eating outside while viewing the famous AZ sunsets.
Thank you for choosing to experience this with us at Starr Pass Golf Suites.

We are excited to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Starr Pass Golf Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starr Pass Golf Suites

Address: 3645 West Starr Pass Boulevard, Tucson, AZ 85745
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#29 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#43 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Starr Pass Golf Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Starr Pass Golf Suites is a Southwest vacation jewel. At the heart of the resort is the celebrated Starr Pass Golf Course a 27-hole Arnold Palmer Signature Golf Facility. Its desert style layout and dramatic terrain challenges golfers of all skill levels. Starr Pass Golf Suites is also perfect for a family getaway, hiking, or those seeking to enjoy the culture and adventure of the old southwest. The magnificent views from your spacious casita include natural desert landscaping drenched in 350 days of sunshine per year. A 75-foot heated Olympic swimming pool, whirlpool and fitness center are just the beginnings of a full array of amenities. Come see all the Tucson foothills have to offer at this southwest getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Starr Pass Golf Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starr Pass Golf Hotel Tucson
Starr Pass Hotel
Starr Pass Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starr Pass Golf Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.