We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Starr Pass Golf Suites

Save Saved
You added Starr Pass Golf Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Starr Pass Golf Suites
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   3645 West Starr Pass Boulevard, Tucson, AZ 85745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now & Save up to 25%
Ranked #48 of 127 hotels in Tucson
N. California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Another great visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had another great stay at the Starr Pass Golf Resort in Tucson. This is our favorite place to stay in the Tucson area! We had a nice view of Tucson from our deck and one evening we ate dinner on the deck and watched the sun set over Tucson. Our one bedroom suite was very nicely furnished and spacious. The suite was fully equipped with dishes, pots and pans, toaster, coffee maker, dishwasher, stove, microwave, refrigerator, etc. The suite was clean and very quiet. Also, the beds are unbelievably comfortable. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPGmanagement, General Manager at Starr Pass Golf Suites, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at Starr Pass Golf Suites to our future and repeat travelers!
This is such a lovely time of year to experience the natural wildlife, the desert in bloom soon, and eating outside while viewing the famous AZ sunsets.
Thank you for choosing to experience this with us at Starr Pass Golf Suites.

We are excited to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    63
    25
    10
    12
See reviews for
63
62
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Burr Ridge
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We were very pleased with our casita. We all enjoyed the wildlife right on our patio...we didn't have to go to the Desert Museum, it was in our backyard. The 2-bedroom/2-bath casita was very spacious and comfortable for our family of four. It was half the price of the JW Marriot, where we used to stay, without all the resort taxes and parking fees. The staff was very friendly and the grounds were very nice. We would definitely come back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPGmanagement, General Manager at Starr Pass Golf Suites, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review about your stay with us!
We are delighted to hear you had the pleasure of experiencing the natural wildlife that lives among us in the beautiful Starr Pass area.
We truly hope you return to stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Just a magical place, especially if you play golf. Don't expect luxury, go to the resort if you want that. This is regular digs for regular people. Bring some food cook for yourself and explore all that the Sonoran desert offers. There really is no place like Starr Pass.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPGmanagement, General Manager at Starr Pass Golf Suites, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us!
Glad you felt the place was as magical as we all do and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the property soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Show Low, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

WOW what a great place to stay! The casita we stayed in was wonderful. Very clean, everything you need even a washer / dryer, like home away from home. Loved the beautiful setting and the wildlife. Staff was very friendly and professional. The view was incredible from our patio with an amazing sunset. Truly looking forward to going back. Would highly recommend the Starr Pass Golf Suites.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPGmanagement, General Manager at Starr Pass Golf Suites, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! One of the greatest compliments we can strive for is being your “home away from home”.
We certainly hope we will have the privilege of welcoming you to the scenic Starr Pass Golf Suites, many more times!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We checked into a small hotel like room which was dark and cramped, with a window looking out at porta-potties. We were not happy (although we did hear a coyote just outside the window that night), so we asked to upgrade to the one bedroom suite. The staff were very accomodating and we moved the next day to the suite (for an additional nightly fee). It was great, with a fireplace, patio, and kitchen, and much more room. The setting is beautiful, and we had the beautiful city view. We actually had javalinas eating right outside our door at night. I could lie in bed and see saguaros. It was a great Tucson experience overall after we moved to the comfortable one bedroom suite. Would not book the cheaper hotel like rooms, although I guess there are some with patios.

Room Tip: The suites are much better than the hotel like rooms. You can ask for a desert or city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPGmanagement, General Manager at Starr Pass Golf Suites, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to experience such a traditional Tucson stay complete with Saguaro cactus and javalina!
We look forward to welcoming you again to the Scenic Starr Pass Golf Suites soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Canyon, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed here while I attended a conference at the Starr Pass Marriot (where the room rates were more than triple what we paid at the Golf Suites). It is next door to the Marriot and has a shuttle service that will take you to the resort. Our view at night was breathtaking of the city lights. The little casita was decorated in southwestern style and was clean and comortable. It had a fridge and microwave as well as plates and flatware so we could have breakfast and lunch in the room. The local attractions are close (we made it to the San Xavier Mission in 20 minutes) Just wish the stay had been for pleasure so we could have used the pool, tennis courts and many hiking trails into the beautiful desert. Would love to come back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPGmanagement, General Manager at Starr Pass Golf Suites, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us.
We are glad you discovered the hidden jewel of Starr Pass Golf Suites while on your business trip. We certainly do make an excellent alternative if you are here for a conference.
Happy to hear you were able to make some time for play and visit the Mission as it is one of our more famous attractions nearby. We hope you can return soon and stay for pleasure instead of business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed in a one-bedroom casita for a total of 11 nights in January, and really enjoyed it as a base for exploring the area. The casita was spacious for two people and adequately equipped. The tempurpedic bed was a treat. The staff was unfailingly friendly and helpful. The grounds are well maintained. We loved sitting on our little patio overlooking the golf course and access road to the Starr Pass trailhead, where we were able to see many birds, including roadrunners and cactus wrens, and wildlife including deer and javelinas. We could walk right out our door and access hiking trails. The pool was a nice big no frills pool great for swimming laps. We like the west side location for its quiet vibe and easy access to attractions of interest to us. Another plus is the proximity to the JW Marriott resort (10 min walk, 3 min drive, or hotel shuttle)--we especially like their free tequila toast at 5.30 every evening.
Only dings I would give this property are somewhat dated finishes and furnishings, and lack of wi-fi in the units (free wi-fi is available in the lobby, fitness center and by the pool, so it was really not much of a hardship).
We look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPGmanagement, General Manager at Starr Pass Golf Suites, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for your review and your many kind words! We are all delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay here, and hope you can return soon.
There are many other attractions that are close by that we are sure you would enjoy as well. Don’t forget the tequila toast is year round also!
Thank you again for taking time to post a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Starr Pass Golf Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starr Pass Golf Suites

Also Known As:
Starr Pass Golf Hotel Tucson
Starr Pass Golf Hotel
Starr Pass Hotel
Starr Pass Resort
Address: 3645 West Starr Pass Boulevard, Tucson, AZ 85745
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#35 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Starr Pass Golf Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Starr Pass Golf Suites is a Southwest vacation jewel. At the heart of the resort is the celebrated Starr Pass Golf Course a 27-hole Arnold Palmer Signature Golf Facility. Its desert style layout and dramatic terrain challenges golfers of all skill levels. Starr Pass Golf Suites is also perfect for a family getaway, hiking, or those seeking to enjoy the culture and adventure of the old southwest. The magnificent views from your spacious casita include natural desert landscaping drenched in 350 days of sunshine per year. A 75-foot heated Olympic swimming pool, whirlpool and fitness center are just the beginnings of a full array of amenities. Come see all the Tucson foothills have to offer at this southwest getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Starr Pass Golf Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starr Pass Golf Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.