We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Looking forward to going back"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Starr Pass Golf Suites

Save Saved
You added Starr Pass Golf Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Starr Pass Golf Suites
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   3645 West Starr Pass Boulevard, Tucson, AZ 85745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 127 hotels in Tucson
Show Low, Arizona
1 review
“"Looking forward to going back"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

WOW what a great place to stay! The casita we stayed in was wonderful. Very clean, everything you need even a washer / dryer, like home away from home. Loved the beautiful setting and the wildlife. Staff was very friendly and professional. The view was incredible from our patio with an amazing sunset. Truly looking forward to going back. Would highly recommend the Starr Pass Golf Suites.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPGmanagement, General Manager at Starr Pass Golf Suites, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! One of the greatest compliments we can strive for is being your “home away from home”.
We certainly hope we will have the privilege of welcoming you to the scenic Starr Pass Golf Suites, many more times!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    64
    27
    11
    12
See reviews for
64
64
10
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, PA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We checked into a small hotel like room which was dark and cramped, with a window looking out at porta-potties. We were not happy (although we did hear a coyote just outside the window that night), so we asked to upgrade to the one bedroom suite. The staff were very accomodating and we moved the next day to the suite (for an additional nightly fee). It was great, with a fireplace, patio, and kitchen, and much more room. The setting is beautiful, and we had the beautiful city view. We actually had javalinas eating right outside our door at night. I could lie in bed and see saguaros. It was a great Tucson experience overall after we moved to the comfortable one bedroom suite. Would not book the cheaper hotel like rooms, although I guess there are some with patios.

Room Tip: The suites are much better than the hotel like rooms. You can ask for a desert or city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPGmanagement, General Manager at Starr Pass Golf Suites, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to experience such a traditional Tucson stay complete with Saguaro cactus and javalina!
We look forward to welcoming you again to the Scenic Starr Pass Golf Suites soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Canyon, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed here while I attended a conference at the Starr Pass Marriot (where the room rates were more than triple what we paid at the Golf Suites). It is next door to the Marriot and has a shuttle service that will take you to the resort. Our view at night was breathtaking of the city lights. The little casita was decorated in southwestern style and was clean and comortable. It had a fridge and microwave as well as plates and flatware so we could have breakfast and lunch in the room. The local attractions are close (we made it to the San Xavier Mission in 20 minutes) Just wish the stay had been for pleasure so we could have used the pool, tennis courts and many hiking trails into the beautiful desert. Would love to come back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPGmanagement, General Manager at Starr Pass Golf Suites, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us.
We are glad you discovered the hidden jewel of Starr Pass Golf Suites while on your business trip. We certainly do make an excellent alternative if you are here for a conference.
Happy to hear you were able to make some time for play and visit the Mission as it is one of our more famous attractions nearby. We hope you can return soon and stay for pleasure instead of business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed in a one-bedroom casita for a total of 11 nights in January, and really enjoyed it as a base for exploring the area. The casita was spacious for two people and adequately equipped. The tempurpedic bed was a treat. The staff was unfailingly friendly and helpful. The grounds are well maintained. We loved sitting on our little patio overlooking the golf course and access road to the Starr Pass trailhead, where we were able to see many birds, including roadrunners and cactus wrens, and wildlife including deer and javelinas. We could walk right out our door and access hiking trails. The pool was a nice big no frills pool great for swimming laps. We like the west side location for its quiet vibe and easy access to attractions of interest to us. Another plus is the proximity to the JW Marriott resort (10 min walk, 3 min drive, or hotel shuttle)--we especially like their free tequila toast at 5.30 every evening.
Only dings I would give this property are somewhat dated finishes and furnishings, and lack of wi-fi in the units (free wi-fi is available in the lobby, fitness center and by the pool, so it was really not much of a hardship).
We look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPGmanagement, General Manager at Starr Pass Golf Suites, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for your review and your many kind words! We are all delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay here, and hope you can return soon.
There are many other attractions that are close by that we are sure you would enjoy as well. Don’t forget the tequila toast is year round also!
Thank you again for taking time to post a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We spent Christmas in a casita at Starr Pass. The "little house" was spacious for the two of us and the furnishings reflected the desert setting. Our bed was comfortable and it was very quiet.
We enjoyed seeing roadrunners and javelinas. We visited Saguaro National Forest and the Sonoran-Arizona museum. There were groceries available at the nearby Albertsons. We would like to come back and spend longer here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPGmanagement, General Manager at Starr Pass Golf Suites, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Delighted to hear you chose Starr Pass and the natural wildlife to spend your holidays with!
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield Park
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed two nights the weekend just before Christmas, in a "Studio Room".. which isn't as nice as the full "Casita." The desert setting was pleasant, and very accessible from downtown Tucson (just 10 minutes away by car.) The room was larger than most hotel rooms, but the spartan furnishings made it feel under-dressed. We couldn't open the microwave door without removing the coffee maker from the little "food nook." If you like Tempurpedic beds, this is the place. We even saw a javelina and a coyote from our car. A bit tired, but overall, a good experience.

Room Tip: Casitas feel more like a small studio apt... "studio rooms" feel like half-empty hotel roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPGmanagement, General Manager at Starr Pass Golf Suites, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review on your experience with us. We hope you stay with us again soon and perhaps reserve a full casita and have a front seat to the fabulous wildlife you experienced this last time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The location is wonderful for hiking and relaxing. The property is older but well kept. The hot tub did not work for our five day stay, very dissappointing! The rooms are large. Our two bedroom two bath unit was great for four adults. No wifi in rooms.

Room Tip: We faced the mountains, very nice. Patio was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Starr Pass Golf Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starr Pass Golf Suites

Address: 3645 West Starr Pass Boulevard, Tucson, AZ 85745
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#45 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Starr Pass Golf Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Starr Pass Golf Suites is a Southwest vacation jewel. At the heart of the resort is the celebrated Starr Pass Golf Course a 27-hole Arnold Palmer Signature Golf Facility. Its desert style layout and dramatic terrain challenges golfers of all skill levels. Starr Pass Golf Suites is also perfect for a family getaway, hiking, or those seeking to enjoy the culture and adventure of the old southwest. The magnificent views from your spacious casita include natural desert landscaping drenched in 350 days of sunshine per year. A 75-foot heated Olympic swimming pool, whirlpool and fitness center are just the beginnings of a full array of amenities. Come see all the Tucson foothills have to offer at this southwest getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Starr Pass Golf Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starr Pass Golf Hotel Tucson
Starr Pass Hotel
Starr Pass Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starr Pass Golf Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.