We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, helpful staff but in need of some updating.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Starr Pass Golf Suites

Save Saved
You added Starr Pass Golf Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Starr Pass Golf Suites
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   3645 West Starr Pass Boulevard, Tucson, AZ 85745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fall Sale - 30% Off
Ranked #59 of 127 Hotels in Tucson
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great location, helpful staff but in need of some updating.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here a week. We loved the location and the view. The staff were very pleasant and helpful except the front desk staff seemed to be a bit confused as to whether they had a room for us. The unit we received needed some updating. The sliding doors out to the patio were very difficult to use. The louvers on the windows/doors were either difficult to use or painted shut. The sounds between rooms carried so well you could understand what the other guests were saying and the alarm went off for an hour several days at 8:15am. . (Those in the next door "lockout" room.) There were no towel bars in our bathroom so we just hung our towels on the shower door, the tub, etc. Perhaps we just had a bad experience. We liked the location so well we might return in the future with the hope that other rooms might be less frustrating. The pool and unit were clean and the BBQ restaurant was excellent!

Room Tip: We enjoyed having the patio so we could sit outside and enjoy the weather and the view. Many quail a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPGmanagement, Front Office Manager at Starr Pass Golf Suites, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to give your honest feedback! We are excited to see that you enjoyed your overall stay. We would love to speak with you further about your experiences so we can learn more about what we can improve on. We certainly do want you to join us again, and would be delighted to welcome you back! I look forward to hearing from you. I can be reached at 520-670-0591. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    65
    30
    10
    13
See reviews for
66
65
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We travel the country and stay in many places but when searching, we always look for price, comfort, hospitality, must be quiet & peaceful, but have all the amenities so we can have fun. Not sure why we always passed over Tucson, but now.....we cannot wait to return AND Starr Pass Golf Suites will be our 1st choice when we return. May fav. was resting on deck and observing how bright/close the stars in the sky were every night.

Room Tip: Be sure to let them know what you like, do you want a night time view of the city sky lights? Close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPGmanagement, Front Office Manager at Starr Pass Golf Suites, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review!
We are happy you were able to enjoy the resort and the amazing views of the sky. We are nestled in the perfect spot for star gazing! We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the resort soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We love Starr Pass Golf Suites located in Tucson's southern hills, and have stayed there many times. The suites are uniquely appointed Southwest style. In the morning, we feed the quail with their black topnotches right outisde the patio door--they like whole grain bread bits and disdain crispy cereal. If you reserve a one bedroom apartment, there is a nice fireplace, dining table and chairs, and comfy chair and long sofa in the large living room. The fully appointed kitchen includes a dishwasher and a full size refrigerator. We appreciate the long counter for toiletries in the large bathroom instead of at inns where there is little space.

In the evening from the restaurant patio, we look forward to seeing the javelina grazing on the golf course and we sometimes see them crossing the roads. It's wonderful to enjoy the stately saguaro cactus which look like gesturing people, and the starry skies at night. The front desk and maintenance staff are welcoming, efficient and helpful. It's always hard to leave Starr Pass Golf Suites and we look forward to returning again and again.

Whenever we stay at Starr Pass, we take a day trip about 45 minutes south to Tubac which is a desert enclave of shops, art galleries and restaurants. Tubac is right off Highway 19 on the way to Nogales, Mexico which we do not visit because that city is not safe. In Tubac, my favorite boutique is Quilts Unlimited which features original, arty women's jackets and unique quilts. There are also art galleries as well as shops that offer elegant Southwest home furnishings, clothing and sourvenirs. The Chili Shop right in the middle of Tubac is a great place for ice cream, coffee, ristras and other Southwest souvenirs. Paloma, the large indoor/outdoor compound near the old church on the eastern outskirts of Tubac, offers the best prices and selection for Mexican pottery, home decorations and colorful clothing. Elvira's, our favorite Tubac restaurant serves up perfect Margaritas and Mexican dishes with flair in a memorably designed setting.

Tubac Presidio Historic State Park nearby is also worth a visit. A trip to Tubac would be incomplete without bringing home a tiny bag of spice from the very popular Santa Cruz Chili and Spice Shop on the west side of the old highway a few minutes south of Tubac in Tumacacori. Spices from all over the world come in tiny sealable plastic bags.

Also from Starr Pass, one can easily take day trips to Bisbee and Tombstone. If you go to Bisbee, call ahead and make a reservation at Queen Mine for the popular, fascinating underground copper mine rail tour where you'll be outfitted with yellow slickers and head lamps, and be sure to take sweaters or jackets. Don't miss Smithsonian affiliate Bisbee Mining and Historical Museum in the town square.

Tombstone is fun for all ages with its Boot Hill , fight at OK Corral, wood-planked sidewalks, museum, old opera house saloon, stores, cafes and saloons which serve food and drink. Have a wonderful time!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPGmanagement, Front Office Manager at Starr Pass Golf Suites, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us! We really enjoy reading our guests’ reviews and it is especially exciting to see a review posted by a Trip Advisor Top Contributor. We are all thrilled to read about the several things you take advantage of, both on and off property. We hope you come stay with us again soon, and I am sure potential guests will enjoy reading the list of recommendations for activities you provided. Thank you again for being our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Babylon, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed there during July 2012. The room was very clean. The staff attentive. The room had extras that many timeshares don't such as coffee for the first couple of days, sugar, creamer, salt and pepper, diswasher soap, shampoo, etc. We enjoyed the pool in the evening. One night we came back from the pool and heard noises. I thought it was a rattle snake. There were a couple of lights out on the path back to our room. We waited a minute and out of the darkness came 2 or 3 Javalenas. We ran back into the car. This was the front of the condos. It was a frightening experience. The backyard is literally the desert wilderness so I would not advise sitting out there at night. We had local relatives give us the same advice. Also, there was a low flying bat at night in the pool area that came a bit close. These were the only things that freaked me out a bit. Other than that, the stay was fabulous!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPGmanagement, Front Office Manager at Starr Pass Golf Suites, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you very much for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your overall stay with us and are sorry that the wildlife encounters were nerve wracking. Due to our beautiful location and our natural wild surroundings the javalina have become guests of ours as well. We do battle with the fact that people sometimes feed these wild animals causing their natural fear of humans to disappear. Our staff routinely monitors the property to try and ensure these animals are away from areas that are well traveled by people. Again, I am sorry this happened and that it was an unwanted experience during your stay. Thank you for sharing and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I just returned from a week long stay at the Starr Pass Golf Suites in Tucson. My husband and I vacationed with our single daughter and our married daughter and her family. In total there were 5 adults, 1 child and an infant. The set up of the property lends itself best to those staying at least a week and renting an entire "Casita." The Casita's consist of 2 bedrooms and have a large living room and full sized kitchen, along with a patio or balcony. One bedroom has a king sized bed and the other bedroom has 2 queen sized beds. The bedroom with the 2 beds can be rented on its own and therefore has a small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and pantry cabinet with some dishes. However, it is obvious that the Casitas were designed to rent as a whole and that is really the best use for them. Renting only the one bedroom cheats you out of a great experience and gives you less privacy (noise wise) if the other part of the Casita is rented.
My married daughter took the bedroom with the 2 beds so that her 4 year old could share the room and the resort provided a Pack and Play for the infant (free of charge). Since this unit can be rented stand alone it had its own outside entrance which they really liked. There was another door that opened up into the living room area (this door can only be unlocked by staff when the Casita is rented as a whole). Having the mini fridge and microwave allowed them to keep drinks and snacks close by so that they would not have to go to the kitchen every time my grandson wanted a drink. The living room had a very comfortable sofa bed which was used by my other daughter. The small appliances - coffee maker, blender, toaster and microwave were in great shape and the stove, refrigerator and dishwasher were very nice. Dishes, pots/pans, glassware, bowls, utensils, etc. were provided and of good quality. Complimentary coffee was provided and more was available by calling housekeeping. It is true that only one complimentary cleaning is provided, but how often do you wash your sheets/towels at home? The unit comes with a broom and dust pan for quick clean ups and also a stacked washer/dryer unit. The resort provides dishwashing liquid, scrub pad and dishwasher detergent and more is available upon request. If you absolutely have to have your Casita cleaned more than once, the fee is very affordable. The beds were Tempurpedics and extremely comfortable. Our unit had flat screens in both bedrooms and the living room. The best part of the Casita (I had a patio) was having Quail and Roadrunners come by on a regular basis. We also had the opportunity to see Coyotes.
Our AC was not working properly so I called the front desk; within 5 minutes the maintenance tech came by and took care of the issue immediately. Whenever we called for extra towels, etc... service was always prompt and courteous. We arrived after midnight so the front desk was closed but a number was posted for after hours service. When I called the number the service contacted the security guard who arrived in less than 10 minutes and took us to our Casita.
I have to say that everyone we met seemed to really enjoy their job and treated us great. The pool is very large and clean and the fitness room is larger than most hotels. We did not try the restaurant but it is supposed to have great food. The only hitch with this property is that they do not have WiFi. There is free internet connectivity, but it is hardwired, so if you have an iPad or other mobile device you do not have access to their "free" connection. However, there is a JW Marriott Resort a little higher up the mountain with a complimentary shuttle service. The shuttle will pick you up in front of the registration lobby and take you to the Marriott where there is complimentary WiFi, a Business area and several restaurants, including a Starbucks. The shuttle driver we had was fantastic - professional and jovial. As for the Golf - we do not golf - but the golf course is beautiful and every day of our stay there were plenty of folks taking advantage of it. AGAIN - recommend this for 4 - 6 people traveling together for at least one week, so that you can take advantage of an entire Casita and just relax.

Room Tip: Casitas with Patios are better than balconies if you want a chance to get up close and personal with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPGmanagement, Front Office Manager at Starr Pass Golf Suites, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you very much for your review!
We are happy you enjoyed your stay and were able to fully utilize the full 2 bedroom casita. Our staff at Starr Pass Golf Suites takes great pride in our service levels and we are thrilled to hear they surpassed your expectations. We appreciate the detailed review and hope to welcome you back to the scenic Starr Pass Golf Suites very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

the miniature bark scorpion I found in my bed. I visited during monsoon season, apparently, and the excessive moisture causes the desert creatures to seek dry ground...or dry linens. I stayed in a room with a patio that opened directly to the (beautiful) desert. In the hotel's defense, there was a list of critters to watch out for under the glass top of the nightstand, but it didn't quite compensate for my scorpion wake up call. The staff was very helpful. They moved me to a room with an elevated balcony and assured me it was sprayed down thoroughly. I had no further problems.

I'm actually sad that my trip was tarnished with that mishap; besides that, the room was very clean and comfortable, and the staff were very accommodating. My suggestion: SPRAY MORE IN MONSOON SEASON!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony, not a patio. It'll deter the scorpions and keep out the wild pigs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPGmanagement, Front Office Manager at Starr Pass Golf Suites, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you for your review and I do apologize you had to experience the desert life so thoroughly! I am glad the staff was able to accommodate you immediately and put you at ease. Thank you again for your feedback, we hope you come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

Watch out for the cheap weekly rates! It only comes with one weekly cleaning and towel change that they call complimentary. Also they offer a coffee pot in the room but only one complimentary coffee oh but not to worry they will sell you a small cup at the snack bar for 3 USD. Also check ahead of time and make sure they don't have a conference going on in the a Marriott cause they take over the bar and restaurant however you won't be aloud to use the Marriott's amenities. The staff at the front counter have gotten very good at apologizing for everything. Beware Military members who think they are offering you a deal! Read the reviews before booking.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPGmanagement, Front Office Manager at Starr Pass Golf Suites, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to write about your stay. As a timeshare company, we are affiliated with exchange companies that sell inventory for discounted weekly rates to our armed forces. These weekly rates do operate like the majority of timeshares including one complimentary cleaning. Please do not hesitate to call the front desk if you need additional amenities such as coffee, towels, soap etc. We are happy to replenish those items with in our 15 minute standard. I apologize it was not what you expected and tank you gain for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Starr Pass Golf Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starr Pass Golf Suites

Address: 3645 West Starr Pass Boulevard, Tucson, AZ 85745
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Tucson
#59 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Starr Pass Golf Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Starr Pass Golf Suites is a Southwest vacation jewel. At the heart of the resort is the celebrated Starr Pass Golf Course a 27-hole Arnold Palmer Signature Golf Facility. Its desert style layout and dramatic terrain challenges golfers of all skill levels. Starr Pass Golf Suites is also perfect for a family getaway, hiking, or those seeking to enjoy the culture and adventure of the old southwest. The magnificent views from your spacious casita include natural desert landscaping drenched in 350 days of sunshine per year. A 75-foot heated Olympic swimming pool, whirlpool and fitness center are just the beginnings of a full array of amenities. Come see all the Tucson foothills have to offer at this southwest getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Starr Pass Golf Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starr Pass Golf Hotel Tucson
Starr Pass Hotel
Starr Pass Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starr Pass Golf Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.