We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mindfulness plus peacefulness equals bliss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miraval Arizona Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Miraval Arizona Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Miraval Arizona Resort & Spa
5000 E. Via Estancia, Tucson, AZ 85739   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 127 hotels in Tucson
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Mindfulness plus peacefulness equals bliss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I have now been to Miraval eight times in two and a half years. It is hard to describe the feelings each stay evoke. There is the Equine Experience with Wyatt Webb. Sessions with Pamela Landcaster and her Shunyia Sound Ceremony and/or her Tibetan Chakra Balancing are true body awakenings. There is Tim Frank and his Spirit Flight or Samadi Healing ceremony. Lolita whose gentleness during a Chi Neil Tsang massage or Craniosacral therapy has produced deep meditative experiences. There is Anne Parker and her Mirror of Soul sessions. There are the Nurture Facials with Victoria or the 100 minutes Signature Relax massage (heaven just before going to sleep). There are the various outdoor adventures and challenges. Photography or art classes. There are just too many activities to mention. Even one visit to Miraval is a life altering experience.

Room Tip: If you're going for the first time, I'd recommend the 100s, 200s or 300s Casitas areas. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiravalGM, General Manager at Miraval Arizona Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hi there – I want to first thank you for your continued loyalty to Miraval. I am so glad that you are able to get so much out of your time here and it sounds as though you have been able to take advantage of some of our most unique experiences! Thank you for taking the time to write and I will look forward to welcoming you back to Miraval again soon!

Regards,
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    375
    75
    34
    25
    13
See reviews for
50
101
116
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Book this place.

I was so looking forward to my stay at this resort and given the accolades it has supposedly received, I had high expectations.  Unfortunately, I was pretty disappointed with the overall experience - especially given the exorbitant cost - more than $700 per night including the "fees".  Overall, it just felt like something was missing.  You're expecting everything to be off the charts in terms of amenities, service, food - and it's so not there.  Everything is about average.  

To name a few things - towels and paper goods are rough and cheap, 50 minute /$150 facial went less than 45 minutes, guest service could not answer basic questions about the classes offered  and knew literally nothing about any of my group's events, food portions at the restaurant were comically small, was told to " go to the locker room" before my first treatment without a tour, guidance  or any further explanation, the restaurant actually closes in the middle of the day, the locker room was totally unattended - with hair in the showers, old towels, etc with no one around at all, was told spin class attendance was limited so get there early - got there early only to find out that "cards" for the class were given out and I didn't have one.  Honestly, I was shocked at just how mediocre everything was.  

Suggestions- provide in room afternoon amenities like juice and fruit, have personal attendants assigned to each guest, improve the quality of overall service and attention to detail, have uniforms for all staff, increase resort credit amounts, have some kind of food service in the spa, don't screw people out of time on the WAY overpriced spa treatments.

Some pros- yoga classes with Alex were very good, food was tasty, the gift shop is cute,the property was clean, the servers in the restaurant are pleasant and attentive.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiravalGM, General Manager at Miraval Arizona Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Hi there,
I'm so sorry that you did not enjoy your time at Miraval. I would like to personally discuss your suggestions for improvement. Please contact my office directly if you would like to speak with me or another member of our Executive team. I do hope that we can talk.
Best regards,
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed 4 days on a girl's getaway weekend at Miraval. The facilities are very clean and beautiful. The staff is very accommodating and friendly. The no tipping policy is awesome. The food is healthy and delicious with all nutritional info on cards on the buffet. Lots of good options for food allergies. Beds are comfortable, the fitness classes are fun. We didn't do the challenges like jumping off a 35 ft pole because it was cold and windy, but maybe next time. I wouldn't pay for the "lectures" as they were not informative or helpful at all, but every spa service was well worth the price and the therapists were all fantastic. Try the Thai massage!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiravalGM, General Manager at Miraval Arizona Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hi there!- Thank you for writing such a kind review. I’m so glad that you were able to have a great Girls’ Getaway experience at Miraval and that you were able to enjoy the amazing Life in Balance Spa! I look forward to welcoming you back again next time!

Regards,
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Miraval is a wonderful place to decompress and escape to full relaxation. The setting is beautiful, with views of the mountain and interesting desert vegetation. The staff is very friendly and attentive. The food is AMAZING. Three fantastic meals per day, and an espresso/juice/smoothie bar. All food and nonalcoholic beverages are included. No need to tip. Wine is available. The accommodations and spa facilities are first rate. My only 2 complaint are that I would prefer to see in-room coffee, and would like to see the exercise facilities updated. They are definitely are not at the same level as the rest of the resort.

Exercise: I would prefer to see more exercise programs, but the ones I attended were excellent. Our (free) beginning mountain biking class was taught by 2 staff members. The first hour was dedicated to getting familiar to the bike and techniques in a parking lot environment while the second hour involved some simple courses through the desert. Very good. Unfortunately the classes become full quickly, and the intermediate class for the following day was already full, so I could not attend. I was also turned away from another exercise class because it was already full, even though the resort was only about 75% occupied. The personal trainer I worked with was very knowledgeable, and gave me handouts to reinforce my recommended workouts that I am able to continue at home. Very worthwhile. Unfortunately the exercise machines were not the most up-to-date, and the selection of machines could use improvement. It would be good if more machines had a TV attached.

There are daily lectures on health related topics including nutrition and exercise physiology that are well done by enthusiastic speaker. Most are free, and I recommend trying to attend at least one or two, if not more.

Spa: The management has put the Spa, accommodations, and food at the top of the list. Beautiful, spacious facilities. Most have views facing the mountains. Lots of pools and hot tubs. Of course, there are plenty of spa options available for purchase.

Accommodations: Our room was at least double the size of most hotel rooms, clean and up to date with beautiful view of the mountains, new TV, and comfortable bed.

The food was impeccable. Lunches included a varied buffet with shrimp and meat choices in addition to many vegetarian options. There was always a lunch "special" of usually fish, but sometimes chicken. Dinner always included beef, poultry, fish, and vegetarian options. The hardest part was deciding between the excellent options. This is a health oriented establishment, but they offer food for almost any culinary tastes. Top notch.

Overall: Miraval offers a relaxing, comfortable, clean experience with beautiful surroundings, friendly and excellent staff, and amazing food. Sign up for the free exercise classes 1-2 days in advance or risk getting shut out.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view. Also be aware that some rooms require walking up hills for several blocks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiravalGM, General Manager at Miraval Arizona Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hi Ben- Wow, thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review about your recent stay at Miraval! It sounds like you were able to experience some much-deserved time to decompress and relax. I’m so glad that you truly enjoyed eating at Miraval—I’m very proud of our culinary team here and I will pass along your compliments to them. Once again, thank you for your kind words and we hope to see you again on a future visit!

Regards,
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed elsewhere in Tucson, but wanted to spend the day at the spa. I chose Miraval. Overall the experience was very positive. Day guests can enjoy the facilities from 830a to 3p. In that time I scheduled two spa services and took two fitness classes. I thought the classes were excellent and the instructors were really passionate about what they were teaching. Lunch was very good - and healthy! The property is pretty and has the mountains as a gorgeous backdrop. Overall a good day and I would like to come back for a stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at Miraval villa's and this place is amazing. First is the view from everywhere on the property. Second the staff is incredible because this is a no tip facility so you get genuine niceness. The property is very well kept and the food is very healthy. There are so many things to do from exercise classes to speakers and of course the spa. I wish I had talked to someone who had been there before to recommend the best things to do the first time. We didn't do the equine experience and everyone said it was a must ( you don't ride the horse on this). We didn't learn this until the trip was over. We only went two nights and I would recommend at least 3 nights. The spa treatments are incredible from massage to facial and reflexology was the most relaxing! You can go alone, with girlfriends, mother/ daughter to couples. This is the ultimate place to decompress!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I visited Miraval the week of August 26, 2012. I was excited but also a bit nervous since the reviews were somewhat mixed. However, my experience was anything but mixed. I had an amazing time. Miraval is a slice of heaven right here on earth. It will appeal to most travelers since you can customize your experience to suit your specific tastes and interests. I did a little of everything including physical challenges like walking across a high wire and mountain biking, gym classes, lectures, and spa services. The instructors were pleasant and very patient, the guests were friendly and interesting, and the facilities were clean and super comfortable. In fact, my blanket was so fluffy that I couldn't see my TV screen from bed. I will say that after the first night I didn't turn on the TV again. One of the great things about Miraval is that if you really embrace the experience you will be successful in unplugging from the day-to-day activities of your regular life. However, be aware that they are serious about making sure that no texting or talking on cell phones happens in common areas (loved this.) My recommendations: 1- sign up for their emails so you can be kept up-to-date with special deals, 2- sign up in advance for high demand activities like the zip line and spa services, 3- bring comfortable clothes, no one dresses up, 4- take advantage of the free lectures and activities and try at least one thing new or off the wall, 5- eat - the food is fabulous and plentiful, so don't expect to lose any weight, and 6- have a great time.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great and are on the ground floor. Some are closer to the common areas than others...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Miraval Arizona Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miraval Arizona Resort & Spa

Address: 5000 E. Via Estancia, Tucson, AZ 85739
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#15 Business Hotel in Tucson
#20 Family Hotel in Tucson
#23 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the warm shade of the Santa Catalina Mountains in northern Tucson, on 400 acres of idyllic land, Miraval Resort & Spa is an award-winning luxury destination retreat dedicated to opening eyes, minds, and hearts. Personalized attention, sumptuous casita-style guest accommodations, and the Life in Balance Spa continuously help Miraval garner accolades from SpaFinder, Travel + Leisure, and Condé Nast Traveler.Miraval’s innovative Life in Balance Spa features unique, mind-body treatments such as Spirit Flight, Naga Thai, and Utopia. Outside of the spa, additional rejuvenating experiences such as healthful cuisine prepared by award-winning chefs, integrative wellness programs, fitness pursuits, and challenge activities are designed to physically and spiritually reconnect Miraval guests on the path to a life in balance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Miraval Arizona Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miraval Arizona Resort And Spa
Miraval Arizona Hotel Tucson
Miraval Arizona Tucson
Miraval Life In Balance Resort Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miraval Arizona Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.