We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Desert Solitude” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Tierra

Save Saved
You added Casa Tierra to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Tierra
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   11155 W. Calle Pima, Tucson, AZ 85743   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 52 Tucson B&B and Inns
NY's Finger Lakes
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Peaceful Desert Solitude”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

As many other reviews have stated, this place is just perfect for a relaxing stay in the desert. Right next to te national park and the desert museum, the location is just right for getting out and exploring the area.
Dave is a gracious host, serving up wonderful breakfasts and lots of good advise on what to do and where to go.
The rooms are beautiful. we spent each evening on the patio watching the moon rise above the mountains and drinking wine. What more could you ask for?

Room Tip: Each room has its own patio and faces the mountains so you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The location which is close to the park is outstanding for the setting which makes you feel you already int he park. Since it is on the unpaved road the views are outstanding. The attention to detail of his decorations and the inner courtyard offers a really quiet place to relax.
What makes this bed and breakfast even more unique are the masterful breakfasts which are definitely a cut above other bed and breakfasts in the Tucson area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Templeton, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We've been fortunate to stay in some great B&B's but Casa Tierra definitely surpasses them all. If you want an intimate Sonoran Desert experience and extrodinary attention to the details that make your stay special, this is the place for you! Dave is a wonderful and thoughtful host and the B&B is designed in the Spanish style complete with courtyard and birdfeeders. It's just a few miles from the the Arizona Sonoran Desert Museum and the Sonoran Desert National Monument. Tucson is just "over the pass" and Mexico is just down the road. Did I mention Dave's gourmet breakfasts? Thanks Dave, we'll be back!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 and it was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

It has been several years since we were there but Casa Tierra was a place that I can't forget. Each little room overlooks a gorgeous indoor, open-air courtyard. It is so peaceful and quiet during the day and night. We were late getting there and Dave had waited up for us just make sure that our check-in went smoothly. ]

Each morning Barb had made an amazing breakfast that consisted of two very different offerings. A sweet and savory meal that was among some of the best breakfasts I have ever had.

One of the best parts of this b&b is the telescope outside on the property. You certainly don't need one to take in the beauty of the open sky, but it was fun for us to try and use it and made for memories that I will always cherish. This place is definitely worth your time!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed in this place In 2008 and still remember it fondly (and are planning to get back there some time...) It's a great place to enjoy the Sonora desert, away from the urban crawl that seems to close the gap between Phoenix and Tucson a bit more each year... Dave is a great, non intrusive host, careful about the surroundings and very knowledgeable about Arizona. Makes you long for more of these B&B's in the West. Warmly recommended from Holland!

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We had a wonderful 2 night stay at Casa Tierra in March 2012. The B & B is close to the Desert Museum and Saguaro National Park. Our room was clean with a private patio including
outdoor fireplace. The grounds of the B & B are filled with many varieties of cactus, Our host, Dave Malmquist prepared great breakfasts each day. There is a common room with computer, tv and lots of reading material. Wifi worked well. We enjoyed a glass of wine on our patio each evening and a soak in the hot tub. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Our daughter and her fiance were married last weekend at Saguaro National Park, in a memorable sunset ceremony with Tucson's stunning mountains as a backdrop. Casa Tierra B&B, a few minutes away from the park's visitor center, could not have been better for our out-of-town family and friends. Dave Malmquist is a superb host who makes sure everything is wonderful, including three-course gourmet breakfasts worthy of a five-star restaurant.

Room Tip: The two-bedroom suite was perfect for us, two children and a grand-child
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Tierra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Tierra

Address: 11155 W. Calle Pima, Tucson, AZ 85743
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Tierra 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Casa Tierra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Tierra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.