We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful B&B in the Sonoran Desert” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Tierra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Tierra to your Saves list
Casa Tierra
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   11155 W. Calle Pima, Tucson, AZ 85743   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 52 Tucson B&B and Inns
Templeton, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Wonderful B&B in the Sonoran Desert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We've been fortunate to stay in some great B&B's but Casa Tierra definitely surpasses them all. If you want an intimate Sonoran Desert experience and extrodinary attention to the details that make your stay special, this is the place for you! Dave is a wonderful and thoughtful host and the B&B is designed in the Spanish style complete with courtyard and birdfeeders. It's just a few miles from the the Arizona Sonoran Desert Museum and the Sonoran Desert National Monument. Tucson is just "over the pass" and Mexico is just down the road. Did I mention Dave's gourmet breakfasts? Thanks Dave, we'll be back!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 and it was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

It has been several years since we were there but Casa Tierra was a place that I can't forget. Each little room overlooks a gorgeous indoor, open-air courtyard. It is so peaceful and quiet during the day and night. We were late getting there and Dave had waited up for us just make sure that our check-in went smoothly. ]

Each morning Barb had made an amazing breakfast that consisted of two very different offerings. A sweet and savory meal that was among some of the best breakfasts I have ever had.

One of the best parts of this b&b is the telescope outside on the property. You certainly don't need one to take in the beauty of the open sky, but it was fun for us to try and use it and made for memories that I will always cherish. This place is definitely worth your time!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed in this place In 2008 and still remember it fondly (and are planning to get back there some time...) It's a great place to enjoy the Sonora desert, away from the urban crawl that seems to close the gap between Phoenix and Tucson a bit more each year... Dave is a great, non intrusive host, careful about the surroundings and very knowledgeable about Arizona. Makes you long for more of these B&B's in the West. Warmly recommended from Holland!

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We had a wonderful 2 night stay at Casa Tierra in March 2012. The B & B is close to the Desert Museum and Saguaro National Park. Our room was clean with a private patio including
outdoor fireplace. The grounds of the B & B are filled with many varieties of cactus, Our host, Dave Malmquist prepared great breakfasts each day. There is a common room with computer, tv and lots of reading material. Wifi worked well. We enjoyed a glass of wine on our patio each evening and a soak in the hot tub. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Our daughter and her fiance were married last weekend at Saguaro National Park, in a memorable sunset ceremony with Tucson's stunning mountains as a backdrop. Casa Tierra B&B, a few minutes away from the park's visitor center, could not have been better for our out-of-town family and friends. Dave Malmquist is a superb host who makes sure everything is wonderful, including three-course gourmet breakfasts worthy of a five-star restaurant.

Room Tip: The two-bedroom suite was perfect for us, two children and a grand-child
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawyer, North Dakota
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Casa Tierra is a small unique B&B Inn west of Tucson AZ in the Sonoran desert at the base of the Tucson mountians. The Inn is an all natural adobe hacienda blending perfectly into its Sonoran desert surroundings. You believe you are all alone in the desert. The Inn is charming and rustic, reminicent of old Mexico. It has many beautiful arches and colorful ceramic tiles. It is hidden away from noise and traffic yet close to many interesting venues.The Arizona desert Museum is very close at hand. Casa Tierra is beautiful, clean, quiet, secure and offers first class comfort and personal attention to those fortunate few wishing to experience its serenity. Our Host and Inn Keeper presented us with unique vegetarian breakfasts each morning. Each of the three rooms and suite, opens into a large enclosed courtyard. We sat drinking freshly brewed rich coffee reading the morning paper, as Humming birds flew in to feast on nectar. When the sun sets the courtyard is softly lit with many candles and sounds of babbling water from the fountain. The atmosphere fills the senses. We sometimes sat in our own private ramada enjoying the small fire place. The desert experience was most memorable. Returning to the Inn each evening was as a welcome home comming. We had our privacy at all times. A great couples getaway.

Room Tip: Any of the three rooms or suite is an excellent choice. All are private. This small B&B Inn has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Everything about Casa Tierra was terrific. The rooms and central courtyard were both decorated beautifully. Our room wasn't large, but had a comfortable bed, a dresser, a few small tables, and a nice bar. The bathroom was small. Everyting was very clean and well kept. We had a covered patio with fireplace looking out to the awesome desert grounds. Catching an amazing sunset and sitting out at night with a bottle of wine was certainly one of the highlights of our trip. There's a telescope for some star viewing, and the stars are in abundance out in the desert at night. Dave was great. He made us feel welcome, helped us find restaurants in the area, and was a pleasure to talk to over breakfast. The breakfast...WAS DELICIOUS!!! A short drive to the west side of the park and Tuscon Studios, I highly recommend this place for anyone interested in the desert experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Tierra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Tierra

Address: 11155 W. Calle Pima, Tucson, AZ 85743
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Tierra 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa Tierra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Tierra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.