We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty cool!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pima Air & Space Museum

Pima Air & Space Museum
6000 East Valencia Road, Davis-Monthan Air Force Base, Tucson, AZ 85756
520-574-0462
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #4 of 176 attractions in Tucson
Type: Science Museums, Military Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Be amazed at one of the world's largest aircraft collections: including 2+ hangars of World War II planes, supersonic spyplanes, the world's smallest bi-plane, plus many other unique private, military and commercial air & spacecraft documenting the evolution of flight. Friendly docents augment your visit. Only Pima Air & Space offers the bus tour of the "Boneyard"/AMARG (M-F only, no holidays) plus offers its own tram tour of the museum's 80 acres of one-of-a kind planes daily (additional fees). You can actually touch "aviation history" including "Freedom One" (that flew the American 444-days-in-Iran hostages home), presidential crafts, planes that launched astronauts, delivered life-saving food/fuel, etc. and others with wingspans the length of a football field... Ogle helicopters, MiGs, an Oscar, a rare German buzz bomb, a moon rock and much more. 300 aircraft, 80 acres, 5 indoor air-cooled hangars. Just plane awesome!
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Pretty cool!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Went there with my brother who served in the Air Force several years ago. He gave me a lesson in airplanes & aircraft technology. It was love at first sight for him - we both found the museum very well put together, tons of unusual aircraft on display and growing all the time. Don't go if you're in a hurry - you will regret not spending several hours perusing the buildings, grounds and gift shop.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    859
    223
    43
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Round Rock
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Skip the tram tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Hour long tour on the non-air conditioned trams isn't worth it ($6/ea). Walk it if you must, but the best exhibits are inside the hangers.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great winter museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I am a local and go to this attraction about every four years. There are new and improved exhibits every time. They have added some great little trolley cars with pa system that they drive you around in for the tour. The guides will surprise you with personal information like I worked on that very fighter when it was in service. One year there was a tour guide that had actually worked on the blackbird spy plane, he gave an excellent presentation about the building and deployment of the blackbird with little known facts. Several Migs are displayed and the airplane that JFK used for his travels is also available for a walk through. The JFK plane is so low budget compared to today's air force one. A must see when in Tucson.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Prepare to stay all day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I was so unprepared for this museum experience! We didn't go until after lunch and the afternoon only was not enough time to truly enjoy the whole collection and displays. Luckily, I will be able to return for another adventure. I wish the website had given more information on the fact that the museum is HUGE and that they have a restaurant! Next time we'll go in the morning, take a rest for lunch and then continue. I am going to head straight the the Space building and read everything there. We didn't take the ride through the yard but I wish we had, so next time we will. It is too big to walk with limited time. The volunteers are great!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pima Air & Space”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is a must for any air plane enthusiast. There are air planes from every era. THere are many air planes from the 60's and 70's bringing back many of the Vietnam planes like the famous B-52.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pima Air & Space Museum also viewed

 

Been to Pima Air & Space Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pima Air & Space Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.