We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully restored Mission” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mission San Xavier del Bac

Mission San Xavier del Bac
1950 W. San Xavier Rd., Tucson, AZ 85746
520-294-2624
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Mission San Xavier del Bac like an insider
Top Rated
$150*
and up
Day trip to Tombstone Arizona and San Xavier...
Ranked #6 of 268 things to do in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in the 1700s, this recently restored white adobe church, representing a wonderful example of Spanish colonial architecture, is beautiful inside and out, with colorful frescoes, sculptures and carvings.
Tucson, AZ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautifully restored Mission”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I took out of town guests to the Mission. It had been many years since I visited the site. I was stunned at the beauty of the old church after the restoration work. ALso, a very helpful nun gave me some information about the church and I even stood in line to get a close look at St. Francis statue. Unfortunately I only saw the museum and video of the restoration of the church after I visited the church. When I tried to go back inside there was a Mass in progress. I was disappointed I was not able to see the church again looking for the details I learned in the video. So, I would higly recommend that a visit start with the museum and video about the restoration as it would enhance the visit to the church itself. The grounds are also interesting with all the different cactus.The gift shop had nice items at a fairly reasonable price.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    992
    381
    73
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“White Dove of the Desert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

As a native of Tucson approaching 60 years, I have visited San Xavier many times over the years. The mission has never ceased to inspire me both as a holy place and a beautiful structure.
The care which was taken to restore those parts of the mission that had deteriorated with time is astounding. You can feel the history in the walls and in the sanctuary.
There are few things more beautiful than San Xavier at sunset, especially after a summer monsoon rain.
A trip to San Xavier should be a must to any first time visit to Tucson.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Possibily the Top Site in town!?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Ansel Adams made this church famous in his BW photography! What more needs to be said?

We always take out-of-town friends for a short visit...and maybe have them try some Indian fried bread. Otherwise, we visit once a month to light a candle of thanks and/or remembrance.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“I never tire of this mission”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

My parents moved to Tucson in 1942 because my brother had lung problems. Soon after they arrived, my mother took both of my brothers to San Xavier, and were given a tour by a priest who gave my brother his best hopes for a recovery as well a history of the mission. I never tire of visiting San Xavier. Its architecture is remarkable. It is a beautiful place.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson Az
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Different Mission Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This mission is unlike the usual southwestern/California mission experience. The unique blend of Native American and Spanish Colonial architecture, art and artifacts located on native lands is spectacular. It is a working church, continually being restored using old methods. Well worth the short trip south of Tucson, even if you are not religious.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mission San Xavier del Bac also viewed

 

Been to Mission San Xavier del Bac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mission San Xavier del Bac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.