We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Mission” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mission San Xavier del Bac

Mission San Xavier del Bac
1950 W. San Xavier Rd., Tucson, AZ 85746
520-294-2624
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$150*
and up
Day trip to Tombstone Arizona and San Xavier...
Ranked #5 of 122 Attractions in Tucson
Type: Architectural Buildings, Religious Sites, Missions, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in the 1700s, this recently restored white adobe church, representing a wonderful example of Spanish colonial architecture, is beautiful inside and out, with colorful frescoes, sculptures and carvings.
Stevensville
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“The Mission”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Visited the mission and arrived in time for a docent guided tour. The history lecture greatly enhanced the experience and should be attended to get the most out of the visit.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    810
    308
    53
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, PA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful, historic mission”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

It was beautiful, peaceful, and free. I enjoyed just sitting in the church and looking at the ornate decorations. Too many noisy tourists were there.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Canyon, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Returning again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Having been raised in AZ and living in Tucson during college, I have been to the mission multiple times, once when a wedding was taking place! It is still an inspiring place to visit and the rennovations are returning to its past glory!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Indiana
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful 200 Year Old Spanish Mission”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

A beautiful and interesting part of southwestern Arizona history. This mission is located in what seems to be a very unlikely spot in the middle of the desert. Be sure to participate in the docent tour starting about every half hour or so...it's free and informative. This is something that any visitor should see. An easy drive from downtown Tucson.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Free excursion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We didn't have very much on our itinerary and found out about this in one of the local magazines in our hotel room. We happened to walk in as a docent was starting a tour in the church, so we joined in. No one asked us for a ticket or to pay a fee, so if there was one...oh, well. We did put a donation in the offering box.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mission San Xavier del Bac also viewed

 

Been to Mission San Xavier del Bac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mission San Xavier del Bac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.