We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place to go in Summer/Year Round” 5 of 5 stars
Review of International Wildlife Museum

International Wildlife Museum
4800 W. Gates Pass Rd., Tucson, AZ 85745
520-629-0100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 122 Attractions in Tucson
Type: Natural History Museums, Museums
Activities: Viewing foliage, Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Highlights the diversity of animals world wide. Explains the role of science-based wildlife management for sustainable-use conservation, with emphasis on the role of hunting in biologically responsible wildlife management. Animals are displayed both by taxonomic group and in realistic dioramas which highlight the habitats in which the animals live. The museum has many touchable specimens on display. Insects including butterflies, moths and beetles are featured, as well as mammals, birds and some reptiles.All exhibits are indoors and the facility is air-conditioned. Wildlife movies run hourly from 10 am until 4 pm.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Arizona
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Place to go in Summer/Year Round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This place is all indoors and fantastically air conditioned. The education for all ages is wonderful. They have done their documentation. Animals are presented in their natural settings so all ages can truly learn where they live and what the animal is like. They have mastodon, mammoth, & saber-tooth artifacts and other prehistoric items! You never find these items outside of a Smithsonian.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    34
    8
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“The southwest as it is”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I was so impressed with all the lifelike animals that were in display on their natural habitat. There is so much information that I thought very interesting and very informative to our out of state tourist and also to our local residents and especially to the children's education.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Loads of fun for the kids, but educational for adults as well. A real hands on experience. Personally we haven't been ther in some time, but we always recommend this place to visiting friends. All have enjoyed it, especially those with children.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
“Loved this place!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We've been stationed in Tucson for 3 years and I don't know how I have never heard of this place!! My son happened to go on a field trip for school and told me about and when I had family come to visit I thought it would be fun to check it out. Not only did the kids have a blast but the adults loved it too. I loved that you pretty much walk along a path through the museum so I didn't have to keep my 2 year old strapped in a stroller the whole time. It's fun to see animals at the zoo but this place really puts the size of giant animals into perspective. Where else can you stand face to face with a polar bear, lion , or walk under a giraffe? My daughter was a little scared of the nighttime desert scene but other than that the kids had a great time. It was cheap and got us out of the house when it was 113 degrees outside.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetumpka AL
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A great place to learn about wildlife and wildlife conservation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I can heartily recommend the International Wildlife Museum in Tucson. It is very educational as the various dioramas and displays show the animals' habitats as well.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed International Wildlife Museum also viewed

 

Been to International Wildlife Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage International Wildlife Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.