We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“natural setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum

Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum
2021 North Kinney Road, Tucson, AZ 85743
520 883 2702
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 177 attractions in Tucson
Type: Natural History Museums, Zoos, Gardens, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Specialty Museums, Museums
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Birdwatching, Viewing foliage
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This renowned combination zoo, natural history museum and botanical garden reflects the diverse flora and fauna of the Sonoran Desert, featuring wildlife like coyotes, bears and mountain lions in their natural settings and aviaries, one for hummingbirds and the other for varied desert birds.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Wyoming
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“natural setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

animals and botanicals in a natural setting, beautiful sculptures, nice walking paths, best thing we did in Tucson

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,651 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,203
    363
    69
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“a different world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We were lucky to have a beautiful sunny day to enjoy the desert without worrying about it being too hot, so saw the desert at its best, but comfortably. The raptor show was brilliant, and it was possible to see the birds regardless of others watching. The team were efficient and entertaining, providing good information about the birds and their habits, but some frightening truths about what mankind does to our environment. We saw a coyote, which was exciting. The gardens and views are breathtaking, and the information about all flora and fauna enlightening but easily accessible. I was impressed by the volunteers, their knowledge and enthusiasm added much to the visit. Just the most amazing day.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decorah, Iowa
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Where the desert comes alive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

This is an amazing attraction. It is a mixture of museum, zoo and botanical garden. They have a raptor free flight demonstration and desert animal encounters that are not to be missed. I have been here many times and I never tire of it. You could easily spend a whole day here and not cover it as well as you would like. They offer classes in drawing, photography,anthropology, geology, etc. There are wonderful books, Native American jewelry and pottery, and the usual t shirts and postcards in the gift shop.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good as ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

An excellent spot to spend some time particularly if you are from out-of-state and want to get a better understanding of desert vegetation and wildlife. Raptor/bird show well worth the price of admission.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Just keeps getting better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

I've been going to the Desert Museum since the 1980's, and was a member for several years. But sine moving from Tucson, we hadn't been there for a long, long time. What a pleasure to see all of the expanded exhibits and art installations. This is a must-see for any Tucson visitor! In warm weather, be sure to go in the morning when the animals are most active.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum also viewed

 

Been to Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum to your Saves list