We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum

Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum
2021 North Kinney Road, Tucson, AZ 85743
520 883 2702
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 268 things to do in Tucson
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Birdwatching, Viewing foliage
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This renowned combination zoo, natural history museum and botanical garden reflects the diverse flora and fauna of the Sonoran Desert, featuring wildlife like coyotes, bears and mountain lions in their natural settings and aviaries, one for hummingbirds and the other for varied desert birds.
Spring, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Loved it - great exhibits - great exercise - Go in the winter! Take your Camera and prepare to enjoy a beautiful time! Don't forget to stop at Gates pass on the way home to see the sunset!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,700 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,034
    540
    100
    16
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sedona, Arizona
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Yes, you must go there!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

All the hype is correct. You should not miss this place. Go early to really enjoy. The price is good and the grounds are beautiful. Be sure to see the Raptor show and enjoy beautiful raptor up close as they fly overhead. That may be the only time in your life you will be able to take a picture of a raptor as it sits in a tree close by you.

I also enjoyed looking at the many birds in the trees in the parking lot. Everyone who works here loves to talk about everything here so be sure to ask questions.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Better for kids but over priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Had fun here but not as much to see as I had hoped. If you have kids they would have fun but it is a little over priced in my opinion. $19.50 for adults, ask your hotel for a coupon though as ours had $2 off so that helped. $10 or $15 max is what I would say the museum is worth.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

There are already lots of reviews, but here is another one...it's wonderful. Make sure you have plenty of time. The road getting out there is a bit of a roller coaster, but well worth it. One bit of advice, get there early. We arrived when it opened and did not stand in line, but by the time we left , around 1pm, the line was very long.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“If you visit Tucson, you have to go here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I have been to Tucson many times and every time I visit the Desert Museum. It is fabulous and a definite must-do activity when visiting Tucson. There is so much to see and learn at the museum, so plan on at least four hours or more. While there are water fountains throughout the outdoor museum, I would bring some bottled water too. The Raptor Flight is very popular, so if you plan on seeing it, which I highly recommend, plan on getting to the area at least 10 minutes before the demonstration show starts to get a good spot in the middle. Enjoy!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum also viewed

 

Been to Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.