We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Lunch Buffet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saffron Indian Bistro

Saffron Indian Bistro
7607 North Oracle Road, Oracle Crossing Shopping Center, Tucson, AZ 85704
(520) 742-9100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #131 of 1,684 restaurants in Tucson
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
salem, or
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Tasty Lunch Buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

On a rainy, blustery day we decided to have our big meal at lunch. We had already checked out the $8.99 lunch buffet at Saffron's and decided to try it.

The buffet is not large yet attracts many diners. The restaurant was busy at 1:00 but many tables were available.

A waiter brought us water and we headed for the food. Strangely, the line entered the buffet backwards. First came the dessert selections consisting of tapioca pudding, some other pudding, a fruit salad and fixings for a green salad. There was also mint sauce.

Thereafter followed about ten entree/appetizer selections, including three which either included or consisted of chicken. The rest were vegetarian. Everything we had challenged our palate with unfamiliar flavors. None were too spicy. At the end (start?) of the buffet were two kinds of bread. On our earlier visit we had been told that daily selections will vary.

I am not a great fan of Indian food, but this was good stuff. For the cost it was also good value.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    48
    39
    13
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bisbee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This Bistro has a huge variety of tasty dishes. We always go in 8+ size groups and they really pump the food out, managing to keep us all happy. Try the appetizers! The Garlic Naan bread is deli.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niceplanet
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hip, urbane, with the stellar food to back it up.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Blown away by the fish malabar...delicate flavors perfectly balanced. So glad we ordered this!
Also had a perfectly respectable saag paneer.
Staff was attentive and pleasant.
Mod interior was actually pretty comfortable, plus fun to look at!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Indian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Modern interior, traditional Indian food. Naan is outstanding. There is a buffet available that is almost overwhelming it its' variety. Always a good meal, and usually have left-overs to take home.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Tasty Buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We love the lunch buffet which is about $9.95 per person. The food is varied from day to day so isn't the exact same with both meat and vegetarian choices as well as naan bread. Just the right amount of spice. Service could be slightly better with quicker drink refills and picking up emptied plates more quickly but overall it is worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Saffron Indian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saffron Indian Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.