We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food and experience!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Guero Canelo

El Guero Canelo
2480 N Oracle Rd, Tucson, AZ
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 1,681 Restaurants in Tucson
Price range: $2 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Vilseck, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Amazing food and experience!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My husband and I lived in Tucson for a while and El Guero Canelo was by far our favorite restaurant! They have amazing carne asada tacos, and my husband loves the sonoran dogs! The fresh salsa cannot be beat, and I cannot wait to get back there again!! YUM!!

In addition, we always loved the experience of the original restaurant on the south side of town. It was semi-outdoors, and there were fans set up to cool you off. There was usually a musician playing Mexican music, which made the restaurant that much more fun! So, I recommend checking out the original restaurant if you have never been there!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    38
    13
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clairton, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This place offers authentic Mexican fare for a very low price, with plenty of seating. It does get busy at the usual hours, and parking is tight, so get there before everyone else if you can. I recommend the Sonoran Dog with Horchata.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Unique experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Hailing from Kentucky, we definitely don't have any place like this one in our area. I expected a typical Mexican restaurant, but it was quite the opposite. No frills and slightly intimidating at first, but I would definitely recommend this place to anyone. Had the Sonoran dog, which is similar to the Chilean completo if you're familiar with that. All around an excellent experience!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Yummy Sonoran hotdog!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Not only is the food good, but it is a great place to take in the local flavor. The Sonoran hotdogs hit the spot when in the mood for good fast, junk food. Except they have fresher ingredients and the best soft, sweet buns. The place is clean and the staff friendly. Good place to take out- of -towners for a quick, fun lunch.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, the State
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Fast, good food, good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We had a great time figuring out what we wanted. Sorry, can't remember exactly what it was called, but all of us throughly enjoyed every bite of what we ordered. Enjoyed the extras you select yourself: radishes, various kinds of salsa, roasted vegetables, lime etc. Also the Mexican sodas. The atmosphere is serious: sit and eat - no frills.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Guero Canelo also viewed

 

Been to El Guero Canelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Guero Canelo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.