We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My sweet tooth was left unsatisfied” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Something Sweet Dessert Lounge - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Something Sweet Dessert Lounge
5319 E Speedway Blvd, Tucson, AZ 85712
520-881-7735
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $7
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Dessert, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
Tucson
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“My sweet tooth was left unsatisfied”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

My husband and I picked up 2 desserts here to enjoy at home. Carrot cake and pecan pie. We were both disappointed. The carrot cake was dry and bland and the pie was just unremarkable. We won't be going back.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    5
    1
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, AZ
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fun and different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Something sweet is a favorite place to have small meetings or just meet a friend for a light lunch or... for something sweet! The ambiance is homey and comfortable. Though there are two full walls of glass, lighting is mellow both day and night. A shelf full of games and books are a clear invitation to settle in for however long you like. My favorite is the Mexican cocoa with a shot of espresso, and I love trying a new dessert every time. In several years of visits I haven't run out of new options.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good desserts but decor is awful”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

As the name implies, this cafe specializes in desserts which are indeed varied and flavorful. It also offers a nice assortment of teas and hot chocolates. The decor though, is awful: plain, plain, and plain. It's depressing. I would think that a place designed to sell sweets would, well, look warm and friendly. Needless to say, I don't care for the place much. It's only redeeming feature is that it is open late.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“A waste of time and money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

I visited Something Sweet with a small group of friends after the symphony. The basics here are desserts and coffee or tea. It took at least half an hour to get our drinks, and when our desserts came I was amazed to discover that my peach cobbler was simply warmed peaches, no crust or crumbles. I took it to the counter and asked for something and the result was not much better. I won't be back!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, AZ
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“It's good but it's just dessert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

Imagine buying every available cake from a restaurant supply catalog, freezing them or chilling them, slicing them to order for patrons, and you have Something Sweet Dessert Lounge. Yeah the cakes are good, but I highly highly doubt that many of them are actually made on the premises. There are just way too many menu options for the staff there to be baking that many cakes to have on hand and ready for patrons over the course of a week. On one visit in the early evening, the restaurant was out of ice cream. Think about it, a dessert lounge out of ice cream, really? The blackberry cobbler was kind of a gelatinous mess with almost no crumb topping.

The big [...] brownie was awesome and huge, easily two servings if not more. The toffee chocolate cake and the chocolate cream pie were also very tasty.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Something Sweet Dessert Lounge also viewed

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Something Sweet Dessert Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.