We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ridiculously overpriced” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Oyster Bay Fish and Clam

Oyster Bay Fish and Clam
103 Pine Hollow Road, Oyster Bay, NY
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 30 restaurants in Oyster Bay
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
NYC
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Ridiculously overpriced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I have visited this place after my friend's recommendation. Turned out to be a real let down. Food is rather mediocre, but presented by a waiting staff as something special. Even "difficult to mess up" items on the menu were disappointing. For example: Who ever opens the oysters ($28 for 6) destroys them by discarding the liquid!!! (which contains most of the oyster taste!). Half of my steamers ($28) were in cracked shells and some were spoiled, indicating that who ever cooks them does not care much. The real shocker was soft shell crab for $36. Micheline ranked restaurants charge less for better quality. The fish was dried up and tasteless. The menu conveniently lists everything as market price. No surprise the place is empty on Sunday night.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

15% Recommend
    1
    1
    7
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oyster Bay, New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good place to eat and relax”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

While hunting for an apartment in oyster bay and getting hungry, we stopped into a nice little place right on route 106 for a bite to eat and I freely admit, I am a sucker for fresh oysters and clams. As a rule, whenever we try a new place, we always order many things from the appetizer menu to get a feel for the overall quality of food. We were encouraged to try the stuffed artichoke and we thoroughly enjoyed it as well as the calamari. We also tried the various fresh oysters nd clams that they served and loved them as well. We were told that this was the first winter that they decided to stay open and we found the place the kind that you could relax and let your hair down. The service was good and the drinks were as well. Overall, we enjoyed this place and will try it again soon

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Way overpriced ...for starters.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We had seen this place driving in and out of town numerous times and what looked like a decent level of customer flow so we decided to try it. The menu pricing is scandalous. Most of the entrees were leaning towards the $20+ range which is ridiculous for a rustic, run down looking (inside and out) fish chips type joint. The right side had some air conditioning; however the fixtures, seating, bar, and decor were all run down. They also don't take cards and have just recently installed an ATM by the outside seating area. We got the fish and chips which was as much of a letdown as everything else so at least they are consistent. The fish looked like some prepackaged low-grade flat looking stuff at the generic section of the grocery freezer.

The young college student that waited on us apparently didn't have enough to do as he felt obligated to engage us in conversation throughout the "meal."

Go elsewhere...anywhere elsewhere. For the money, you can't get screwed any worse.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hicksville, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Slightly disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Haven't been here in years, they added a patio, nice touch, but it's a little over priced for a clam bar on the road heading into Oyster Bay. The blackened grouper dinner was very good but they could use some sandwiches on the dinner menu as its s very casual atmosphere

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westhampton Beach, New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“What a RIP OFF”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

TERRIBLE FOOD.... PRICES.... A MAJOR RIP OFF!

$36.00 for soft shell crabs!!!!! At lunch time!!!!!

What a rip off. Stopped off at lunch time.... ordered off the "blackboard" ... 2 soft shell crabs sautéed with capers. It came with a small salad. I also ordered a Blue Moon on tap.

The BEST part of the lunch was the Blue Moon. The salad was ok but the crabs were swimming in oil and one crab was so small it must have been illegal.

When it came time to pay, she gave me the check and charged me $35.95 for the crabs plus the cost of the Blue Moon. Total... $46.00 for lunch!!!!

All in all, what a rip off!!!!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oyster Bay Fish and Clam also viewed

Oyster Bay, Long Island
 

Been to Oyster Bay Fish and Clam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oyster Bay Fish and Clam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.