We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waay East for West Quoddy--but definitely worth a look.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of West Quoddy Head Light

West Quoddy Head Light
South Lubec Road, off Route 189, Lubec, ME 04652
207-733-2180
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Lubec
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Waay East for West Quoddy--but definitely worth a look.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The alternating red-striped West Quoddy Lighthouse has one of the more colorful daymarks around and its setting, overlooking Sail Rock, supposedly THE easternmost chunk of the U.S., is lovely.
You can visit the lighthouse grounds (the tower itself is not open to the public), geographic marker, museum, and outbuldings in less than an hour, but the East Quoddy State Park that surrounds it offers a spectacular 4-mile coastal walk and picnic sites that afford great views of the rocky coast and the cliffs of Grand Manan, Canada, across the sound. There are also shorter woodland trail variations, including one over a rare tundra bog. The Park was uncrowded even in late July. It's supposed to have a spectacular sunrise, but the light was fog-shrouded during our lone dawn visit -- and the park itself isn't open until 9 AM in summer.
There's a small store/museum in the 1858 keeper's house, open from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. from Memorial Day through mid-October. The 20-30 minute drive from Lubec is good with great views of the Lubec Flats and Fundy Bay and there's parking at the top of the hill or by the picnic areas.

There is a fully accessible restroom at the lighthouse and privies elsewhere, but no food or water. The closest food places are in Lubec. The closest overnight accommodation is a lodge and cabins (reviewed separately) at the old Coast Guard station about five minutes away. The The Easternmost Souvenir Shop, just past the Coast Guard Station, is worth a detour, with clever locally-made items mixed in with the usual teeshirts and imported tchotchkes.

And why "West" Quoddy, if it's the easternmost lighthouse? Because the classic Canadian "East" Quoddy Light (reviewed separately) is a few miles north, at the opposite tip of Campobello Island.

If you have your passports, you can visit both lighthouses in an easy circular daytrip from either Lubec via the International Bridge or Eastport via the one-stop Deer Island ferry (especially if the Fundy tides are changing) have tea with Eleanor at the FDR Peace Park, lunch or dinner at the Family Fish Restaurant in Campobello and be back at your starting point before dark.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    43
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Winter Park, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very Picturesque!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is the prettiest lighthouse in Maine. It is great to just walk the beach and look for cool rocks. There are also a couple to good hiking trails. Put this on your must see when you are in the Lubec area.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Since you're there go see it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I originally had an idea that we would go at low tide and proceed over to the lighthouse...we rethought this after seeing all the slippery seaweed. I definitely don't see this as a place to take young children since the dropoff is so severe. You can see the lighthouse and get some pix in about 20-30 min. including the drive from Campobello Roosevelt site.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Happy we made the stop, even in the fog!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

While the view wasn't great on the day we went, the fog made our visit to West Quoddy Lighthouse more poignant, emphasizing the life saving importance of lighthouses to countless seafarers prior to modern navigation. As a bonus, the flashing beacon was prominent in the fog. Patient people in our party (not me) were able to catch the light in their photographs.

After the requisite photo op with the "Easternmost point in the U.S.A." sign, we took the trail past the horn along the cliff to a wooden staircase leading down to the beach. This rocky beach was fun to explore. Go left at the bottom of the staircase for pictures of the lighthouse rising off of the cliff. Many people have built cairn-like structures with the rocks on the beach and we enjoyed making one to add to the collection.

A previous reviewer noted it was hard to find. They've improved the signage. Coming from the south on 1, we took 189, to South Lubec Road, to West Quoddy Head road to the lighthouse and followed large red and white painted lighthouse signs.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Finally saw it without the fog.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Beautiful lighthouse! First trip without the fog and it was a beautiful sunrise. Still a great visit in fog or sun. Take some time to explore the walking trails and beach.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Quoddy Head Light also viewed

Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to West Quoddy Head Light? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Quoddy Head Light, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.