We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Betsy Ross Lodging

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lubec
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Betsy Ross Lodging
Save
You added Betsy Ross Lodging to your Saves list
61 Water Street, Lubec, ME 04652   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Lubec B&B and Inns
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Loved this gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

We drove and drove and ended up in Lubec. What a charming town. It was everything I had imagined it would be and when we arrived, the owner's husband met us with a cold beer and a glass of wine for myself. I have to say I would stay there again. It was not fancy but it was very cozy and I enjoyed chatting with the owners (who also run the Atlantic Cafe). It was a delightful place to visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    4
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
12
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, Maine
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

The Betsy Ross is small (four rooms), but everything is superb! (see photos). It is located in Lubec, ME which is the most eastern point in the USA. The town is like stepping back in time (no cellphones!!!) Great food and drink (don't miss Annabelle's). After being at Annabelle's for around 30 minutes, I felt that I had lived there all my life! "Maine--the way life should be" certainly applies to Lubec. It was so great that a friend and I went back the next week and he fell in love with the Betsy Ross and Lubec, too!

Room Tip: You can go to their website and view the rooms, each has different sleeping configurations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

There are not a lot of places to stay in Lubec. The Betsy Ross Inn was recently renovated, nicely decorated/designed and very clean. There is a refrigerator located in the lobby. It is stocked with beer, wine, soft drinks for your consumption, no charge, at the pour-your-own happy hour. The owners were very nice and very helpful.

When we arrived in Lubec we tried to phone the Betsy Ross. Because Lubec is located so close to Canada and the closest cell tower is located in Canada, our Verizon service warned us about getting “international charges”. Be careful. If your phone service doesn’t warn you, you may get nicked.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

this place has 2 rooms very recently done however it smelled like cigarettes really bad!! We had to open the windows and kept them open all night! Tiny Tiny town with really nothing to do except visit the lighthouse which is the most eastern point in the United States. We arrived before the tourist season (memorial weekend) and it is just dead! These people were very nice and provided us our accommodiations prior to the opening time but this was the most expensive night with no breakfast and only one place open for dinner.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katenick1999
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

The inn was charming - great view, comfortable, affordable, quiet! They accepted my pets, because they are small (and we are responsible pet owners), which I REALLY APPRECIATED! It is VERY HARD to find pet friendly accommodations in the Lubec area. I am forever grateful to the owners who were friendly and welcoming. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2008

I was on an idle drive north with no reservations and happened to get a room at the Betsy Ross. The room was wonderful, and really large. I got a wifi signal that leaked in from the library next door. Complimentary breakfast was a $4 credit at the restaurant across the street. The food there is very good. The choice of pastries is pretty impressive and the mocha I had was excellent, even if it was in a foam cup.

Lubec is a strange and charming place, with a few streets of buildings and what looks like a heartfelt restoration effort going on. There is a border crossing a few blocks away with one dutiful and weary agent, and West Quoddy lighthouse a short drive away. They like to throw out that whole "Easternmost" thing - Easternmost gift shop, Easternmost town, Easternmost restaurant... being Easternmost isn't the only thing Lubec is. It's a peaceful town with what looks to be new life to it.

  • Liked — Fun and quirky inn, big nice rooms
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2008

We stayed for 2 nights in Lubec and are so glad that we began our week-long Maine visit with this warm community and at such a cozy place for an inn. Bill (inn co-owner) was our first connection in Lubec and we instantly felt welcome. Our room overlooked the waterway between Lubec and Campobello Island. The craftsmanship that went in to constructing the inn is stunning - and the furniture and other appointments make this a darling place to stay. The beds are among the comfiest we've found in our travels. The townspeople are warm and we enjoyed our conversations during our stay - so much so that the Lubecers set the bar for the rest of our visit to Maine. If you're looking for a great place to stay with easy access to the parks and lighthouses and other neighboring towns in the area - this is THE place to stay.

  • Liked — Stunning building, comfortable beds, great location, inviting innkeepers
  • Disliked — Bar soap - too fragrant/chemical like (we brought our own as a back-up)
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Betsy Ross Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Betsy Ross Lodging

Address: 61 Water Street, Lubec, ME 04652
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Lubec
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lubec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at 61 Water St. in historic downtown Lubec Maine. Enjoy breathtaking views of the International Bridge, Campobello Island and the powerful currents of the Lubec Narrows, all from our wraparound deck. In room coffee & tea, complimentary drink upon arrival and free phone calls in US and canada. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Betsy Ross Lodging Hotel Lubec
Betsy Ross Lodging Lubec, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Betsy Ross Lodging, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.