We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food at a fair price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Uncle Kippy's

Uncle Kippy's
189 Country Rd, Lubec, ME 04652
207-733-2400
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 13 Restaurants in Lubec
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Stoneham, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
296 reviews 296 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
“Good food at a fair price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This is our third trip to Lubec and our third time going to Uncle Kippy's. We find the food to be tasty, plentiful, and not too expensive. I especially like that the food is not too salty, as it is in so many other restaurants. My husband loves their pies. If you want a delicious home cooked meal in clean and pleasant surroundings, Uncle Kippy's is for you. If you want fine cuisine in an upscale restaurant find another place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    28
    12
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hope, ME
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Good family restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

You know the food and service will be good when the locals are all there. We ate here 5 years ago and had a very good meal. And again with this visit our expectations were met.

A good extensive, but basic menu. Great staff, friendly and chatty even though they were busy. We were the last ones in and we were never rushed, even though the staff was bone-tired from a long weekend of customers.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Locals eat here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

locals eat here, so you know it's good food at a good price. We enjoyed the pan-seared haddock and the seafood stuffed haddock. Atmosphere is 1960's time capsule. Service was so-so.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Hit the spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

After a long day, lobster and beer at Uncle Kippy's was just the right thing. Unpretentious atmosphere with thoughtful staff.

Like fish? They have 15 different haddock dishes on the menu.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Lobster Stew”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Had the lobster stew and found it to be wonderful compared to others in area. Buttery, flavorful, and loaded with lobster! Made a point of going back specifically for Lobster Stew.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uncle Kippy's also viewed

Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Uncle Kippy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uncle Kippy's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.