We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food Great Service Great Price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Uncle Kippy's

Uncle Kippy's
189 Country Rd, Lubec, ME 04652
207-733-2400
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 13 restaurants in Lubec
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Farmington, Connecticut
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Food Great Service Great Price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

THAT says it all... It's not downtown where the high-rent district is, and you don't have water views - - BUT -- Food/Service/Price does it for me!

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    22
    22
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, MA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best pizza evah!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Seriously. Good. Pizza. I visited twice and had pizza both times, so I can't speak to the rest of their menu. But the full parking lot every night (both Lubeckers and visitors) suggest they must be doing something right. Very family-friendly, extensive selection of fried seafood and Italian fare, and not a lot of ambience, if you are looking for that sort of thing. But for casual, comfortably-priced fare and friendly service, they are very good at what they do.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 167 cities Reviews in 167 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
“Great service, average food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Have only eaten from the take-out window but always found the staff there to be very friendly and efficient. Food mainly fried but very tasty and there is the option of baked / mashed potato plus green beans / coleslaw. Fish / seafood all really tasty, fries only average.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Fantastic staff, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

If I were rating this place on the wait staff alone I would give it a 5. Oh my heavens, so friendly, so sweet. Really warm, friendly environment. No complaints there at all. I think the quality of the food is probably dependent on what you order. The onion rings are amazing...a must get for onion ring lovers. Delicate and crispy with a delicious sweet onion flavor. Ours were barely warm, so had they been hot, I cannot even imagine how amazing they would be. The fried haddock was delicious. Nicely cooked, very good. Great chicken salad. The fried shrimp and clams, hmmm, not so great. The shrimp tasted ok, but the coating was soggy, no crispiness at all. The clams were just gross. Spongy, fishy, and the batter was also soggy. The mashed potatoes needed some serious salt, but were edible after salting. Kids meals were nicely sized and cooked well.

So not a bad choice, just an average choice. But the staff...just in case anyone is reading, thank you for your hospitality!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fresh seafood - yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011 via mobile

My husband and I and another couple ate here on August 6, 2011. We enjoyed fresh sea scallops, delicate onion rings and lobster rolls. Everyone enjoyed it, and we will recommend it to friends visiting the area next month.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uncle Kippy's also viewed

Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Uncle Kippy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uncle Kippy's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.