We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eastland Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lubec
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eastland Motel
Save
You added Eastland Motel to your Saves list
385 County Road, Rte 189, Lubec, ME   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Lubec B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lubec, Maine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Glen and Heather, go above and beyond to make you stay comfortable! Where to hike, what to see, where to eat…..The Motel is Eco Friendly thus recycling, their soap products are wonderful, and don't forget the coffee! Great! Did I mention how comfy the bed was? Hight or low season, I will be back!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
downeasthiker, Owner at Eastland Motel, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Hey Margo!! We miss you tons and look forward to your return. Thanks for the kind review... we appreciated you equally as much. Hurry back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    63
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
48
119
29
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edwardsburg, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed at the Eastland Motel while we explored the Lubec, Maine area around the end of June 2013. The owners of the hotel could not have been nicer. The fresh baked muffins in the morning were something we looked forward to each day we were there. The hotel provided a great stepping off point to the many attractions in this area, including the West Quoddy Lighthouse, Campobello Island and of course downtown Lubec with the great eateries available. The were some renovations happening while we were there, but our room was quiet, clean and comfortable. We hope to get back to this area of Maine in the future. We liked that it felt unhurried and that the big crowds seemed to be in Bar Harbor, two hours away! The only problem with our trip was that it had to end.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
downeasthiker, Owner at Eastland Motel, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thanks for posting that wonderful photo of West Quoddy! We agree with you, Lubec is relaxed, quaint and friendly. We fell in love with the area too and are thrilled to now be permanent visitors! We hope you get the chance to return...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, HI
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I was a little apprehensive about staying at a little motel in the middle of no where. However, this little motel was a wonderful surprise. It is very basic, but if all you need is a super clean room and great service, this is the place for you. Bathroom was remodeled and everything is ultra clean. The bed was a little lumpy, but it was good enough. The free WiFi signal was strong, and since there is little US cell phone coverage, land line calls to anywhere in the US are free. The owner was super friendly, and seems to have done a ton of work to upgrade the entire property. There is coffee, fruit, yogurt and delicious fresh baked muffins in the office for breakfast. If we are ever in Lubec again, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Our family stopped in Lubec and we are pretty picky about cleanliness. This place was spotless. Sure there're signs of renovation but progress is always welcome! My sis and I are always looking for wifi and their connection was amazing. They're so considerate too about the phone situation. They provide phones to make calls since your phone would be charged international rates. They also have HBO and many amenities in the rooms. And as a bonus they gave us a discounted second room since there weren't many visitors at this time of year. The couple who own this Inn obviously care about their place and their patrons. If you ever find yourself up that way definitely book a night with them! Thanks for a great time!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed at the Eastland Motel for two nights in Sept so we could visit West Quoddy Head Light and Roosevelt Campobello International Park. Our room was spacious, comfortable, and clean. Having a refridge and microwave in the room was a bonus. The owners were friendly and great to talk to. This motel is being remodeled and shows pride of ownership. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland Center, Maine
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

A work in progress, and it is great! Sure there is evidence of renovations to the place but the rooms are squeaky clean, with comfy bed and pillows. Great wifi connection, and what a deal on the phone; free calls to anywhere in the US AND Canada! Friendly and welcoming hosts, and home made muffins for breakfast. We WILL be back!!l

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harborton
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We first discovered the Eastland 3 years ago, and have made it our home away from home at least twice a year ever since. Upon each vist we find more and more updates and renovations have been completed, this 1950's era motel. The rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated. The matresses and pillows are extra comfy. The owners, Heather and Glenn, make us feel like family. We are already looking forward to our next visit - hopefully over this Christmas and New Year holiday. In addition, the Eastland is close to charming downtown Lubec and Campebello Island.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the renovated rooms. Some of the rooms have not been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eastland Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastland Motel

Address: 385 County Road, Rte 189, Lubec, ME
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Lubec
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lubec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This newly renovated 20 unit motel is only minutes from the famous West Quoddy Head Lighthouse, the most eastern point in the Continental US. We are the area's only motel and provide immaculate, comfortable, and well equipped rooms. All rooms have a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. You will wake every morning to a free continental breakfast that includes a freshly baked batch of homemade muffins, gourmet coffee and a fresh bowl of fruit, juice and yogurt! We are less than three miles to the county's best restaurants, breathtaking beaches, quaint gift shops and Campobello Island's Roosevelt International Park! We are your eco-adventure tourism destination and can provide you with directions to the greatest hiking trails, whale watching tours, and puffin excursions!We are now open through the winter and provide snowshoes for those wishing to trek our beautiful trails! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Eastland Motel Lubec, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eastland Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.