We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love to be surprised by good local restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Water Street Tavern & Inn

Water Street Tavern & Inn
12 Water St, Lubec, ME 04652-1143
207-733-2477
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 13 Restaurants in Lubec
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Love to be surprised by good local restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We asked our innkeeper at Peacock House for a dinner recommendation and off we went, on foot, to this restaurant. Place is decorated in knotty pine and duck decoys with local artwork on the walls (for sale). Clean, good water views and good vibe. Waitress was very friendly and had a great sense of humor. All the food was very good. Prices very fair. We left very pleased and happy with the experience.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    60
    20
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, Maine
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Yes and no.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

I agree with the rest that the Maine berry salad was superb. The only bad thing was the barkeep. I requested Cutty Sark, J&B, or Dewars for my drink and he responded that they didn't carry "that" level of scotch, as if they beneath them, so I had a martini instead.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Incredible Ambiance... Great food"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Overlooking the harbor, The Water Street Tavern & Inn was not in Lubec the last time I visited and we stopped in for dinner to try it out on our Columbus Day Weekend getaway. What a lovely venue! The service was excellent and the food was wonderful. It's a great addition to what is becoming a great, out of the way tourist destination on the rustic coast of Maine.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good food, service left a lot to be desired.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Food was good but server needed a lot more training. She was young and absolutely had no clue how to wait a table. Almost as if she had never eaten in a restaurant herself. Took forever to get menus.
Served the salads with the meal. Biscuits were frozen inside. Funny thing was, waitress really wanted to get it right. Tried to be very friendly. The meal was definately comical and kept us entertained.
It's hard to rate the dining experience when service is so important when eating out. The food, however was very tastey. I had ribs and friends had seafood.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha's Vineyard
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Superb food! Best Clam Chowder of my life! Maine Bery Salad? Fuggedaboutit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Ate here on a slow Friday afternoon. Cozy water view table, excellent service, and the food?! Omg, The Maine Berry Salad? Best sald I've ever had, period. The clam chowder? Ditto. I'm from New England, have had 5,000 bowls of clam chowder in my life; never better. 'Nuff said. Run, don't walk. I'm tempted to drive there tonight for dinner, and it's 200 miles from where I live...

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Water Street Tavern & Inn also viewed

Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Water Street Tavern & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Water Street Tavern & Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.