We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best blueberry pie... EVER!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Water Street Tavern & Inn

Water Street Tavern & Inn
12 Water St, Lubec, ME 04652-1143
207-733-2477
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 13 Restaurants in Lubec
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Oradell, New Jersey
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Best blueberry pie... EVER!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

My honey and I wandered down from the top of the hill looking for dinner. We heard a live band, and it drew us to Water Street Tavern. The kitchen was closing, but they seated us anyway, and didn't scrimp on the service.

The staff is great, they were very attentive. Our meals were fresh and good. As we all know (or should know), it's not a meal without dessert. My blueberry pie was so good, I may drive the 7 hours north for another piece.

They could benefit from having one of the local Maine craftsmen, of which I hear there are many, come up with some innovative way to create a screen door that fits the hole people walk in and out of. The bird-sized mosquitoes thought I was <i>their</i> dessert, and feasted on my exposed skin.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    60
    20
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
derwood, md
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Food was only OK, People working there were Great!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

My spouse and I ate here recently on the last night of our week long Maine seafood eating and driving tour. The restaurant overlooks the water. The food that we ordered was "OK", my spouses salmon was a little "fishy" tasting, my scallops were missing something (I kept salting them). The service and friendliness of the people working there, however, was outstanding. The owner brought us a free appetisor (clams in a red hot sausage sauce) which was also only "OK" (but free). The clams were sandy, but again they were free.

I'd probably eat here again, moreso because of the nice people working there, rather than the food. Two young sisters working there were from Lithuania and very pleasant to talk to.

I think the owner needs to take a hard look at the staff in the kitchen preparing the food.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frostburg, Maryland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great food - family friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

Ate here on our last day in Lubec. The stuffed Quahogs were delicious. The restaurant was very accommodating to my 4 month old twins, even when one of them continued to fuss. We were thankful to be able to eat a meal out and the service was great.

  • Visited July 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Maine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

My wife and I took a day trip down east to see Quoddy Head and Lubec. After visiting the lighthouse went went into town for lunch with no set plans. We drove in on Main Street until we came to the end. And there was the Water Street Tavern. What a spot. The interior is light and airy, the service was very friendly and the Lobster Stew was really outstanding. Great for a chilly day.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Machias, Maine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Amazing Cuisine and Genuine Friendliness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

Not only is the food at the Water Street Tavern & Inn in Lubec, ME delicious, mouth-watering, absolutely yummy; the service is terrific (especially Greg-waiter exceptionale), but the owners are always on site and are genuinely friendly, caring, and interested in honest feedback. Anyone living in Washington County, Campobello, NB, or those of you lucky enough to visit Lubec - be sure to dine at the Water Street Tavern & Inn....you'll be happy (and satisfied) that you did.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Water Street Tavern & Inn also viewed

Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Water Street Tavern & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Water Street Tavern & Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.