We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy chowders!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Frank's Dockside

Frank's Dockside
Water Street, Lubec, ME
207-733-4484
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 13 Restaurants in Lubec
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: New, wonderful atmosphere, extensive menu, watch seals as you dine
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Yummy chowders!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We had lunch here and had great seafood and clam chowder, thick and chock full of fish and clams. Service was quick and very friendly. Kids enjoyed burgers and pulled pork sandwich. Italian menu looked tempting for a return for dinner. Great view of the narrows and the bridge to Campobello.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    48
    17
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Decatur IL (USA)
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good food, nice views!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

We arrived at our B&B at about 6p on a Sunday and at the advice of locals who've lived in Lubec for about 4 years dashed off to Frank's. They close at 7p (at least on Sunday night) and in fact the town gets REALLY quiet about that time.

My wife had the baked haddock and I had a special that included a grilled haddock sandwich, onion rings, and slaw. I also had a cup of their homemade clam chowder - "not from a can". The chowder wasn't as gravy-like as most I've had, but it was tasty.

Our server (Greg) did a fine job, too.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great little family restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

What a good find in Lubec ! Excellent food and very pretty setting, the deck is overlooking the famous bridge leading to Campobello Island in Canada. Friendly service and pleasant atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City, Florida
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Tasted like home cooking!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I were guided to Frank's by the owner of the B&B where we were staying. It was a great suggestion. We arrived very early for dinner after hiking most of the day without lunch. It was very sunny, and we sat outside. There were only two other tables filled at the time, all the better for us. Our waiter was very attentive and pleasant. We had a glass of wine, followed by a house salad with delicious raspberry vinaigrette and a basket of good bread. For dinner my husband enjoyed the tortellini with spinach, sun dried tomatoes, and mushrooms in a delightful sauce. I had chicken with mushrooms, not Marsala, unfortunately I do not recall the exact name of the dish. It was a large portion that was quite tasty, served with homemade mashed potatoes. We were too full for dessert, but we took a slice of the yummy plum cake back to our B & B. If we return to Lubec in our travels, we will revisit Frank's Dockside. We had good service, a pretty water view, and authentic, home cooked food.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great, Fresh Seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Each dish was perfectly prepared. Three of us had seafood and one had prime rib. The food came out at the same time and each one was delicious. The chef really knows what he is doing.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frank's Dockside also viewed

Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Frank's Dockside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frank's Dockside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.