We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way too expensive....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Frank's Dockside

Frank's Dockside
Water Street, Lubec, ME
207-733-4484
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 13 Restaurants in Lubec
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: New, wonderful atmosphere, extensive menu, watch seals as you dine
Farmington, Maine
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Way too expensive....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Market price for a lobster roll 19.95 when market price for a lobster was 3.50 a pound....I know these little restaurants have two months to make money, but I hate walking away feeling like i got ripped off....and the lobster roll was ummm nothing special. The deck was nice and the service fine....but a 50$ tab for 2 lobster rolls and 2 bud lites did not make us very happy.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    47
    17
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calais, Maine, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Watery clam chowder on the wharf?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Nice spot overlooking the bay. But the food wasOver priced very small portions (not that anyone needs a ton of food) a friend ordered the salad. It was smaller than a dinner salad but the worst was bad chowder. no taste for $9.00

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Great Dinner after Drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

After driving from Bangor Maine, we had a pleasant and relaxing dinner at Frank's Dockside. The atmosphere was casual and enjoyable. The food was well prepared and very tasty. We ate late but the restaurant was still busy.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High River, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A coastal gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The owners of this restaraunt can rank themselves right up there with the best.I had the seafood scampi, which was absoluteley perfect. I can eat with the best of them and am known for a healthy appetite. It was difficult to finish it all and did not have room for desert. Of course my wife had something different of which she loved, but I can't remember what it was, because I was too busy with my face facing the plate below me. They also had a good wine selection and the waitress was very good in a busy environment.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterville, Maine
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't let the outside keep you from going inside!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

From the looks of the building, you'd think all they sell are burgers, dogs and fries--WRONG. A small place but every inch of the building is put to use. We each had a haddock --Crab Stuffed and a Blackened, both were very good and a reasonable price. The menu was one that everyone could find something to eat, I also heard if you want something that wasn't on the menu, they would probably be able to make you something close to or exactly what you were looking for--except maybe for caviar but don't hole me to it! Very casual, friendly staff and way too may food choices, including dessert!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frank's Dockside also viewed

Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Frank's Dockside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frank's Dockside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.