We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very quaint inn right on the water!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at the Wharf

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lubec
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at the Wharf
Save
You added The Inn at the Wharf to your Saves list
69 Johnson St., Lubec, ME 04652   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% off Whale/Water Tour!
Ranked #3 of 8 Lubec B&B and Inns
Mass
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very quaint inn right on the water!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

Lubec, Me is a perfect resting point when traveling from Nova Scotia to Northeastern USA. It is a lovely fishing village and the In at the Wharf has incorporated the atmosphere by turning an old sardine factory into an Inn. The service at the Inn was wonderful. The owners were incredibly friendly and met us at the door and helped us with our luggage and gave us phone numbers to call if we had any problems. The suite we had was huge with two bedrooms and two baths, a living and kitchen dining area. Bu the best part was that it was right on the water. The Inn is still under construction which made access to the room a little challenging, and there were steep stairs to climb to access the parking from the room. The Inn was very unique in its layout and view from the front rooms. The building is an old factory so you have to be prepared for pipes on the ceiling and other older building anomalies. It was a treasure in the rough and a joy to stay there overnight.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    32
    13
    8
    2
See reviews for
25
97
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bainbridge Island, WA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

Lubec is the easternmost town in America and across the bridge from Canada's Campobello Island, site of FDRs summer home. It is a small Lobster fishing enclave. Upon our inquiry of the Border guard for a hotel recommendation, came the suggestion of the Inn at the Wharf, a wonderful adaptive reuse of a historic sardine processing factory on the water....wharf level still working. The owners have done a wonderful job of rehabilitation of the upper floor into a great place to stay. With other friendly guests, we enjoyed the large common area with full kitchen where we were provided with fresh ground coffee and baked rolls in the morning. Our room overlooking the sea was spacious with wonderfully comfy king bed and nice linens. It could not have been a better find....would stay again in a minute...! (Had the best lobster stew of our Maine stay in a great restaurant two blocks away)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

This little inn is precious. It's a converted sardine factory with about six or so large rooms, each with a great sitting area facing the water! It's reminiscent of finnish or european rooms with minimalist distractions, large comfy white beds and bright red rcoker/relaxers complete with foot rests. Although no tv, internet is free and easy to use. Who needs tv when the sea is outside your door? Prices are reasonable and coffee and muffins are served in the morning. After two weeks of vacationing in Maine, I would have to say The Inn on the Wharf provides the most delicious muffins in the state!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

Lubec is a charming town on the Bay of Fundy which separates the United States from Canada. The scenic drive there, long and winding is an experience in itself. so many picturesque towns along the way and each offers unique settings to explore and enjoy.

the Inn at the wharf is a remodeled fisherie and part of it actually still acts as a hub for the area"s lobster, crab and perriwinkle gatherers. Beautiful views delight, activities entertain and enchant, spend a wk-end or a week and fully breathe in the the surroundings on this very edge of this charming State

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

What a wondreful place. It is truely a working wharf on the waterfront and Victor wears so many hats yet, along withg Judy, makes his gues feel like one of the family. My wife and I stayed in the seaside apartment and the experience was that of a lifetime. You can do as much or as little as you want and there are so many side trips to go on. My wife and I were litterly standing in the middle of the street in downtown Lubec at 09:30 AM and not a car on the road! Later we saw three and said it must be rush hour. Victor steamed up some lobster on two nights and we got some red Maine taters at the IGA and salad and had a feast. Saw whales and harbor porpoise close up, bald eagles, seals and more!

If you want a layed back vaction away from the crazy folks and experience Maine as it should be, give Victor and Judy a call..if yuou go, they just may leave a light on for you.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
union mills in
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

We stayed two nights in Sept and can't say enough good things about this hotel and the town of Lubec. Our room was clean and had a wonderful view of the ocean. My husband was so interested in the working wharf and enjoyed watching the local boats come and go with their daily catch of lobster etc. The owners have so many ideas for this place we can't wait to go back and see the finished product.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompson, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

I waited to write this review until I had my reservations made at the Inn at the Wharf for summer 2011. Other reviewers have described the accommodations in detail. I would add only that the owners have designed the interior rooms, common room and apartments with Summerkeys in mind, an adult music "camp" or program which attracts amateur musicians from all over the United States in July and August. The unusual extra "spaces" at the Inn at the Wharf have been created so that musicians can practice in their rooms, apartments or in the common room in the case of the larger instruments like harps. In the apartment where we stayed, I enjoyed practicing with two other musicians. The space would have been comfortable even for a quartet. The owners are extremely helpful. We hosted a Maine blueberry supper in the common room. Victor boiled the lobsters for us while Judy reorganized the tables to seat 20 people.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at the Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at the Wharf

Address: 69 Johnson St., Lubec, ME 04652
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Lubec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lubec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an oceanfront lifestyle and lodging in an elegantly renovated 100 year old sardine factory in Lubec, Maine. The Inn at the Wharf offers stunning ocean views and its own wharf. Each suite includes a bedroom, bath and a large sitting area, and opens to a large gathering room, kitchen and deck. Each oceanfront apartment includes two bedrooms, two baths, den, kitchen, dining and living areas, each with its own deck and complete laundry facilities. Free indoor secure parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At The Wharf Hotel Lubec
The Inn At The Wharf Lubec, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at the Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.