We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Rooms, Friendly Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at the Wharf

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lubec
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at the Wharf
69 Johnson St., Lubec, ME 04652   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% off Whale/Water Tour!
Ranked #4 of 8 Lubec B&B and Inns
Freehold, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Rooms, Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

We stayed at the Inn for 4 nights while we were in town for a wedding. The location is great, the hotel and rooms have very clean lines without a lot of clutter. It is a bit of a unique setup, there is a community kitchen, and a large indoor sitting area leading to a small two tiered deck, which also leads directly out to the wharf. The hotel is right on the water, you could not ask for a better location, walking distance to Water Street (the main street in Lubec). The owners and two staff members were very friendly and accomodating (they were happy to give us some bait so my 3 young children could go fishing from the wharf) and accomodated our 1am arrival the first night. They have a continental brakfast available each morning (mainly fresh baked muffins etc). There is wireless internet, but no televisions in the building (this was fine with us, but some would probably like to know), there is also a community PC in the main area for guest use.

We would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    25
    10
    7
    1
See reviews for
23
79
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

while the rooms were clean and spacious, there was no maid service, no phone for emergencies, and no internet service. had I been told this at the time I made reservations, I would have chosen another location to stay. the view was good but other amnieties would have made our stay much more pleasurable. check the cell coverage as well. limmited service with ATT and Verizon on the peninsula.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

The Inn at the Wharf is a new property in an old sardine factory. The owners have just opened and we stayed there in September. I believe it will be open just for the summer season.

Pros: The setting is fantastic. The rooms are right on the water and the views to the northwest are lovely . Hearing the water lapping under our window was very nice.
The beds are extremely comfortable.

Cons: It boggles the mind to think what the owners could have done with this building. The rooms and common areas were awkward, sufficient hot water was unavailable, and not a great value for the price charged.

This said, the owners are clearly trying hard to please and they will probably add the usual creature comforts that are missing.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

The Inn at the Wharf is a converted sardine factory that has been totally redone into waterfront hotel rooms. It is managed and run by Judy & Victor Trafford from Naples, Florida-they are very nice.The common area includes a nice sized kitchen with two big tables and a nice outdoor patio table withchairs on the deck. The innkepers also manage a seafood holding tank and they will provide fresh seafood at discounted prices. The Inn keeper (Judy Trafford) is a Yoga instructor and holds classes on a daily basis in a big room. She has retreats in September for Yoga students that include yoga, whale watching, lighthouse seeing, vegetarian cooking and lots of fun!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2009

My best friend and I stayed at The Wharf this past August in the beautiful town of Lubec, Maine. The Inn keepers and their staff made us feel extremely welcome and at home. The Inn decor, rooms, location and layout left us wanting for nothing. The beds were exceptionally comfortable and the access to the common kitchen, deck and dinning room overlooking the bay and wharf added to its' magical seaside charm . (Especially the ability to make our own tea and store our own food in the refrigerator) The view of the bay and the wharf, the sound of the lobster boats and seagulls and the smell of the salty air streaming in through the windows created a tranquil sanctuary for us. In the morning we woke up to a fresh pot of coffee in the kitchen (common area) and classical music filtering through the main room. If we had been able to stay in this gorgeous Inn longer we would have and are already planning many more days there next summer! Great job with the renovations and we can't wait until we see you again!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

Some years back, Lubec, Maine might have been only a stopover for travelers enroute to New Brunswick, Canada and other places. Today, Lubec is a destination in and of itself. Located on a peninsula in Passamaquoddy Bay, Lubec is the easternmost town in the United States and lies adjacent to New Brunswick, Canada.

Lubec was once a thriving fishing community. Herring were caught in the Passamaquoddy waters, smoked, skinned and packed in wooden boxes for shipment to distant markets. Sardine canning factories lined the wharves along the waterfront. Almost two decades before our current recession, the economy bottomed out. Commercial herring fishing and canning operations ceased in 1991 owing to untenable regulations imposed by the Federal Food and Drug Administration.

Were it not for certain visionary individuals, Lubec might have become just another victim of hard economic times and remained rooted in decline. A summer music program for adults was established in 1992 by a visiting performing pianist and has continued to grow over the years attracting many students from near and far. The Summer Keys program has as a result infused Lubec‘s economy with much needed revenue.

There have been other visionaries also attracted to Lubec. Several years ago, Victor and Judy Trafford couple sold their business in Florida and visited Lubec on a subsequent pre-retirement vacation trip to “downeast” Maine. What they discovered in Lubec was a vacant, century-old building which up until fairly recent times had housed a sprawling sardine factory. The building, the former Factory B, was situated on a large wharf on Johnson Bay. They saw potential in this vacant building and, after deliberation, decided to purchase the facility and the wharf. Their objective was to transform this property into a waterfront business. And that they did.

This summer of 2009, THE WHARF [http://wharfrentals.com] commenced operations as an inn offering waterfront lodging and conference facilities, yoga classes, kayak and bike rentals, whale watching cruises, and ferry service to Eastport. The lodging accommodations at THE WHARF are spacious and contain attractively furnished apartments and suites. There are three apartments which contain two bedrooms and two baths as well as a living room, dining room, and den with a balcony overlooking the ocean. Each of the six suites has a private bath, open bedroom/sleeping area and expansive ocean views. The suites share a modern, well appointed common area kitchen (stove, microwave, refrigerator, double sinks with disposal, dish washer, well stocked cooking and eating utensils, china, and glassware). The commodious common area also contains several dining sections along with an upright piano available for the musically inclined.

To appreciate just how fully committed the Traffords have been to revitalizing this former sardine factory while preserving a sense of the past, one need only look at the architectural remnants which they retained in the gutting, demolition and rebuilding process. Massive cement and steel supports, remnants from 1908 when the original wooden structure was destroyed by fire and rebuilt, have been strengthened, integrated into, and harmonized with the present architectural décor. More projects at THE WHARF were in the works at the time of my visit. Future planning envisions a patio extending out beyond the footprint of the building towards the water with a small-scale restaurant operation in what is now the old boiler room. Architectural buffs and aficionados won’t be disappointed in their lodging surroundings at THE WHARF. Apartments and suites at The Wharf rent by the day and week. The innkeepers are most accommodating and will make every effort to provide lodging compatible with whatever one’s travel itinerary happens to be.

Besides providing wonderful lodging for the Downeast sojourner, THE WHARF is ideally located only a short walk from downtown Lubec and the many charming neighborhoods in the vicinity. Lubec proper is quite walkable despite a fair number of hilly streets. There are many examples of period architecture homes, several denominational places of worship, a variety of inns and bed and breakfasts, a bevy of restaurants (no fast-food chains), colorful storefronts, a modern public library, art galleries and gift shops, a variety of businesses, and scenic vistas galore. Visitors will quickly determine whether to walk or drive based on the location and nature of the activity.

Whether you are a first-time or repeat visitor to Lubec, vacationing in the area or attending the Summerkeys Music Program, you would be well advised to consider staying at THE WHARF (69 Johnson Street) on Johnson Bay. Give the innkeepers a call, if not this summer, then definitely next. The stayover at THE WHARF will be a memory infused with Downeast ambience.

Hoosiergadabout
Dates of Stay: July 18-25, 2009

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn at the Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at the Wharf

Address: 69 Johnson St., Lubec, ME 04652
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Lubec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lubec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an oceanfront lifestyle and lodging in an elegantly renovated 100 year old sardine factory in Lubec, Maine. The Inn at the Wharf offers stunning ocean views and its own wharf. Each suite includes a bedroom, bath and a large sitting area, and opens to a large gathering room, kitchen and deck. Each oceanfront apartment includes two bedrooms, two baths, den, kitchen, dining and living areas, each with its own deck and complete laundry facilities. Free indoor secure parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At The Wharf Hotel Lubec
The Inn At The Wharf Lubec, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at the Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Inn at the Wharf to your Saves list