We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moderate trails through pine, bog and beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quoddy Head State Park

Quoddy Head State Park
Lubec, ME
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in Lubec
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Spanning more than 481 acres, this scenic park offers hikers breathtaking trails that follow along rock cliffs rising 80 feet above the ocean.
Titusville
Top Contributor
1,232 reviews 1,232 reviews
841 attraction reviews
Reviews in 334 cities Reviews in 334 cities
992 helpful votes 992 helpful votes
“Moderate trails through pine, bog and beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We took the trail from the lighthouse (which is under renovation) and open for visitors one day in July and one in September. The trail is well marked and easy to follow. The bog sports all of the low level vegetation that can survive on water from the fog. The trail takes you through the pines and along the shore and to the rocky beach. We choose to sit and enjoy the view from the various benches instead of rushing through. Do bring water, bug spray and sun screen as this two mile trek takes longer than you may plan. Hint: check at the ranger station for the exact date in September when they take you to the top of the light. We hit by accident on July 26th.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    21
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Favorite destination in Lubec”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Wonderful trails. While the lighthouse is under construction it is a must-see. The bog walk is excellent and the trail to get there is breath taking. Standing on that trail to the bog is my absolute favorite spot in Maine.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Stunning views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We hiked the trails both last year and this year. The views are amazing. Trails are pretty easy. Lots of benches to sit and admire the views. Bring water and lunch or snakes as you won't want to stop as every bend has another stunning view.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddeford, Maine
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A gem on Maine's Downeast Coast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Fantastic state park. Anyone who loves lighthouses and hiking has to put this on their bucket list. The Coastal Trail opens up to many fantastic vistas, but I think the trail is longer than the 2 miles their map says - it took us a LONG time to finish. We were exhausted and a little disappointed to find it ended on a beach that was littered with trash that had washed ashore. The lighthouse is being renovated, so if you are dreaming of getting the perfect picture of this lighthouse, wait until they are done - it is going to look amazing when completed. Also, the area was battered by a tropical storm a couple of days ago. The trails took a beating, many trees fell and need to be cleared out . . . just an all around wicked good destination!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwin, New York
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Quintessential Maine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our time in Quoddy Head State Park.

There is ample parking. After paying the out of state fee we started out on the inland trail. The trail is well set out and easy to walk. It takes you through pine forests with the wonderful scent of balsam. Having just rained heavily the day before there several briskly flowing streams. We did not encounter much in the way of mud as some others had mentioned.

We then took the arctic bog trail which was fascinating. You suddenly enter a clearing which is the bog. All of the trees and shrubs are low-lying. There are cranberry and blueberry plants and most interesting of all are the pitcher plants and sundews which are carnivorous. There are several informative signs.

We then returned to the inland trail and then took the coastal trail. This requires navigating several wooden runged ladders and large steps, requiring both ascents and descents. The views from high ledge and of Gulliver's Hole are worth it with towering gabro cliffs meeting the sea. As someone else mentioned the experience is just like Acadia National Park but without the crowds. Grand Manan Island is off in the distance. There is also a stairway to a rock strewn beach which offers a partial view of West Quoddy Head Light.

It is worthwhile to bring along some water and while not absolutely necessary boots make navigating the coastal trail a bit easier. There were numerous photo opportunities.

A trip to the park is both peaceful and inspiring. It is also easy to visit West Quoddy Head Light and the most eastern point of the US which is immediately adjacent to the park.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quoddy Head State Park also viewed

Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Quoddy Head State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quoddy Head State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.