We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable scenery.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quoddy Head State Park

Quoddy Head State Park
Lubec, ME
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in Lubec
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Spanning more than 481 acres, this scenic park offers hikers breathtaking trails that follow along rock cliffs rising 80 feet above the ocean.
Butler, PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unbelievable scenery.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The trails are very easy to walk aside from maybe some muddy areas but the views they afford the person are well worth it! Some of the viewpoints are literally breathtaking...if you look down! Really really beautiful place to visit.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    21
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wet and wild.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

If you only have on chance to go here,check the tides to insure that you can "walk" on the sea floor with the sea weed. We were able to got here two times. Once in the rain and wind at low tide and once near high tide. At low tide, you are able to walk to the lighthouse. We did not go all the way due the rain and wind but it was great to see the furry of the storm on the area. So do not let weather stop your going. On your second trip it was a very clear day and we say Eagles and wales from the outlooks near by. Well worth the ride. I would recommend.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Truly the rocky coast of Maine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This state park is one of Maine's treasures that not enough folks visit. Here you can enjoy hiking a coastal trail, an inland trail, and a bog trail. The latter has informational signs that are very well done - with the help of these, now I can identify pitcher plants. The coastal trail has numerous overlooks for enjoying the coastal setting and taking photos, and well sited benches for relaxing. You'll be glad you spent the time to get here - and to the adjacent West Quoddy Light House.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“spectacular site”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is a great place to spend a few hours enjoying the great scenery and trails. Nothing else like it on the East Coast.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Just Wonderful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stopped here our last trip to Maine to do some hiking, and see the lighthouse, it was absolutely beautiful. The hiking trails were great, with some beautiful look off points. Some how my boyfriend and I seems to have entered the trails backwards because every single other person was coming from the other direction, however we went down some pretty steep hills so it was nice we didn't have to climb them instead. We did have a dog with us, and he loved the trails!! For the most part the trails are well marked and a great walk!! The scenery is beautiful, the lighthouse was nice and all around this place is definitely worth a stop! There is also a picnic area too which is very nice.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quoddy Head State Park also viewed

Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Quoddy Head State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quoddy Head State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.