We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect good service if hotel is booked” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Providence Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Providence Hotel to your Saves list
Omni Providence Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 West Exchange Street, Providence, RI 02903 (Formerly The Westin Providence)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Providence
Charlotte, United States
1 review
“Don't expect good service if hotel is booked”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The best part of this hotel is the location & excellent fitness facilities that are comparable to any top rated health club. I stayed at the hotel for the recent ACBL national Bridge Tournament. There were many customers who were given the wrong room type based on an apparent mis-communication from the ACBL tour company. While things understandably do happen what I found most disappointing was that 4 separate managers (including the director of operations) said that there was nothing the hotel was obligated to do to rectify the situation as the problem was not as a result of their actions. I think much like a customer who arrived at the hotel without baggage b/c the airlines lost it, I would hope the hotel would try and do something to help the customer's experience. The OMNI gave the impression that since they were sold out & in reality the guests were not likely to walk out and go elsewhere b/c of the Tournament they didn't need to try and provide any customer service other than to say that the room issue was not their fault. They could have offered credit vouchers or award points for future stays, restaurant certificates, or some other token of appreciation. For a hotel of the supposed caliber of OMNI a very disappointing experience

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    304
    116
    47
    19
See reviews for
239
162
31
444
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bow, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We were in town for a gymnastics meet. The staff was wonderful from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. The lobby was decorated with a beautiful Christmas tree. We stayed on the 25th floor and enjoyed a great view of the city especially at night. Our room was spacious, clean, and the beds were comfortable. You can't go wrong with the location. Hotel connects to the Providence Place mall which is three stories. Lots of stores and great restaurants. The convention center at the Omni was a great venue for the gymnastics meet. The valet service was great and we were able to leave our car after checkout to do some additional shopping at the mall. Can't wait to stay again next year.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We chose this hotel because it was the host hotel for a Gymnastic meet at the RI Convention Center. It was a very pleasant stay. Rooms were clean, comfortable, and what I had expected. Very convenient to Convention center and Mall. We never had a need to go outside as everything was connected indoors. Staff was outstanding, beds were comfortable and room was clean. The hair dryer supplied by hotel was awful - hardly blew air and ended up tripping 2 plugs. Had to get maintenance to fix.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uncasville, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Nice hotel with clean rooms and pleasant atmosphere. Convenient for conventions and Christmas shopping trips. express check in and check out made it all the more worth while. Merry Christams everyone!!!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Very convenient hotel as its attached to the RI convention center, has in house restaurants , bars and coffee places. You can come here for an event and don't have to leave the connected series of buildings at all. With that though comes a very busy place with (around this time of year) large holiday parties. To be expected to a certain extent but some people were a little out of control last night. Plenty of drinking in the common areas of the hotel and rowdy partying till 2-3 am. We had the pleasure of being in a room adjacent to wild partying till around that time.

Our room, while nice with a good view of an ice skating rink, had some shortcomings. An upholstered chair that was so stained and grimy looking it reminded me of my college dorm room. The beds had no fitted sheets, top sheets only on top of mattress pad. Those items caught me off guard as I have stayed at several Omni ' s and have always been impressed with the level of cleanliness.

Overall...would probably stay here again for an event at the convention center because it's so convenient but would be praying for a good night's sleep.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbury, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

While this is a pretty hotel and very convenient it is noisy! I don't mean a little bit - you can hear every door close, voice and elevator beep all night long! We were on the 24th floor with a very pretty view although it was somewhat obstructed by a decorative fence. Also the room temp was an issue. The room is kept at 73 which we found unpleasant for sleeping. There was no way to lower it. We were here for an event at the convention center and to do some shopping. The hotel is very convenient for both. It was nice to be able to cross the sky walk into the mall. The parking fee of $28 a day was also a bit steep. Parking is free at the Hilton. Also there are no options for a quick snack or nonalcoholic drink in the evening. We were told to walk to CVS - they are open until 11. Overall the room was clean but the wallpaper in the bathroom is a bit tired and there were a few stains on the comforters. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holden, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We were at the Omni for our company's Holiday Party and decided to spend the night. We used the online registration option which meant we were able to skip the check-in line when we arrived. Nice perk. All we had to do was pick up our envelope with our room key and head to our room. That alone saved us probably 10-15 minutes of waiting in line.

We had a nice king bedded room with great bathroom amenities ... particularly the backlit mirror. We just purchased one for your bathroom update and we can only hope it works as well as this one. One issue, however, was that our thermostat was turned off. There was no temperature display of any kind. We called the concierge and there were two engineering staff people in the room correcting the issue within 10 minutes. They also took care of another minor item. We also found the sound insulation to be a little lacking. At some time during the night we where rather loud conversations probably coming from the room next door. It was an adjoining room so the noise was probably louder then in an room that didn't have the connecting doors. SUGGESTION: ask for a non-adjoining room.

Our room package include the breakfast buffet and we took advantage of it. Fresh breads, cereals, fresh fruit (raspberries, blueberries, bananas) scrambled eggs cooked the way we like them and not all dried out, etc, etc. etc.

As for service, we had a waitress, busboy, and manager all checking with us to make sure we had everything we needed. It wasn't just us, it looked like everyone in the restaurant was getting the same service. We also found the valet parking staff to be friendly and accommodating as well. Aside from offering to help putting the luggage in the car they also offer to give directions to help us start our ride home.

The staff who worked our company party were also extremely accommodating and friendly. They were more than willing to help in any way possible.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-adjoining room. The sound insulation will be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Providence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Providence Hotel

Address: 1 West Exchange Street, Providence, RI 02903 (Formerly The Westin Providence)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Providence
#3 Luxury Hotel in Providence
#4 Family Hotel in Providence
#4 Business Hotel in Providence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Providence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 564
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Omni Providence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Providence Hotel Providence
Westin Providence
Providence Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Providence Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.