We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Providence Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Providence Hotel to your Saves list
Omni Providence Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 West Exchange Street, Providence, RI 02903 (Formerly The Westin Providence)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Providence
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was formerly a Westin so if you are familiar with those hotels you recognize a lot of the features of this hotel. Service is good and consistent both from front staff and from housekeeping. Rooms are clean and well appointed. Location is great as the hotel is connected to Providence Place mall and the convention center via enclosed bridges. The hotel is also a five minute walk from the train station that has connections to Boston and the airport. Definitely worth the stay if staying in Downtown Providence.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    306
    117
    47
    20
See reviews for
241
166
31
448
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The hotel was very nice and the location was great. Everything is right there food, shopping, and the conference center for business. The staff was helpful!! Wasn't told before hand about holding a $150 on a card for any problems and when trying with business they would not let us you the company card for that but we got it all work out. Angelique at the front desk was AWESOME!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
provmgr, Manager at Omni Providence Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Omni Providence. We are so happy that you had such a pleasurable experience during your stay with us. We hope that when you come back to Providence, you choose to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The hotel is beautiful, but the event staff will make you want to scream. The amount of stress they caused the bride because of the room block that kept not working for people was awful. And each time she would talk to the event staff about it, they were unapologetic and acted as though it was her fault. The room keys kept not working, and that created more stress on the wedding day. No one helped us carry all of the things from her wedding to the car, we had to do it ourselves. This hotel is full of people who will just point the finger and blame someone else.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
provmgr, Manager at Omni Providence Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Omni Providence Hotel and for sharing your experience of your stay on TripAdvisor. The wedding mentioned in the review reserved a large number of guest rooms at a special wedding block rate. Due to the popularity of the wedding more guests wanted to stay at the hotel the night of the event than originally projected, and once the wedding block was sold out some guests did have to book standard room rates. We are confident that neither the hotel nor the wedding party was at fault as mentioned in the review, it was simply a bigger quantity of local wedding guests than anticipated wanting to spend the night at the hotel as opposed to driving home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The hotel was great. It was attached to the convention center and Providence place mall. There was easy access to and from the highway and parking was convenient. The staff was very friendly and the rooms clean. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

An internet dead spot made staying in touch more challenging than it needed to be. Even though I contacted the desk to advise that there was not internet access (which was widely promoted by the Omni) three times, it was not fixed during my stay and no one ever got back to me about the issue. The hotel did offer to move us to a new room after two days, but to pack repack and move was more of a hassel. The Engineering support who was supposed to get back to me to let me know what the status was, never contacted me back. If they had and advised that it was a dead zone and couldn't be fixed earlier, we probably would have changed rooms, but not half way through the visit when our conference had started and we were attending sessions most of the day. Overall centrally located, concierge very good recommendations for dinner (try the lobster at Hemenways), door staff helped with directions and desk staff was pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
provmgr, Manager at Omni Providence Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at our hotel on TripAdvisor. Since purchasing the hotel earlier this year we have been working to address any areas of opportunity throughout the property. The current Wi-Fi system, which was installed almost 10 years ago, will be replaced in our multi-million dollar property renovation in the first half of 2014. We hope for a future opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Great hotel experience. Location is very good. Staff were all very friendly and accommodating. Very comfortable and quiet room. Lighting at/around the desk in the room could have been better. This was my ONLY concern. Everything else was awesome.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
provmgr, Manager at Omni Providence Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Omni Providence. We are so happy that you had such a pleasurable experience during your stay with us. We hope that when you come back to Providence, you choose to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Expensive, but offers high quality of comfort and space. The place is so big you could get lost if you're not paying attention. If you want a burger and fries at a burger and fires price, don't eat in the offered restaurants; but if you like 3 prawns on ice for $16.00 then this is the place. The drinks were reasonable for a hotel. Overall an enjoyable place to stay and be right in the middle of everything in Providence RI.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Providence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Providence Hotel

Address: 1 West Exchange Street, Providence, RI 02903 (Formerly The Westin Providence)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Providence
#3 Luxury Hotel in Providence
#4 Business Hotel in Providence
#4 Family Hotel in Providence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Providence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 564
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Omni Providence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Providence Hotel Providence
Westin Providence
Providence Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Providence Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.