We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Providence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Providence Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Providence Hotel to your Saves list
Omni Providence Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 West Exchange Street, Providence, RI 02903 (Formerly The Westin Providence)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Providence
Narragansett, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Providence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Omni Hotel used to be The Westin. It is connected via skybridge to Providence Place Mall and The Convention Center. The hotel is beautiful. The rooms are comfortable and the service is excellent. A bit confusing is the parking. We ended up paying quite a bit for our parking as we were in and out for our travels. Guests should get free parking. But the hotel was fantastic!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    306
    117
    47
    20
See reviews for
241
167
31
448
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This was our second stay at this hotel and the location can't be beat. It is connected to the Providence Place Mall, so it is an ideal spot for families -- a lot of options for shopping, activities and meals a short walk away. You can park in the hotel garage on arrival and not drive again until departure. I would have given this a better ranking if we hadn't experienced issues with check-in and billing: after waiting 25 minutes in line for check in, they gave us 1 king bed instead of the 2 queens we requested in advance (family of 4); then we waited another 30 minutes for the 2 queen room to become availabe. The other negative, which we are still waiting to be resolved -- after paying at check-out, I was subsequenty charged an additional night after returning home! Thankfully I checked my account balance and noticed the additional charge. The hotel promised to credit my account (after several phone calls). That said, they just transitioned from Westin to Omni the weekend we were there so perhap that added to the confusion on their end. Pool is small but nice; great for kids although LOUD as it is in an atrium with glass dome and the sound is amplified. Room service was pricey but excellent and quick. We would give it another try next time (assuming we receive credit for the overcharge!)

Room Tip: Higher floors hve great views of the city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here two weeks ago, right at the time they were switching the name from The Westin to the Omni. I paid extra to have a bigger corner room since we were traveling with a toddler. Upon checking in, I noticed a very strong smoke smell in the bathroom, as if a smoker tried to break the rules and open the bathroom window for a drag. I am super sensitive to the smell of smoke and my husband has asthma, therefore we immediately went to try to switch rooms. I was told there was nothing available (even though the hotel was not sold out) because of the name change and all that was involved. Instead they tried to mask the odor with some scented spray. I would have expected more from an upscale hotel like The Westin. Aside from the horrid bathroom smell, the hotel was nice. The location was great with the mall connected. Perhaps now that it's an Omni Hotel, the customer service might be better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed at this hotel and again it's rated highly. The staff are really very very helpful. It is all inclusive, in that, everything is within easy reach i.e. the large shopping mall, conference centres etc.

I did not say before, but the food at the restaurant of the hotel itself is superb. You can actually take a bus e.g. Greyhound and walk with your suitcases to the hotel because of its ideal location to everything, and you can get buses to the airport within walking distance as well.

Room Tip: In my honest opinion, I know several persons who been guests at this hotel and all have been very sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My boyfriend & I live one hour from this hotel, so we stay there occasionally just for a quick getaway. The rooms are very spacious and clean and we flip for how comfortable the beds are. Seriously, you just melt into them. They have a catalogue where you can order one, and we are considering it for our home! The location is perfect, right in the heart of the city with a covered bridge directly into the mall. the mall is really the only thing I know that's in the city. Last time we were upgraded to a king, corner room for no charge and it was pretty sweet view. The pool is indoors, it's pretty outdated and needs some work which doesn't match the rest of the new feeling hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyannis, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed 2 nights location was great it was New Year's Day and we could only find one place to get breakfast and it was buffet style which I must say we took a look and there wasn't a great variety we ended up walking to panara for coffee and waited to have lunch room was ok could have been cleaner shower was in real need of cleaning or redoing the grout but it surprised us when we looked again to see it has changed hands and is Omni we will give it another try great location

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The hotel staff was great, rooms were clean and a lil roomy. The mall was connected via bridge walk, so it made it easy to get to shops without going out in the cold weather. It was conveniently located to a few spots in the city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Providence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Providence Hotel

Address: 1 West Exchange Street, Providence, RI 02903 (Formerly The Westin Providence)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Providence
#3 Luxury Hotel in Providence
#4 Family Hotel in Providence
#4 Business Hotel in Providence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Providence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 564
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Omni Providence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Providence Hotel Providence
Westin Providence
Providence Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Providence Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.