We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Class act!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Providence Biltmore

Save Saved
You added The Providence Biltmore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Providence Biltmore
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Dorrance Street, Kennedy Plaza, Providence, RI 02903 (Downtown Providence)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 hotels in Providence
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Class act!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Just spent one night at the Providence Biltmore Hotel and it was just wonderful! We got our room on Expedia and it was discounted, a suite with two king beds, beautiful bathroom, a sitting room with t.v. and computer desk for under 150 dollars, couldn't beat it!!! The beds were huge and plush with wonderful bedding, a heavenly nights sleep. From the moment we checked in the service was impeccable. From the valets to the front desk, every one was warm and friendly, offering advice on where to eat and sights to see. Just a mile or so from historic Federal Hill, close to Providence Preforming Art Center and Brown University. If you have the opportunity to spend a night or a week if your lucky, this is a wonderful hotel. They also have a restaurant and Starbucks attached to the hotel, very convenient. The only issue I had was the room service doesn't start until 640 am, we were up at 545 and would have loved a pot of coffee at that time. Thank God the starbucks was open, but I had to get dressed to go to the lobby and get it......

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    5
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
9
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Bad element. Not for people visiting Brown University. Poorly trained staff. Very noisy and inconsiderate hotel keeper. Not sure why Summit does not understand how to run a hotel with this kind of historic presence but it doesn't.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Hotel is beautiful and posh. King bed is super comfortable. Views from the higher floors are amazing. Close to Brown campus. Good wifi. Friendly and helpful staff. Love the original architectural aspects - mail chutes, glass elevator etc.. Be sure to read about the history of the hotel.... haunted??

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Just got back from my nephew's wedding at the Biltmore. Nice big roomy Junior Suite for my family of four. Would have been nice if there was a pool for the kids. Love to walk and found walking towards the Brown University campus an invigorating challenge with its steep hills. Great rehearsal dinner at McCormick and Schmicks. Hotel and restaurant staff was friendly, wedding reception was beautiful. Overall a very nice stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Booked a room in January for an April wedding, so lots of rooms available, right?. Hotel staff suggested I upgrade to the end of the hall far from the elevators. Well, my room was opposite the elevators. The HVAC system was not functioning correctly so the room was unbearably hot. A note on hotel amenities suggested that fans were available. Why? To blow around hot air??
The room had no full length mirror, so good luck if you need to check yourself out head to toe if you are going to an important event.
I expected better from a hotel of this genre...won't be back

Room Tip: Call the day before you arrive to verify that previous promises will be kept
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This review is a pre-wedding review and I will be back again post-wedding. I think this is important because there are two sides of a vendor- getting ready and then the day of the event. From my experience, I am sure that the Providence Biltmore Hotel will be amazing the day of my wedding, but their performance so far deserves an outstanding review. Not too mention, the hotel itself is gorgeous! So romantic and classy!

Finding a reception venue...especially when you live 10 hours away, is very hard. But right from the beginning, Scott Connery and the Providence Biltmore Hotel have been amazing. Since I am from out of town, I am only communicating via email. The communication has always prompt and easy to understand. He never seemed bothered by my questions and the best part is that his answers were ALWAYS yes! He is now putting together a nicely priced vegan wedding for what started as 80-100 people and has increased to 140. He has said yes when I asked for help with DIY projects (which my sister convinced me not to do in the end) and yes when I wanted a back up plan for rain (even though my ceremony is at another outdoor location.) And these are just a few examples. Of course, I'm sure there are limitations but I have not come across them yet. The Biltmore has offered me everything and more!

Then I went to meet him and the crew last week. They are ALL so nice! I met some people from the wait staff, set up crew, the event manager for that day and of course, Scott. Everyone was so positive and professional. I had my first tasting and it was AMAZING! The vegan meals were even better than I could have imagined. Everyone is going to LOVE the food! I'm sure it helps that the Head Chef is vegan but the presentation was colorful and so beautiful.

I need to mention also working with Joy Lubrano- the Sales Manager. She too has been so great to work with. We are having people come in from out of the country and out of the state. We have been adding people, changing rooms, requesting that they be near each other, but away from the elevator or on a certain floor. We do try to be considerate of her time as well, but none of it is ever a problem. She keeps us updated on the roster of people under our block and made sure we were informed of deadlines, etc. This last week she sent us an email with more questions re: our needs for the weekend and she thought of things I certainly did not!

I feel so comfortable and confident and during the fabulous chaos of a wedding- and really, I believe that is the best a venue can offer a bride!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beacon Falls, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My mom and I visited the Providence Biltmore last weekend for a girls getaway and while we only stayed one night, we thoroughly enjoyed the grander of the hotel, as well as the amazing spa and drinks at McCormick & Schmicks. Our most memorable experience was the extremely helpful and personable nature of the staff - especially the front desk manager Jessica Grant - who made us feel like 'friends' and went out of her way to suggest dining options and help me when i lost my cell phone. Can't say enough about the service. The only suggestion I have for an even better stay would be to stay when no weddings/events are going on. The lobby is full of party goers and some are rowdy - and you can hear the wedding music through the walls no matter where you are. But overall, highly recommend and will be back!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Providence Biltmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Providence Biltmore

Also Known As:
The Providence Biltmore Hotel
The Providence Biltmore Hotel Providence
The Hotel Providence
Biltmore Hotel Providence Ri
Address: 11 Dorrance Street, Kennedy Plaza, Providence, RI 02903
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Providence > Downtown Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Providence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Providence Biltmore 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of downtown, steps from the City's most exclusive shopping and dining areas and conveniently located near the Convention Center, and Providence Place Mall.The Providence Biltmore offers personal attention and comfort appealing to both leisure and business travelers. A welcoming alternative to more commercial branded hotels, the Biltmore provides an atmosphere to that of a grand European hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Providence Biltmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Providence Biltmore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.