We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All about the staff!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Providence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Providence to your Saves list
Hilton Providence
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Atwells Avenue, Providence, RI 02903 (Downtown Providence)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Points!
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Providence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brecksville, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“All about the staff!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The Providence Hilton was my home away from home for 9 months during 2013. I can't say enough about the staff at this hotel. Front desk staff greeted me by name each morning and evening. Josh and Joe are the best. My favorite room was prepared and waiting for me each week.

Restaurant staff was friendly, efficient and prompt with that first morning cup of coffee. The breakfast buffet is excellent. I especially liked the oatmeal and fresh berries. The hotel is located close to shopping, cultural and historical attractions. Many wonderful restaurants are nearby but the food in the hotel was also very good.

The rooms are clean although slightly dated. Comfy bed.

The fitness center was a little disappointing for a busy, downtown hotel. It is equipped with the usual cardio (treadmills, ellipticals, bicycle), a single bench, free weights, exercise ball and Precor cable column. However, the cable column was missing most of the important attachments.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglas_koenig, General Manager at Hilton Providence, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
We appreciate your review and I'm glad we were able to make the Hilton your home away from home for so long. Thank you for recognizing Josh and Joe and I'll be sure to pass on your compliments to them and the rest of the staff. Just remember you always have a place to come back to in Providence.

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    186
    105
    43
    11
See reviews for
114
146
45
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Apopka, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Great place to stay! Very close to Federal Hill restaurants. There is a shopping mall within walking distance. Many places to relax after hours and have a late night snack and a drink if you're so inclined.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglas_koenig, General Manager at Hilton Providence, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thanks for posting! Federal Hill and Providence Place are just steps away and offer so many different dining, shopping and nightlife options. Happy to see you were able to check them out and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight after a trip to Cape Cod. Some large convention in town kept us from staying near the airport. (We had a early morning flight). The room (609) was next to an ice machine that cycled every hour. The room was spacious but smelled of cigarette smoke. There is an airport shuttle mentioned in the in-room literature but it doesn't t exist. The best thing about this hotel is it's close proximity to the Federal Hill district with it's many great Italian restaurants. Not a great value.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglas_koenig, General Manager at Hilton Providence, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for your review and please accept our apologies that our shuttle was out of service during your stay. I was glad to see you made it up to Federal Hill! It's such a short walk away and so many great places to dine.

If you're travels bring you back to Providence we hope you'll give us another chance.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The rooms were small and the hotel felt old. Front desk staff was friendly. There bar/restaurant is overpriced for what they serve. A coworker ordered a medium rare steak, and it came well done. I asked for no bacon on a salad, which was never taken off. Our dinner took far too long as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglas_koenig, General Manager at Hilton Providence, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
I was sorry to see that you had a poor experience in our restaurant. We take comments like these very seriously and will be sure to address them with the kitchen. Hopefully our friendly service made up for our shortcomings during your stay and you'll give us another chance the next time you're in Providence.

Thank you for taking the time to share!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Friendly staff, clean. Valet parking was $28which seemed steep. Self park was $25. Overall good quality, but nother particularly memorable good or bad. Overall satisfied with service, but nothing to write home about. You could hear the elevators move up and down (we were about 4 rooms down and across the hall. Didn't disturb me, but did my partner.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglas_koenig, General Manager at Hilton Providence, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thanks so much for posting and I'm happy to see that you had an overall pleasant experience. We're so sorry about the elevator noise but hopefully you'll stay with us again in the future and we will do our best to give you a room further from the elevators.

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Stayed for one night (Saturday). The front desk and parking staff were all extremely nice and helpful. The room was small but was clean, nicely decorated and the bed was very comfortable. The rates were extremely reasonable. I would stay again. The only issue I had was that housekeeping started early on Sunday morning and they were extremely noisy. Doors slamming, talking in hallway. After being out late Saturday night being up by 8AM was not in my plans. The noise in the morning made what would have been a 4 or5 for sleep quality change to a 2.

Room Tip: Enjoyed being on higher floor - heard no street noise even though hotel is next to highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglas_koenig, General Manager at Hilton Providence, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
We're happy to see that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. I'll be sure to pass on your comments to our housekeeping department manager as a reminder about noise in the hallways.

Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smethport, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

First off Providence is beautiful and the location of the Hilton is perfect for those who want to experience the city. From our 1st night when we asked about dinner recommendations we were treated to excellent service and spot on advice as to where we should go to get the true RI experience. The rooms were clean and the beds were very comfy... especially after being on the road so long! If you like wine and beer the restaurant has a great selection and a nice view to boot. I'd come back just because the staff was so wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglas_koenig, General Manager at Hilton Providence, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Wow! We appreciate your review and I'm happy to see you were able to enjoy Providence and take advantage of all the city has to offer! Our location definitely makes it easy to get around and you don't have to go too far to take it all in. Thank you for recognizing our customer service and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Providence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Providence

Address: 21 Atwells Avenue, Providence, RI 02903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Providence > Downtown Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Providence
#2 Family Hotel in Providence
#6 Business Hotel in Providence
#7 Romantic Hotel in Providence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Providence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hilton hotel is located in downtown Providence, Rhode Island. Enjoy the close proximity to Historic Federal Hill, Rhode Island Convention Center, and Providence Place Mall. Our Rosemoor Ballroom is the perfect setting for your upcoming wedding or event. Enjoy and explore Providence with ease during your stay at our hotel in Providence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Providence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Providence Hotel Providence
Hilton Hotel Providence
Providence Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Providence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.