We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Providence

Save Saved
You added Hilton Providence to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Providence
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Atwells Avenue, Providence, RI 02903 (Downtown Providence)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 hotels in Providence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Very good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This was my first time traveling to Providence, Rhode Island. I stayed at the Hilton Providence during the October 13-15th weekend. They staff at the hotel made my visit very relaxing and pleasurable. I would like to thank Manny, George, Tim, and Elizabeth for their personal attention and exceptional service. The Hilton is conveniently located to Federal Hill, great restaurants, and great shopping. I plan to visit Rhode Island again because of the wonderful time I had that weekend.

Room Tip: My room was very quiet and peaceful. Ask for a higher floor and a room closer to the end of the hall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglas_koenig, General Manager at Hilton Providence, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for your comments, and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your first trip to Rhode Island. We look forward to being your hotel of choice when you come back!

Our location is the best DT Providence has to offer. From the Hilton you can walk to Federal Hill, the RI Convention Center, Providence Place Mall, many of the colleges, theatre, Dunkin Donuts Center, and Waterfire events,

Manny, George, Tim, and Elizabeth appreciate the recognition. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    151
    90
    38
    10
See reviews for
92
123
38
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middleton, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed at this Hotel for one night. We attended a concert at the Dunkin Donuts Center. This hotel is a perfect location for a concert or shopping at the near by mall all within walking distance.

Staff was friendly, beds were comfortable and the room was clean.

I would recommend this Hotel for anyone who might be visiting Providence.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglas_koenig, Front Office Manager at Hilton Providence, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for posting your experience. We are glad to hear you made it to Providence to see one of the many great performances at the Dunkin Donuts Center.

We are one of if not the most popular hotels to choose due to our location and service. We hope you come back soon, and look forward to hosting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I was very disappointed, felt like we were sleeping in a closet. For 250.00 per night we expected much more, their was not even enough room to put your luggage on the floor and walk around it. It was close to downtown and nice restaurants but that's the best we could say about it, we would rate it poor.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglas_koenig, General Manager at Hilton Providence, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
We are sorry to hear that the hotel fell short of your expecations. We strive for excellence, and are disappointed when we do not achieve it.

Your reservation was reserved through a 3rd party, and was confirmed for a Queen Size bed room. Approximately 10% of our rooms have one Queen bed, and are slighlty smaller than a King room or one with two full size beds. Due to the hotel running at full capacity we were unable to reserve you a king bedded room as we had already committed these rooms to other arriving guests. Although the room is slightly smaller, the location of our Queen rooms are one of the best the hotel has to offer.

Please accept our apologies, and we hope you will allow us the opportunity to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stopped here for an overnight after coming in late on Amtrak. - It's not far from the train station, staff was nice, room clean - a personalized note was in the room with some water and chocolate covered raisins which was a nice touch. Lavazza coffee in the room is perfect in the morning. Parking is run by a separate company ($25 per day )

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglas_koenig, General Manager at Hilton Providence, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for your posting. We are glad to hearr that you enjoyed your stay and the location. We are situated close to the Amtrak station, bus terminals, TF Green Airport, and located right next door to the Dunkin Donuts Center.

We look forward to hosting you again soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Haven, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I was in town for a P. C. Alumni event, some things on campus, some downtown. Great for getting your car in & out or just walking to places downtown. The staff was always very polite & helpful..... I will go back. BUT, booked thru Hotels.com - not good - Had to pay in advance, non-refundable, did not get Hilton Honors points & could not check bill at the hotel itself. I will go back & call into the Hilton Downtown Providence directly next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglas_koenig, General Manager at Hilton Providence, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience. You have many choices when it comes to a hotel in DT Providence, and we appreciate that you selected the Hilton.

Reserving a room through the hotel or online at hilton.com will always provide you with the best published rate, and will allow you to earn your HHonors Points & Miles. We are pleased that you enjoyed the service and location.

We look forward to hosting you again soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I was here as a primary organizer of a conference. During the planning stage, I was really dispointed by the lack of detail, the disorganized manner (often misplaced things and forgot communications) of the Sales Manager, Jennifer. (This is the only reason I rated it a 4 instead of 5)
However, when I arrived at the hotel, I was immediately greeted by Lorraine, Director of Banquets, who was magnificent! Every detail, every wish was cheerfully carried out by her and/or her staff (Anthony, Tiago, and others). Evan (room coordinator?) made sure all the rooms were assigned in a convenient manner. Nick, at the front desk, was pleasant, efficient and competent. Everyone: (housekeeping, food service) was more than helpful and always had a positive cheery attitude! I was pleasantly surprised, considering my initial experience. I would recommend this hotel for anyone else planning an event because of Lorraine Longano,Director of Banquets, and the banquet staff. (Just keep an eye on details and correspondance when planning with "Sales.")
Rooms are comfortable with big fluffy beds and lots of pillows. It's a convenient location and easy to get to.

Room Tip: King beds are very big and comfortable. Ask for a King room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglas_koenig, General Manager at Hilton Providence, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for your kind words about Lorraine, Evan, and our banquet staff. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your conference.

I will follow up with the sales team regarding your comments. Your concern with the communication is definitely the exception rather than the rule at the Hilton Providence. Please accept our apologies.

Please contact us directly if we can assist you with your future traveal plans. We would enjoy hosting your conference again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is very overpriced. The rooms are small and service isn't great. It is close to federal hill which is a defineate plus. If you are an Hilton Honor's member try the Hampton. It is not only nicer but less expensive as well.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglas_koenig, General Manager at Hilton Providence, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with the size and value of your guest room. Your feedback is incredibly important to us and we are taking your comments into consideration as we continually work to improve our on-property experience. We are glad to hear our location was convenient and your comments on our service will help us to better deliver our brand promise of exceptional service moving forward. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you, if your travels bring you back to our area.

Thank You,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Providence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Providence

Address: 21 Atwells Avenue, Providence, RI 02903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Providence > Downtown Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Providence
#8 Business Hotel in Providence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Providence 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hilton hotel is located in downtown Providence, Rhode Island. Enjoy the close proximity to Historic Federal Hill, Rhode Island Convention Center, and Providence Place Mall. Our Rosemoor Ballroom is the perfect setting for your upcoming wedding or event. Enjoy and explore Providence with ease during your stay at our hotel in Providence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hilton Providence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Providence Hotel Providence
Hilton Hotel Providence
Providence Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Providence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.